Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Naughty Things I Do for Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Naughty Things I Do for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2013

      This soup was delicious, although I did make a few modifications. This recipe is a great base, but lends itself to adding things to suit your taste. I added 1 tsp of ground cumin and 2 tsp of chile powder. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeno for some added heat. I added black beans, corn, zucchini and carrots because I wanted lots of veggies in it. I also used chicken from a precooked rotisserie chicken and I used homemade chicken stock. We added cheese, avocado, cilantro, and tortilla chips and topped it off with a few dashes of Tobasco and a dollop of sour cream. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Well bend me over and SpanK Me! I've been naughty and I'll do it again just so I can have some more soup. Reminds me of the Chicken Soup served at a local Mexican Restraunt famous for their soup. I cut boneless skinless chicken breasts into 1 inch cubes and added it raw into the soup in step 3 and let it cook with the broth to save myself a step. Made for ZWT 5 by an Epicurean Queen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      I just watched this recipe on TV and chef Lucas' recipe does not in any way resemble this recipe. He starts by melting Lard, then sauteeing dried guajillo chili peppers, onions, tomato paste, cumin and garlic, and then dry chicken base/bouillon.After the onions have softened, He adds the contents of the skillet to a pot and adds water. He allows this to simmer to develop the flavors. Then he adds a little lemon and hot sauce. He removes the chiles and adds chopped cilantro. Per serving he adds tortilla strips, avocado and cheese. He specifically states that there is NO CHICKEN in his recipe. So, there you have it. The author says he got the recipe from El Fenix; so i guess he got ripped off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I have had this recipe in my "to try file" for years. I wish I had made it years ago. It's fantastic, super easy to make and packed full of flavor. I made it for a fundraiser lunch that I do every Wednesday and the crowd loved it. I used chicken thighs, crushed tomatoes, and diced green chilies with the hot sauce too. I also kept the onion and garlic in diced form because I don't have a lot of things here to use for cooking with (I bring most of my own stuff). Anyway, it was delicious and I think I've found a new favorite soup to make. Thanks Pot Scrubber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      We started our search for a delicious chicken tortilla soup recipe with this one, and may not have to look any further. This was a delicious recipe with a wonderful blend of flavor and a nice bold taste. The chicken was very tender, and the broth? Ohhhh the broth was amazing. The bites with the creaminess of the avocado were just amazing. I think we will be making this recipe many times in the future. Thank you for sharing this super-fantastic recipe, I hope that it was not too painful to get.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      It's really a great recipe, TRY IT! I have to pay $7.00 for a bowl of this at the local Mexican restaurant, and this is just as good. Maybe better. I love it, thanks. I fixed it exactly as posted. Why mess with perfection?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Delightful! A man's gotta do what a man's gotta do. ;^P Thanks Potsie! I served as directed with one minor but yummy change using both regular & Rotel tomatoes. Love ladling the soup over the cheese & avocado. Don't forget the lime or cilantro! Crazy good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. I have been trying to get this right for years. Who would have thought Tabasco was the mising ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

    • on November 02, 2009

      Very good! I cooked the chicken in with the soup to save a step. I just realized though that I forgot the Tabasco sauce. I'll remember next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Very Good and simple. I added some chipolte chili powder, cumin and a can of drained & rinsed black beans. A dollop of sour cream on top makes it very tasty. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Lovely meal that was easy to prepare. I put all the ingredients into my crockpot & cooked for 5 hours. DH served his dinner exactly as per the recipe & enjoyed it. He didn't add diced avocado, as I wasn't here to do it for him, but said he would have liked some added. Made for ZWT5 Zingo by a Hell's Kitchen Angel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Oh my - I can now relate to the title of the recipe. This soup is the best! We had kids eating along and as such added Tabasco at the table. We omitted the avocado; otherwise made exactly as listed with the condiments on the table. Made for Family Picks - ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Terrific! This is good stuff! I used a good amount of tabasco and added some white hominy, like our local Mexican place does. I threw the green onions in at the bottom and just left the chips and lime for the top. Would make again! One avocado was enough for the three of us. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was great. I added a can of red kidney beans for extra texture. So easy and quick to make, and the fixin's added at the end made it really fresh and special. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Very good Potsie!!! I squeezed the juice of a whole lime right in the soup. And served it with shredded jack on top instead of in the bottom. Good stuff! Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This soup is just so amazing! I made it just as stated, but for one thing, I had to use cheddar cheese as that's all we had on hand. I've never had chicken tortilla soup, but man oh man, I will again! My husband and I fell in love with it. The lime juice squirted over the top of the soup gave the flavour a little more depth, don't skip it!! Once stirred, it was almost stew-like in texture and very filling. Now I can only imagine the naughty things I would do for this soup too!! Loved it! Made for ZWT 5:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      I'm so happy to have this recipe. El Fenix Tortilla Soup is worth the drive from Fort Worth. Potsie, you have saved me so much gas money! I have many Tortilla Soup recipes, but this one is perfect just as it is, and I'll save this one and throw the rest out. Made for ZWT5, Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This is not El Fenix's tortilla soup, at least not as of the 21st century...El Fenix's tortilla soup contains no chicken, and is garnished with lemon rather than lime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Fabulous, quick tortilla soup!! We loved this. I added 1/2 tsp of cumin, but then had to add more salt and pepper to compensate. I think next time I will make as written and compare. I loved it w/ the cumin and it tasted great before the cumin. So, who knows which way will be better?! This recipe though, is a definite keeper for me. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Naughty Things I Do for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.7
     
    Calories from Fat 364
    63%
    Total Fat 40.4 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 96.6 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1437.2 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes