Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    299 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 299

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      Absolutley a winner. What a wonderfull recipe. Thank you for delish cookies. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I absolutely love this recipe. The texture of the gingerbread cookie dough was perfect and the only thing I changed was I added a teaspoon of lemon extract vs. putting in the lemon zest. They tasted great and people couldn't believe that they were homemade. I decorated my little mini 1" gingerbread men with Royal icing, dragees and holiday sprinkles. I have to admit that I love the decorating stage and it's where I let out all of my creative energy. I'm happy to say that I have definitely found my staple gingerbread cookie recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      BEST gingerbread cookies ever! ....nuff said :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I made this recipe today and went strictly by the recipe. This is a wonderful basic gingerbread cookie recipe! The cookies taste very nice and baked easily, just watch the time, about 8 minutes for me. After baking this recipe today, I do have a few suggestions that I think would improve it just a little.

      I used the food processor for the entire process---which was so easy! Because the dough runs a bit dry, a few teaspoons of cold water would help. Next time I will use 1/3 more of each spice to give the taste a little more punch. Finally, she was right, make sure you roll the dough out very thin cause they do puff up a bit. I used a toothpick to make a hole in each shape so they could be used as ornaments

      Thanks for such a great recipe! I will be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Wonderful. Made with butter as directed, only change was to up the spices a bit (I did all of them at 1.5X recommended amounts). My husband loves really sharp gingerbread and these were given a big thumbs up (with the extra spice). Lovely dough, a bit sticky but easily workable with floury hands. Did not have time to roll and cut out, so I made them into logs about 1.5 inches in diameter, chilled til very cold, then sliced and baked. Worked beautifully, and no tougher cookies at the end because of too much flour worked in from cutting out. :] Will be finished with a thin white glossy frosting, and maybe some colored sugar sprinkles. Will be in the forever file. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      These cookies are incredible! Loved them and they are super easy to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      I have no idea what Molasses is (is that even available in Germany?) and so I used syrup. And I think the next time I'll use less flour, because in my opinion the dough was a little bit dry. Because I was too lazy to use cookie cutters, I just cut the dough in rhombs with a knife - that worked just fine for me. 7 minutes at 175°C in a fan-oven - and I had the most wonderful gingerbread cookies :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Very good! My first time making gingerbread cookies and I had no trouble with sticking. I like a softer cookie so I cooked them for the least amount of time. I need to watch my oven though, it doesn't hold a steady temp so I ended up with a few crispy men. This is the only gingerbread recipe I will be using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Super recipe, so easy to make and delicious. Needed a quick gift for secret santa at work, and these did the trick perfectly. Will make time and time again. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Unfortunately, this recipe did not work for me. By the time I mixed all together it was so dry, then when I rolled it out, it had too much gluten, . Also, flavour was okay. I have no idea what I did wrong, but I tried twice to see if I was doing anything wrong.
      Both time, failed. I used metric system and wondering if there's something wrong with metric caliculations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      These cookies were great! The recipe withstood the help if my 2 & 4 year old. We didn't wait the full 2 hours, we kept them thick & baked them 6 minutes. They were perfect. They wereild enough the kids gobbled them up but tasty enough I enjoyed them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Excellent!! I made a single then a double batch for my kids cookie party. The kids had a blast. The dough rolled nicely and baked up great. ITs pretty forgiving for a bunch of 5 and 7 year olds who don't roll consistant. We decorated with royal icing and candies. The kids had a blast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      These were good and tasted really nice. I think an all around good recipe. I did however find the dough a little sticky and didn't like how some of the cookies cracked during baking. I was also a little disappointed by rolling out the dough to a scant 1/4". I thought they were to thin and delicate and much prefer a thicker, softer cookie. I'm glad I made these and people loved them, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      this was the easiest gingerbread dough I've ever worked with--and tastes great, too! I actually took one batch to an orphanage here in Mongolia to help the kids with Christmas cookie baking; and it was dream to work with

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      OMG...These cookies are absolutely wonderful!! Had to make gingerbread cookies for daughters class for Xmas and these were PERFECT!!...I baked for 4-5 minutes and they were chewy and easy to decorate!!...Makes a good amount of cookies. Also made these for our Xmas Eve party, BIG HIT!!!...Santa loved them as well...Thanks for an easy & delicious recipe!! A KEEPER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I made three batches for Christmas season and they disappeared so fast!! I didn't use molasses (there is none to be found in Chile) so I had to sub it with 1/2 a cup of honey and they came out really really good! Gave it an extra christmasy taste. I'll definitely make these again next year. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I live in CO, where cookies harden fast. Our Gingerbread People stayed soft for days after baking(I baked them for 8mins). The dough is so good to work with, and the flavour is wonderful. This recipe has become our choice for making gingerbread. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I tried a different recipe last year and I'm not sure if it was the recipe or if it was from us overworking the dough (my son was rolling every little bit out of the cookie dough) and they came out hard like rocks, like we were almost breaking dentures!!! So we searched out for another recipe and found this one, used the advice of keeping them thicker so they will be soft and they were WONDERFUL! We didn't add the zest and did have to put it in the fridge due to stickiness even after waiting three hours for it to set. Will use this recipe every year for my gingerbread cookies!! Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Wonderful cookie!!!! And so easy to make. This will be in all my handwritten cookbooks so my family will have this forever!!! I always add burbon to my gingerbread it brings out the flavor of the ginger!! I added one tablespoon to this mix . They are yummy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Wonderful! A new Christmas cookie classic to be made again. Soft, wonderful texture and taste- perfect!!! Don't be afraid to use extra flour while cutting or rolling out to prevent sticking- they will turn out just fine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes