324 Reviews

This is a FABULOUS recipe. I'm love how you can really adjust the thickness of the dough based on what you like, and they come out great no matter what. I used a pretty small cookie cutter, and it works great. It seems very difficult to mess these up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsaternus February 21, 2010

These are excelent! they've come out just right every time I've made them, and they're perfect! Crisp on the outside, soft in the middle, not too sweet, with lits of gingery flavor 5 stars. Great for the holidays!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel... January 20, 2010

This recipe produced such a soft, yummy gingerbread cookie!! I kept mine in the fridge for a couple of days until I was ready for it. The rolled out and baked beautifully. Once they were cooled, I dipped them in melted white chocolate - hubby was very happy!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve January 03, 2010

These are amazing! I had never made any kind of cookies before and I was very hesitant to try as I thought it was difficult. I noticed this recipe had such high reviews, so I gave it a try for Christmas and the cookies came out UNBELIEVABLE! I got lots of compliments on them. I used honey instead of molasses. The mix of ginger and other spices is very well set in this recipe. I will be trying more kinds of cookies, now that I have the confidence :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elora2012 January 02, 2010

Best gingerbread cookie dough recipe ever!! I roll the dough out with powdered sugar instead of flour, but other than that, I follow the recipe exactly. I choose the lower end of the recommended cooking time because I like a softer cookie. These go great with royal icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyle P. February 21, 2016

This is a fantastic recipe! Definitely use the lemon zest...the flavor is fantastic. I didn't short the flour and only had minimal issues with sticky dough. I roll my cookies with powdered sugar because it keeps the dough from getting stiff and keeps them from tasting like flour. I did the same for these with excellent results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah D. January 19, 2016

These cookies were a hit at a Christmas gathering I went to. Very flavorful, and easy to make too! I followed the recipe to a T, and didn't have any issues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy S. December 28, 2015

This was the first time we made gingerbread cookies and I was thrilled for my older son - almost 3 1/2 to enjoy. A few interesting things - 1. I somehow thought I bought Vanilla extract but bought Almond Extract. I didn't realize this until after I put it in. 2. We bake from an Aga oven and found 8 minutes on the top right oven to be perfect. The cookies were delicious and easy and fun.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaffadollusa December 27, 2015

I wish I could give it 5 stars for flavor (it's a strong gingery flavor which I like), but 1 star for workability, and 1 star as a cutout cookie dough recipe. Figured this averages out to 2 stars. Maybe everyone is making blob gingerbread men or snowflakes and they're happy with that but there's too much rising agent and everything got poofy; lost the detail which is a shame. Piping and decorations will fix that but was hoping that wouldn't happen. I tried to follow the recipe as written but think I didn't measure the flour like others who didn't have sticky dough problems. I also live in Florida like the author. I was taught that flour measurements are based on sifted flour which is aerated, but for lazy folks like me you can scoop and use a knife to cut air into the flour, or you can spoon the flour into the measuring cup. Scooping, tapping especially, will compact it and you'll measure out more flour. Maybe in the US we need to start writing out recipes using weights rather than volume; that would help with consistency. Anyhow it was incredibly sticky, even chilled. I started trying to dust the dough with confectioners sugar but went to flour after a while thinking it could use more. I also tried someone's recommendation to roll the dough between two pieces of wax paper (I only had parchment paper but that worked fine), cutout the shapes, then without touching it further transfer the rolled, cut dough on the paper onto a cookie sheet and freeze for 10 minutes. This helped but just a few thoughts which might help others if they want to try this too. If you have a narrow freezer (side-by-side) plan for it by (1) making sure your cookie sheet will fit, then (2) rolling the dough onto a piece of paper that will easily fit on the cookie sheet. I first rolled the dough out too big hoping to use my big cookie sheet, but it didn't fit in the freezer. I had to use my smallest cookie sheet and the dough kinda folded and the shapes at the fold were messed up. The extra paper also got in the way when trying to place the cookie sheet into the freezer. I then cut the paper down to fit the cookie sheet before rolling the next batch. I also found I needed to refreeze the dough a few times because they softened too much as I worked on transferring them to a new cookie sheet for baking. Keeping the frozen cutout dough on the cold cookie sheet helped them stay cold longer, but I could only successfully get maybe 4 or 5 cookies onto my baking sheet before it softened up. Using a small angled frosting knife really helped transfer the cutout cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cue-Fenick December 25, 2015

Great Recipe! I found it helpful to warm up the butter prior to mixing as otherwise it doesn't mix very well, even if left a room temp. Also use lots of flour on the parchment paper before rolling to prevent sticking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal J. December 24, 2015
The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies