Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Mountain Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Mountain

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2011

      I cannot believe I forgot to get a photo of this, it was so awesome with great flavors. I'd never heard of anything like it before but decided to add it to our 4th of July party and it was a hit with everyone. I followed another reviewers suggestions on putting together in a pyrex bowl - then layering and it not only tasted great but looked so impressive. I think I might even use a tomatillo and maybe a jalapeno to the mix next time.

      As an update, I had the company over again and decided to repeat this awesome recipe just so I could get a picture. It was again a hit with everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Five stars plus ! This is great stuff... I subbed 1.5 lb low fat Cheese Blend (Sargento's brand) for the two seperate cheeses. I also used a fat free Sour Cream. Otherwise I followed exactly. Presentation notes- I placed a large pyrex bowl over this as it chilled in the fridge. I also may try this 1/2 at a time and make two smaller mountains. I may have to double the recipe and make four smaller mountains! It disappeared at our Super Bowl party and DH was asking for more. Thanks for the keeper. This is going in my Zaar Super Stars cook book. Thank you for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I prepared this for a Memorial Day gathering and was really not impressed. It was watery and I found that it didn't have much flavor and it was difficult to serve. Me and my guests much prefer a good ole Seven Layer Dip to this. Sorry...the other reviews were such raves, it just didn't meet my expectations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      This is huge, no wonder its called a mountain. Everyone loved it with all the different layers and its great flavor. Made as written and served with tortilla chips. Thank You. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      This was so good! I did scale it down to make a hill, okay, maybe it was a bump. I made it just for me. Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Great presentation and very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I made this a bit different, just layering it into a glass bowl. I also put it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt the cheese before adding the sour cream mixture. Buddha really enjoyed this afternoon snack, thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Excellent . Used the scoop chips with these, and it was gone in no time. Got to try again. The presentation was just awesome. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Too cool! This looks awesome on a platter. I served it up with a mix of tortilla Scoops and frito Scoops. My Girl Scout troop really dug into this mountain like they were climbing Everest. I followed Appley's idea with the Pyrex bowl and plastic wrap. It works out so wonderfully. I used some pre-made guacamole in place of the avacados, just because it is so hard to find good ones this time of year. Very good and will make often. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This was great; I'm already planning to make it for another party this week. I changed the method a bit. I halved the ingredients. I lined a 1.5L pyrex bowl with plastic wrap, and then spread the sour cream mixture in it. (You have to keep the wrap pressed against the bowl as you are doing this, as it will want to pull away from the bowl). Then I spread the avocado...then layered the other ingredients, pressing it all in once the tomatoes were in. I refrigerated for 2 hours, then unmolded onto a plate and peeled the wrap off. Perfectly shaped mountain! One other thing I'd recommend is mixing the ranch mix with the sour cream & refrigerating an hour or so before you want to use it. My mountain had some unsightly colored spots where the dressing dissolved after I had already spread it. We fixed this by pressing about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar onto the mountain (luckily this was right on hand as my daughter in her zeal had grated too much cheese). Thanks for sharing this creative idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This was made primarily for a monthly group I host, so I made it as written, & although it was a big hit, I'm determined to make it again, but leaving out the layer of avocado, since I'm probably their least enthusiastic fan! The recipe is a keeper however it's made! [Tagged, made & reviewed in All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      We really enjoyed this over the weekend! It is sooo good! Took it to a family get-together over the weekend and it was all gone in no time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Fun and very good! I know it will disappear quickly tonight at Bunco. You could make a meal of this easily, either as is, or add chicken or seasoned ground beef as one of the layers. Gladly made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Mountain

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.6
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    77%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 57.5 mg
    19%
    Sodium 256.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites