323 Reviews

These turn out soft and wonderful with a mellow gingerbread taste. Just the way I like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelrs1186 December 21, 2015

Absolutely loved this recipe as did my family. I've never made gingerbread for eating, only for construction so I was a bit nervous with some of the reviews. Followed all the directions, left the dough to rest on my counter while prepping other recipes and had no problem with sticky dough as mentioned in previous reviews. I used whole wheat flour sparingly on a silicone pastry mat and it rolled out like a dream. I also used a Joseph's adjustable rolling pin that comes with 4 different sized discs to keep the dough at the desired thickness. I'll definitely be making this recipe again, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefkarada December 21, 2015

These cookies are out of this world! The dough is very forgiving, it can be kneaded and rolled multiple times. A note for crumbly dough folks-Make sure that you let it rest at room temperature for a minimum of 2 hours before handling. Continue to dip your fingers in water and knead the dough until it is pliable. For sticky dough- Dust your work surface with flour, dust your hands and press it into a flat disk, flip over and redust the other side. Continue rolling, flipping, and dusting until rolled to desired thickness. The small amount of surface flour will disappear in the oven. OVERALL- tasty and perfect cookies! Baked at 375 for 5 minutes. I got 56 2-inch, 1/8 thick cookies.?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly.hofmann December 17, 2015

My cousin Deb says that this is the best gingerbread recipe there is! I'll be trying it tomorrow. Can you please post a link to the royal icing? Or can someone post an icing recipe that dries hard? Thx?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emwallace06 December 17, 2015

This is a very good gingerbread cookie recipe and with a couple of changes I will make again. The reason for 4 stars is because I found the dough a little stiff to work with and will take the suggestion of another reviewer and reduce the amount of flour to 2 1/2 cups instead of 3. I reduced the ginger to 2 tsp and the cinnamon to 1 1/4 tsp. I loved the hint of flavour from the lemon zest. Overall, it is a very tasty cookie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendavee December 13, 2015

This is the first time I have made gingerbread cookies. (I thought the dough was crumbly also, until I patted it into balls and let it rest 2 hours). I rolled it out between waxed paper and it behaved perfectly. The cookies turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan359 December 10, 2015

We have some standard favourites in our family, but I was home alone tonight and wanted to do some gingerbreads! I couldn't find a recipe in my dads cookbook, so I tried this one out. THEY ARE FABULOUS! I'm gluten-free, and even with that substitution they are incredible! I use a blend from a cookbook that I substitute for all-purpose flour. About 1/4 cup less than called for, as I find this blend tends to absorb a lot of moisture. I also substituted the butter with coconut oil, and was surprised that they were perfect! I'm very impatient, and haven't had amazing results with letting g-free sit (or chill), so I let it sit for about 40 minutes then rolled out and cut using white rice flour and had no issues. Baked 7 minutes, and the smaller ones are perfectly crispy with dark edges, and the large people are crunchy with soft middles. Will definitely be using this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trisarahtops013 December 06, 2015

These gingerbread cookies are superb! Made them for my sons family and my grandbabies! They were so very tasty the flavor was the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celeste c. December 05, 2015

I've used this recipe for years, and it's outstanding. It's "Gingerbread People" (Reduced Fat) and from The Joy of Cooking cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefess December 03, 2015

I have a problem with part of the recipe as is. It states that after mixing & dividing the dough to keep it at "room" temp for 2 or up to 8 hours. Shouldn't it be placed in the fridge for that time & not just left out?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wu4z November 30, 2015
The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies