14 Reviews

I cannot believe I forgot to get a photo of this, it was so awesome with great flavors. I'd never heard of anything like it before but decided to add it to our 4th of July party and it was a hit with everyone. I followed another reviewers suggestions on putting together in a pyrex bowl - then layering and it not only tasted great but looked so impressive. I think I might even use a tomatillo and maybe a jalapeno to the mix next time.

As an update, I had the company over again and decided to repeat this awesome recipe just so I could get a picture. It was again a hit with everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 06, 2011

Five stars plus ! This is great stuff... I subbed 1.5 lb low fat Cheese Blend (Sargento's brand) for the two seperate cheeses. I also used a fat free Sour Cream. Otherwise I followed exactly. Presentation notes- I placed a large pyrex bowl over this as it chilled in the fridge. I also may try this 1/2 at a time and make two smaller mountains. I may have to double the recipe and make four smaller mountains! It disappeared at our Super Bowl party and DH was asking for more. Thanks for the keeper. This is going in my Zaar Super Stars cook book. Thank you for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RZ Fan February 04, 2008

I prepared this for a Memorial Day gathering and was really not impressed. It was watery and I found that it didn't have much flavor and it was difficult to serve. Me and my guests much prefer a good ole Seven Layer Dip to this. Sorry...the other reviews were such raves, it just didn't meet my expectations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelebrischetto_9755882 May 27, 2013

This is huge, no wonder its called a mountain. Everyone loved it with all the different layers and its great flavor. Made as written and served with tortilla chips. Thank You. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 August 12, 2012

This was so good! I did scale it down to make a hill, okay, maybe it was a bump. I made it just for me. Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 05, 2011

Great presentation and very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 29, 2010

I made this a bit different, just layering it into a glass bowl. I also put it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt the cheese before adding the sour cream mixture. Buddha really enjoyed this afternoon snack, thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu June 24, 2009

Excellent . Used the scoop chips with these, and it was gone in no time. Got to try again. The presentation was just awesome. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 12, 2009

Too cool! This looks awesome on a platter. I served it up with a mix of tortilla Scoops and frito Scoops. My Girl Scout troop really dug into this mountain like they were climbing Everest. I followed Appley's idea with the Pyrex bowl and plastic wrap. It works out so wonderfully. I used some pre-made guacamole in place of the avacados, just because it is so hard to find good ones this time of year. Very good and will make often. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 10, 2009

This was great; I'm already planning to make it for another party this week. I changed the method a bit. I halved the ingredients. I lined a 1.5L pyrex bowl with plastic wrap, and then spread the sour cream mixture in it. (You have to keep the wrap pressed against the bowl as you are doing this, as it will want to pull away from the bowl). Then I spread the avocado...then layered the other ingredients, pressing it all in once the tomatoes were in. I refrigerated for 2 hours, then unmolded onto a plate and peeled the wrap off. Perfectly shaped mountain! One other thing I'd recommend is mixing the ranch mix with the sour cream & refrigerating an hour or so before you want to use it. My mountain had some unsightly colored spots where the dressing dissolved after I had already spread it. We fixed this by pressing about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar onto the mountain (luckily this was right on hand as my daughter in her zeal had grated too much cheese). Thanks for sharing this creative idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply December 16, 2008
The Mountain