Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    299 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 299

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2014

      These cookies were easy to make and delicious to eat. I see this original recipe dates back ten years here and I'm sure it will continue to be for a long time. Just enough ginger molasses combination. I baked the full time to enjoy crispy and dunked in a glass of milk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2014

      My first time ever making gingerbread cookies.<br/><br/>I didn't have any lemon zest so I used 1/2tsp lemon extract, but follow the rest of the recipe ingredients as written.<br/><br/>I rolled the dough out between sheets of parchment paper and that made it easy and non-stick. <br/>I baked them on a rimless sheet pan for seven minutes because I like them on the soft side.<br/><br/>These came out GREAT and the taste is probably the best gingerbread cookie I've eaten.<br/>I most certainly will be making a LOT of these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2014

      super, super easy! Followed this recipe to the letter. Rolled out and baked beautifully! I'll be sure to save this recipe for next time. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      I signed up for Food because of this recipe! It really is the most delicious Gingerbread recipe I have made and I've tried many many. This dough is rich and beautiful to work with. I refrigerated overnight and used at room temp the next day. I am thrilled with taste and ease of use. Would highly recommend. I live in very humid UK and had no issues with dough being too soft. Thanks for sharing this lovely dough....now for the perfect sugar cookie?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      Made these for my 1st gingerbread cookie attempt and they were gone in 24 hours! They were delicious and the texture was soft, chewy, yet firm and easily decorated with royal icing. I followed the instructions but omitted the zest and let the dough rest for about 4 hours. The dough was easy to work with and cut, I did the recommended 1/4 thick which baked perfectly in 9 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

    • on February 21, 2014

      Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      I had my Offender Bakers make this for a pre-Christmas treat for our medium security mens facility. We ended up making 2500 cookies. They were fantastic. We did sub margerine for butter and orange zest for the lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

    • on January 03, 2014

      My daughter made these for our cookie exchange this year and they were the best cookies there. Made them again for ChrIstmas Eve and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I cut the recipe in half because I just wanted to try out a new cookie cutter, and I subbed lime zest for lemon zest (no lemons available). It came out a bit dry, so I added a few drops of water, and that seemed to work out just fine. The dough sat at room temp for about four hours before it was rolled out. It wasn't too sticky -- I almost didn't have to use extra flour on the surface or rolling pin. The (large) cookies baked in 7 minutes and puffed up nicely.<br/><br/>The texture and softness of the finished cookies was very nice; however, the flavor wasn't anything to write home about. I couldn't taste any of the zest, either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Excellent recipe...I used it as is: didn't sub any ingredients, didn't need extra flour. I mixed the dough, then chilled it for about an hour. I was able to roll some to about an 1/8 of an inch, and it cut beautifully. One-quarter-inch was the best recommendation (easiest to transfer from counter to baking sheets). I accidentally baked them at 350, because I had a pie in the oven, and didn't realize the oven temp was not correct. The cookies kept their shape as they baked. I used a 3.5" cutter and baked them till they were firm at the edges (9 - 11 minutes). I cooled them and gathered them together on a tray and wrapped them. They were perfectly firm and chewy the next day! I decorated them and packed them the next day, and they were perfect. The flavor was great for them, since they were for young children. If I make these for others (adults), I would add more ginger (and probably some black pepper), but, honestly, the flavor was just about perfect for these cookies. Thank you for this excellent recipe; I will absolutely be using this as my go-to gingerbread cookies recipe for next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      The other really liked it, but it wasn't as spicy as I hoped. The recipe was really easy too, I think I would add more spicy next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I just made these delicious gingerbread cookies and they were a hit at a house party! This was my first attempt at making gingerbread cookies! Everyone complimented me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Excellent consistency. I made this with spelt flour and had to increase the flour until is was nearly pie crust consistency. I really should have increased the spices however. The cookies were soft and easy to work with. We just rolled them and cut them out right on the silicon cookie sheets, then picked up the cookie sheets and placed them on the aluminum cookie sheets and baked. No need to transfer raw dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Made exactly as written and the dough was cracking and very difficult to work with. Haven't tasted the cookies yet but I'm sure they taste delicious. But the dough...wouldn't make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      The first time I ever made ginger bread men and not one broke on me. And they taste great too!!Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      NO! I have been using the same gingerbread recipe for the past few years and am a fairly experienced baker so recipes like this are normally not an issue. I decided to try a new one this year and selected this one because of the good reviews. I now have to start ALL over. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with crumbling dough, I added a bit more molasses and some water and the dough still fell apart hours later when I tried to roll it out -- I was able to rectify this with a tiny bit of water but the cookies all had tons of air pockets because of the dough falling apart (and trust me, I kneaded the air bubbles out several times). Tastes good, but thats about it, not a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I baker I am not and this is the very first time I have made a cookie that everybody couldn't stop eating. The recipe is very easy to follow. I, like others, was concerned when my mixture was not "smooth" but more like a crumbly mess. Nonetheless, I wrapped the dough up and sure enough after 2 hours it was ready to go. I'm not a fan of gingerbread cookies but I made these as gifts for my son's class - the ginger in these cookies is very mild and very pleasant. A bunch of 2 and 4 year olds gobbled them up. I baked these at different times as a test and found ; 7 min was to mushy, 8 min was perfect, 9 min was slightly too hard. I really have to say that these were amazing. I'm already thinking of my second batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      The tips to use two pieces of wax paper to roll the dough, while brilliant in concept the wax paper sticks to the frozenish cookies.... use parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes