Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2013

      Excellent consistency. I made this with spelt flour and had to increase the flour until is was nearly pie crust consistency. I really should have increased the spices however. The cookies were soft and easy to work with. We just rolled them and cut them out right on the silicon cookie sheets, then picked up the cookie sheets and placed them on the aluminum cookie sheets and baked. No need to transfer raw dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Made exactly as written and the dough was cracking and very difficult to work with. Haven't tasted the cookies yet but I'm sure they taste delicious. But the dough...wouldn't make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      The first time I ever made ginger bread men and not one broke on me. And they taste great too!!Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      NO! I have been using the same gingerbread recipe for the past few years and am a fairly experienced baker so recipes like this are normally not an issue. I decided to try a new one this year and selected this one because of the good reviews. I now have to start ALL over. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with crumbling dough, I added a bit more molasses and some water and the dough still fell apart hours later when I tried to roll it out -- I was able to rectify this with a tiny bit of water but the cookies all had tons of air pockets because of the dough falling apart (and trust me, I kneaded the air bubbles out several times). Tastes good, but thats about it, not a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I baker I am not and this is the very first time I have made a cookie that everybody couldn't stop eating. The recipe is very easy to follow. I, like others, was concerned when my mixture was not "smooth" but more like a crumbly mess. Nonetheless, I wrapped the dough up and sure enough after 2 hours it was ready to go. I'm not a fan of gingerbread cookies but I made these as gifts for my son's class - the ginger in these cookies is very mild and very pleasant. A bunch of 2 and 4 year olds gobbled them up. I baked these at different times as a test and found ; 7 min was to mushy, 8 min was perfect, 9 min was slightly too hard. I really have to say that these were amazing. I'm already thinking of my second batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      The tips to use two pieces of wax paper to roll the dough, while brilliant in concept the wax paper sticks to the frozenish cookies.... use parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Made mine gluten free and they turned out great for me. I followed the recipe exactly using Bob's Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour and 3/4 tsp xanthan gum. The recipe said to let the dough sit covered in wrap at room temperature and I did just that for 3 hours (my house was about 74-75 degrees with AC on - live in Florida). Rolled the dough out on parchment paper using white rice flour and had no problem with dough sticking at all. Even had the dough slip off the paper at one point onto the counter and still had no issues with sticking (white rice flour is great). Gave some to people who are not gluten sensitive and they loved them. So did my boyfriend who typically doesn't like any of the gluten free cookies I buy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Wonderful cookies, made exactly per recipe and rolled out using Rnam's suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      First gingerbread cookies I ever made and they turned out deliciously! Two suggestions for the recipe:<br/>- Instead of parchment, I used two sheets of plastic wrap to roll the dough out. The dough doesn't stick at all and the wrap is very easy to manipulate.<br/>After cutting out the cookie out on the plastic wrap, I sprinkled the bottom with white sugar and transferred to lightly floured parchment. The sugar not only made the cookies extra yum, it also ensured the cookies didn't stick to the parchment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Just ate my first cookie and I'm hooked. Nice strong, spicy flavor. 1 tbsp of ginger was just right for me, esp w/ a cup of hot tea. Yum. Not too sweet like some recipes, I didn't ice mine, just a little colored sugar. Rolled them thin so they'd be crisp and they were...excellent. <br/><br/>Not sure what the story is with some people having problems handling dough. I divided into 3 portions, refrigerated 2 for using in a few days, left 1 on counter for 2 hours. Floured parchment, rolled dough thin, cut cookies, placed cookies on a cookie sheet that was covered in parchment. Easy to roll, easy to move onto cookie sheet with a butter knife. <br/><br/>Next time may lower heat a bit or take out of oven earlier, some cookies were turning a tiny bit black on bottom at 7 minutes. Even a little overcooked, the flavor and texture is so good, still ate them! :)<br/><br/>Thanks gingerkitten D for a great recipe, you've made this Cookie Monster very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      As a heads up- the metric ingredient conversions are wrong. It is converting to ml instead of grams. You'll need to use the food.com converter or other source to get the proper dry ingredient amounts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I followed the same thing as some of the previous reviewers, and used the wax paper/freeze 10 minutes thing, and it worked great. I made a batch of these, and my family/friends loved them. I've now got 5 more batches going, to make gingerbread men for my students at school. These things are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Ok, I have never, ever made roll out, cut out cookies. My grandson's school requested ginger bread men cookies so that the children could decorate. I found this recipe and nervously went forward with it. OMG, uncomplicated/easy/delicious cookies. Some very useful hints from other reviewers made it easier. I allowed the dough to rest for about 3 hours (did not refrigerate). Rolled them out between 2 pieces of parchment paper. Was able to remove the excess dough to reuse. Put them in the freezer on the parchment paper/cookie sheet for 5 minutes which allowed me to easily re-arrange on the sheet. Bake them for 8 minutes. Perfect gingerbread men!!! They were perfect in taste and appearance. Very please how they turned out. I am sure my grandson's classmates/instructors will be pleased also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      i had high expectations and found these cookies rather bland tasting. I like my gingerbread cookies to be spicy. The best recipes on the web for gingerbread I found are:<br/>1) Martha Stewart's gingerbread cookie recipe (i made it with added 1 tsp black pepper and double the fresh ginger) -- they were a hit at a party I brought them to. You can also add candied ginger bits, like Nigella Lawson suggests in her gingerbread cookie recipe.<br/>2) America's Test Kitchen gingersnaps recipe -- it explains there how to adjust gingerbread cookie recipe to make it more crispy or more chewy.<br/>Both the above have fresh ginger in them which make them superior to other recipes without fresh ginger.<br/><br/>If you are gluten intolerant, you can replace the flour with a gluten-free flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

    • on November 22, 2013

      just wanted to add to the reviews and as a note to myself -- follow the recipe!! do NOT reduce the flour, despite the second most "helpful" review saying they did. i only reduced the flour by 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and the dough was still way too sticky to work with. it just stuck onto my hands, rolling pin, and counter, despite HEAVY flouring of the dough and surface and pin. it was a pain to peel off and basically ruined the shape i just cut. <br/><br/>following the rest of the recipe as is though: good flavor and not too sweet -- I fall into the the camp that finds the recipe as is a little mild (but still delicious), and would recommend kicking the spices up for a more intense flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Well, it was time to fill the Christmas cookie jar and wanted the scent of the season to perfume the house.....and so I made this lovely recipe. I was out of dark brown sugar so I used light, and didn't have ground cloves so I subbed allspice. My husband LOVED them (and so did I) and need to make a second batch. I chilled the dough and cut out gingerbread man shapes to keep in the spirit. They will get very soft in a tightly closed container, fyi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      These were amazing and full of flavor! I did not have any lemon zest so I left that out but I have made this recipe twice so far and it is my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe thus far! They were very easy to cut various shapes into and hold them very well after baking. No need for special tips or tricks when it comes to rolling and cutting them. If you like them soft like I do 7 minutes was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This recipe is a "keeper".For years now I have been making Gingerbread Men Cookies and for years now I have been searching for the perfect recipe. Well I have finally found it. I have gone back and forth - shortening versus butter etc. My family has been aware of my quest and everyone told me to "Keep this Recipe." I didn't change the recipe at all. I didn't find that these little guys lost their shape because I used butter instead of shortening Everyone loved them..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      These were easy to make and the dough was very nice to work with. The taste was just ok to me. I thought they were a bit dry and sweet less. I will be looking for a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes