Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    274 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 274

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2011

      Wow, I can't believe how well these came out! You gotta be careful when you're cooking them. 7 minutes was too long for me, so check after 6:30. They're so tasty and not overly hard or soft. They're perfect, and I had all the ingredients already in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Perfect Gingerbread recipe! I didn't have molasses or lemon, but I did have lemon honey and it worked great! Otherwise I followed the recipe exact and everything was spot on. Baked for 7 minutes and got delicious soft cookies. I had no problems with the spice ratio or with the texture. I used a Kitchenaid, as suggested, left out on the counter for a few hours, and then refrigerated for a couple days. Brought back to room temperature before rolling and needed no flour at all. Very easy to work with...looking forward to using this for years to come. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      My husband's favorite Christmas cookies are gingerbread. I've used another recipe for years and decided to give this one a try. I noticed the amount of ginger and thought this recipe is probably fabulous. And it is! He loves these cookies! He said it reminded him a little of the old windmill cookies he used to eat as kid but better. The recipe goes in my Christmas cookie file and will be tradition to make. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Great recipe!! Just what I was looking for for Christmas. The cookies are nice and spicy, the dough is easy to work with, and they baked up beautifully. I got about 42 or so cookies yield, and that was a perfect amount for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This is my first time making gingerbread cookies and I'm so very pleased with this recipe. I wanted to try them this year because I live in Hawaii where it's very humid and thought this dough would work better than sugar cookie dough (way too sticky here). At first I didn't think it was going to work but I just used quite a bit of flour when rolling the dough out and they turned out perfectly yummy and so moist (I made mine thicker and cooked for 7 min.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This cookie is wonderful and the dough is amazing to work with; I made a double batch for a cookie decorating party and it made around 120 cookies of all different shapes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      GREAT recipe! I'm new to baking (never thought I was very good before but I'm getting more adventurous). Well I made this recipe THREE times over Christmas! Per some suggestions I lowered the ginger a little. I also cut down the flour a tad (2 3/4 cups works great). I used pure Vermont maple syrup the first time and that was the best flavor. I didn't care for it with molasses. Just writing this makes me want to whip up another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      First time making gingerbread cookies. This recipe is fantastic!! Other recipes used vegetable shortening (trans fats) or way too much sugar. These were absolutely perfect! I refrigerated my dough for 2 days before baking and they came out wonderful. One batch I made thicker and it was delicious, and one batch I did crispier. I think you get more of the ginger flavor when the are crispier, but either way they are great. I plan on using a little more ginger and cloves next time as I love spicier cookies. Thank you for such a healthy, easy recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      We loved this recipe. We included these in our 2010 holiday trays for family and friends. What I liked the most from these cookies is they stayed soft even after a couple days. The kids had a blast decorating them, we used both a boy and girl cookie cutters. The flavor of these are delightful and just screams the holidays. Also, the house smell so wonderful when baking these. Thank you for sharing this gem of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This recipe is wonderful! I'd never made gingerbread cookies before but thought it would be a nice addition to my Christmas tins, so I picked this recipe and made exactly as listed. The dough was still pretty sticky after mixing and resting so I had to work in some more flour ( I thinks it's because of our altitude here in Utah) but the cookies still came out absolutely delicious. They were nice and crisp on the outside and very soft on the inside. Decorated them using royal icing and some red hots and they were divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was my first attempt at gingerbread, and I can't see why I'd ever need to find a different recipe. Loved the addition of lemon zest, although I used a little less than 1 tsp. Baked them for 6 or 7 minutes on dark baking sheets and they were nice and chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      OMG this is good. I made it for the second year this Christmas and doubled it up as i had so many requests. I work for the NHS and usually work all of Christmas. However this was my 1st Christmas off in 7 years yet i still had to pop in to deliever my Gingerbread men!!! I don't add he lemon zest because it is SOOOO good without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      My gourmet wife said these were the best cookies ever then spent hours trying to recreate what I did. She is very creative and tweaks things. Me, well, I just followed the recipe! My only change was putting in a bit less zest because it said "optional". Tasted best with a healthy dose of frosting. OK, well- not exactly healthy, I mean big. It helped to beat things well, and to use dark molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This recipe really makes THE BEST GINGERBREAD cookies. The recipe is easy to follow and the cookies taste great. This holiday season I've made three batches of this cookie dough and still can not get enough! I'ts definitely a recipe to share with your family. The only change that I made was to add additional ginger to the recipe, (a total of two tablespoons) I like my cookies a little bit spicier than the recipe calls for. You must give it a try! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Absolutley a winner. What a wonderfull recipe. Thank you for delish cookies. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I absolutely love this recipe. The texture of the gingerbread cookie dough was perfect and the only thing I changed was I added a teaspoon of lemon extract vs. putting in the lemon zest. They tasted great and people couldn't believe that they were homemade. I decorated my little mini 1" gingerbread men with Royal icing, dragees and holiday sprinkles. I have to admit that I love the decorating stage and it's where I let out all of my creative energy. I'm happy to say that I have definitely found my staple gingerbread cookie recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      BEST gingerbread cookies ever! ....nuff said :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I made this recipe today and went strictly by the recipe. This is a wonderful basic gingerbread cookie recipe! The cookies taste very nice and baked easily, just watch the time, about 8 minutes for me. After baking this recipe today, I do have a few suggestions that I think would improve it just a little.

      I used the food processor for the entire process---which was so easy! Because the dough runs a bit dry, a few teaspoons of cold water would help. Next time I will use 1/3 more of each spice to give the taste a little more punch. Finally, she was right, make sure you roll the dough out very thin cause they do puff up a bit. I used a toothpick to make a hole in each shape so they could be used as ornaments

      Thanks for such a great recipe! I will be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Wonderful. Made with butter as directed, only change was to up the spices a bit (I did all of them at 1.5X recommended amounts). My husband loves really sharp gingerbread and these were given a big thumbs up (with the extra spice). Lovely dough, a bit sticky but easily workable with floury hands. Did not have time to roll and cut out, so I made them into logs about 1.5 inches in diameter, chilled til very cold, then sliced and baked. Worked beautifully, and no tougher cookies at the end because of too much flour worked in from cutting out. :] Will be finished with a thin white glossy frosting, and maybe some colored sugar sprinkles. Will be in the forever file. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites