301 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are excellent! The past few Christmases I've tried two or three different gingerbread cookie recipes, and they've just been okay...but these are amazing. I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, except I left out the lemon zest and I doubled the cloves because I like my gingerbread spicy. I left them in the oven for 9 minutes, and that gave them a nice crunchiness that I like as well (I'm not much of a soft cookie person, except for chocolate chip cookies). <br/><br/>This is definitely my new go-to recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtw December 21, 2014

Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly for the dough, and baked the cookies 1 minute less so they stayed a bit soft. I found that sprinkling my surface liberally with flour and dusting the cutter as well helped with getting my cookie shapes off in one piece. The chillier the dough, the better for me. So, so yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy N. December 21, 2014

Delicious, lovely cookies! The thick ones were soft, the thin ones were crisp, and the flavors were wonderful. (I skipped the zest.) They kept their shapes perfectly. I put the dough in the fridge for 2 hours and then only took out sections of it at a time to work with. I had to use a lot of flour and wax paper but we got a system going and the results were absolutely wonderful. The kids & I had a ton of fun and we got some really delicious cookies with great texture and flavor. We used Paula Deen's simple icing to decorate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floobish December 21, 2014

This is, hands down, the best gingerbread recipe I've ever found! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayleen Yu December 21, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly, but after letting it rest at room temperature I chilled it in the refrigerator for 24 hrs. It turned out amazingly! The dough was very easy to work with, the shapes punched out so easily--all in all a GREAT recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyChef1234 December 20, 2014

I followed this recipe exactly and the cookies are delicious. The best I've made of this kind. Unless I am misreading, you do need to chill the dough for 2 hours. I refrigerated overnight and let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes before rolling. Baked for 7 minutes because I like them chewy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn N. December 20, 2014

Great recipe think I should've rolled out. Between the wax paper as suggested

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ANJBOHANON December 20, 2014

I made it with almond milk and smart balance soy free. I also used duck cutouts and they were awesome!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonie L. December 16, 2014

Despite all the rave reviews from others, I'm afraid this recipe didn't work out for me. I followed it to the letter, except for the amount of flour--since the dough was clearly becoming very dry, I added half a cup less flour. The dough was crumbly and hard to work with. The temperature setting also seemed too high for my batch--the cookie bottoms were over-browned within 8 minutes. The taste is alright. I'm returning to my usual go-to recipe, Martha Stewart's, which always seems to work out well, although I tend to have to add a bit less flour on that one too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stella B. December 14, 2014

They turned out great. I didn't need to alter the recipe at all. I baked them at the longer time first where they were more crisp and crunchy and then some with less time where they were chewy and both delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily B. December 13, 2014
The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies