324 Reviews

I have a problem with part of the recipe as is. It states that after mixing & dividing the dough to keep it at "room" temp for 2 or up to 8 hours. Shouldn't it be placed in the fridge for that time & not just left out?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wu4z November 30, 2015

This dough is perfect. It is not dry in any way, a bit tacky, but that allows for added flour when rolling. My only guess to how people are getting dry dough is that they aren't measuring carefully or they aren't adding the dry ingredients gradually. If you follow the recipe, you'll be pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa L. November 27, 2015

I was disappointed with this recipe. Haven't made gingerbread for a few years so was hoping for better results. Followed the recipe to a "T" but found the dough hard to work with. Will try a different recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cybergal November 23, 2015

I am not usually a fan of gingerbread, I have had some gross cookies with way too much spice so we always make a family gingersnap recipe instead but when my son asked me to make gingerbread men cookies we used this recipe. The recipe is easy, I thought maybe a little too dry (we live in a very dry climate) but it was perfect once it sat. and the cookies were delicious! Definitely will be using this recipe again!! The kids LOVED the cookies! And they are very picky!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassie T. November 18, 2015

For those in Australia, NZ and the UK don't be deterred by the molasses - substitute it with treacle and it works just the same. These are the metric conversions I used: Flour = 375g Butter (make sure it's softened/at room temp) = 85g Dark brown sugar = 150g All other measurements kept the same in tspns etc including the 1/2 cup treacle. The only thing I might omit next time is the salt because I found that it detracted from the flavour of the spices. Dough is very sticky to work with and heats up quickly once it's out of the fridge so you'll need a continuous amount of flour to ensure things don't get to sticky, or follow the other reviews about rolling out the dough between wax paper, cut the shapes, freeze for 10 min, then remove shapes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SophieLovesCupcakes October 06, 2015

Amazing, amazing, amazing!!! I let the dough chill in the fridge overnight and brought it to room temperature before handling it. It was a bit sticky, but with more flour, it worked fine for me. I mainly used a gingerbread-man shape cookie cutter. These little men totally made my day! They were delicious! Would totally make them again. Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen July 28, 2015

My children who are used to delicious home made cookies did not like this recipe at all! Horrible taste. Too much molasses overpowers the nutty flour butter sugar mixture. The only thing positive here is the ease of rolling the dough, it does not stick too much to the surface but I will not make this recipe again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
derekdempsey33 June 21, 2015

made these for the family this Xmas and they were a big hit! 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger Stevens January 08, 2015

I made this.It was EXCELLENT! thank you for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niloufar.azarmi December 27, 2014

been trying all week to make gingerbread, w/o success. BUT this is a great recipe. I was worried that it wouldnt be sweet enough, Cookies have perfect sweetness. Im watching carbs plain g-bread cookie is great with coffee or hot tea. For the kids I will decorate with royal icing. PREVIOUS TIP TO USE WAX PAPER AND FREEZE DOUGH FOR 10 MINUTES IS A GOOD IDEA.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbennett3030 December 23, 2014
The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies