Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    297 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 297

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2013

      First gingerbread cookies I ever made and they turned out deliciously! Two suggestions for the recipe:<br/>- Instead of parchment, I used two sheets of plastic wrap to roll the dough out. The dough doesn't stick at all and the wrap is very easy to manipulate.<br/>After cutting out the cookie out on the plastic wrap, I sprinkled the bottom with white sugar and transferred to lightly floured parchment. The sugar not only made the cookies extra yum, it also ensured the cookies didn't stick to the parchment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Just ate my first cookie and I'm hooked. Nice strong, spicy flavor. 1 tbsp of ginger was just right for me, esp w/ a cup of hot tea. Yum. Not too sweet like some recipes, I didn't ice mine, just a little colored sugar. Rolled them thin so they'd be crisp and they were...excellent. <br/><br/>Not sure what the story is with some people having problems handling dough. I divided into 3 portions, refrigerated 2 for using in a few days, left 1 on counter for 2 hours. Floured parchment, rolled dough thin, cut cookies, placed cookies on a cookie sheet that was covered in parchment. Easy to roll, easy to move onto cookie sheet with a butter knife. <br/><br/>Next time may lower heat a bit or take out of oven earlier, some cookies were turning a tiny bit black on bottom at 7 minutes. Even a little overcooked, the flavor and texture is so good, still ate them! :)<br/><br/>Thanks gingerkitten D for a great recipe, you've made this Cookie Monster very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      As a heads up- the metric ingredient conversions are wrong. It is converting to ml instead of grams. You'll need to use the food.com converter or other source to get the proper dry ingredient amounts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I followed the same thing as some of the previous reviewers, and used the wax paper/freeze 10 minutes thing, and it worked great. I made a batch of these, and my family/friends loved them. I've now got 5 more batches going, to make gingerbread men for my students at school. These things are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Ok, I have never, ever made roll out, cut out cookies. My grandson's school requested ginger bread men cookies so that the children could decorate. I found this recipe and nervously went forward with it. OMG, uncomplicated/easy/delicious cookies. Some very useful hints from other reviewers made it easier. I allowed the dough to rest for about 3 hours (did not refrigerate). Rolled them out between 2 pieces of parchment paper. Was able to remove the excess dough to reuse. Put them in the freezer on the parchment paper/cookie sheet for 5 minutes which allowed me to easily re-arrange on the sheet. Bake them for 8 minutes. Perfect gingerbread men!!! They were perfect in taste and appearance. Very please how they turned out. I am sure my grandson's classmates/instructors will be pleased also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      i had high expectations and found these cookies rather bland tasting. I like my gingerbread cookies to be spicy. The best recipes on the web for gingerbread I found are:<br/>1) Martha Stewart's gingerbread cookie recipe (i made it with added 1 tsp black pepper and double the fresh ginger) -- they were a hit at a party I brought them to. You can also add candied ginger bits, like Nigella Lawson suggests in her gingerbread cookie recipe.<br/>2) America's Test Kitchen gingersnaps recipe -- it explains there how to adjust gingerbread cookie recipe to make it more crispy or more chewy.<br/>Both the above have fresh ginger in them which make them superior to other recipes without fresh ginger.<br/><br/>If you are gluten intolerant, you can replace the flour with a gluten-free flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

    • on November 22, 2013

      just wanted to add to the reviews and as a note to myself -- follow the recipe!! do NOT reduce the flour, despite the second most "helpful" review saying they did. i only reduced the flour by 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and the dough was still way too sticky to work with. it just stuck onto my hands, rolling pin, and counter, despite HEAVY flouring of the dough and surface and pin. it was a pain to peel off and basically ruined the shape i just cut. <br/><br/>following the rest of the recipe as is though: good flavor and not too sweet -- I fall into the the camp that finds the recipe as is a little mild (but still delicious), and would recommend kicking the spices up for a more intense flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Well, it was time to fill the Christmas cookie jar and wanted the scent of the season to perfume the house.....and so I made this lovely recipe. I was out of dark brown sugar so I used light, and didn't have ground cloves so I subbed allspice. My husband LOVED them (and so did I) and need to make a second batch. I chilled the dough and cut out gingerbread man shapes to keep in the spirit. They will get very soft in a tightly closed container, fyi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      These were amazing and full of flavor! I did not have any lemon zest so I left that out but I have made this recipe twice so far and it is my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe thus far! They were very easy to cut various shapes into and hold them very well after baking. No need for special tips or tricks when it comes to rolling and cutting them. If you like them soft like I do 7 minutes was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This recipe is a "keeper".For years now I have been making Gingerbread Men Cookies and for years now I have been searching for the perfect recipe. Well I have finally found it. I have gone back and forth - shortening versus butter etc. My family has been aware of my quest and everyone told me to "Keep this Recipe." I didn't change the recipe at all. I didn't find that these little guys lost their shape because I used butter instead of shortening Everyone loved them..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      These were easy to make and the dough was very nice to work with. The taste was just ok to me. I thought they were a bit dry and sweet less. I will be looking for a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      I had been craving gingerbread for weeks, and finally got a taste of one in a bakery... it was terribly disappointing. The only flavor was ginger. No warm spiciness from cinnamon and cloves, no molasses richness, just BLAH, and crumbly and dense, not soft and chewy. So I went home and sought out a PERFECT recipe that would satisfy that craving. And I am thrilled to report that THE MOST WONDERFUL GINGERBREAD COOKIES was the exact taste and texture I was looking for in a gingerbread cookie! I followed the recipe exactly although didn't have dark brown sugar, so used light brown sugar and added a drop more of molasses to compensate. I refrigerated the dough for 2 hours. The raw dough was a bit crumbly when first rolled out, but this was because I didn't let it come to room temp first (didn't notice that in the directions initially). I kneaded it and re-rolled and it was perfect. I did need to use a lot of flour to prevent sticking to my board and rolling pin though. I used some adorable cookie cutters of Hello Kitty, Raggedy Ann and Andy, sailboats, and snowmen. The dough barely stuck to the cutters when I dusted with flour. I was thinking that the dough smelled a bit strong of molasses before baked, but after coming out of the oven, smelled only of the wonderful spiciness of a great gingerbread cookie. Also, in taste, I felt that nothing overwhelmed each other. The ratio of spices is perfect. Initially I was thinking that 1 tablespoon of ginger might be a bit much, but it really does blend perfectly with the other flavors and was not overwhelming at all. The texture came out perfectly chewy and soft, which is what I personally wanted, so the last batch I did I rolled very thin and baked for twice as long to give my hubby the crunchy almost burnt variety that he enjoys. Overall, a fantastic recipe that I will always go to when craving that seasonal goodness. Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      These are so easy to work with. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      Perfect recipe! Brushed lightly with milk and dusted with sugar before baking for a beautiful and easy finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This is my first time baking gingerbread cookies. . Thanks to this wonderful recipe, they turned out delicious. The only thing I did differently is that I used Wholewheat flour instead of All-purpose. 2 1/2 cups instead of 3 cups. I had to add a few teaspoons of water when kneading the dough due to this substitution. I rolled the dough, shaped each cookie w a cutter/stamp on parchment paper. . no sticky problem. I baked them for 7 minutes as previous reviews suggested. . turned out nice and soft(smelled good in the house too). Everyone at the party loved it!
      Many Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      So, I like to bake. A lot. I've never found a great gingerbread recipe until now. This is the absolute easiest dough to work with. I wish my pie crusts would roll out so well! It wasn't sticky at all and re-rolled well twice more past the original time. I had it in the fridge for two days after I made it because I ran out of time on "dough day." I left it out on the counter for several hours to come back to room temperature, and it was a dream to work with. This is my new go-to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Wow these are the best tasting gingerbread cookies I've ever made. The recipe is perfect as is so do not alter. I refrigerated the dough in plastic wrap ovenight, then warmed to room temp before rolling and cutting the next day. Came out perfectly. We like softer cookies so in my oven I baked them for 7 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      This recipe is my family's very favorite for gingerbread cookies! Making them during the holiday season has become an annual tradition. I love the flavor and, most of all, that they are sturdy enough for kids to cut out shapes and transfer to baking sheets! Thanks for this recipe - it's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      These are wonderful. I made them thick so they were soft and chewy. My family loved them. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes