Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 261-280 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2006

      These are a nice spicy gingerbread. I did leave out the lemon. I think I might not have rolled my dough thin enough though because mine were a little "tough".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      These were so easy and great tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This is really good! ...I got around 32 cookies out of it, and they were cakey and soft........I Dont know if thats how gingerbread men are supposed to be like..but theyre still good.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Oh and I wanted to add, that I got 50 cookies out of the deal! YAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Made this with my 4 yr old boy and it survived the rough handling , filled the house with delicious aromas and tasted great! This will be a regular recipe in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      My kids ( 6 and 2 ) treated this dough with no more respect than a hunk of modelling clay ! They rolled it and re-rolled it a dozen times in the process of making their xmas gingerbread men, and it almost seemed even easier to deal with the more they messed with it! This is a fantastic recipe in that respect and the fact that it tastes so great also makes this a winner at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I had a problem with this recipe. I prepared the dough correctly but my dough was very dry. I rolled it out on the thin side after reading that hey puffed up - min e didn't. They were sort of crisp. I didn't want to dry them out more by rolling & re-rolling, so I just rolled it once and cut into sqaures. The flavor was fine - I was just expecting a soft chewy gingerbread cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      These were a wonderful gingerbread recipe and I liked trying something new. I found that these kept longer and stayed moister than my other recipe I have, but I'm not too keen on molasses. But I'm not letting my personal tastes effect the rating! My family adored them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I am giving this 5 stars because I am not a huge fan of anything with molasses in it and I could not stop picking at the dough - it was so good. I followed the recipe exactly except I couldn't find my cloves in the spice cabinet so I left it out. I might prefer to roll them out thinner next time as mine puffed up a lot. I'm not sure what a "scant 1/4in" is but I would go thinner next time, like 1/8in. I always think of gingerbread to be crisp outside and chewey inside and these were downright soft all the way through but still delicious. My son's Kindergarten class will love them on their 2nd day of school activities. Great recipe, I will try them again at the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      My husband is a maniac over gingerbread anything. So I am sure you must know how long these lasted around the house. A true pleasure out of the oven. Crisp, but not too dry. Has a great distinct bite to them from the ginger. Wonderful with a big glass of milk! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      These are terrific cookies - the dough is tender, but still rolls and cuts well, and they taste great. I frosted mine - the sweetness of the icing and the spice of the cookies is terrific. I baked mine for 7 minutes and they are perfect. Thank you very much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      I love this recipe! The dough works up nicely and rolls and cuts easily. The flavor is just right, spicy and not too sweet--the icing will take care of the sweetness. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I substituted soft margarine for the butter. I used a floured linen dish towel (pastry cloth) to roll out the dough, and I baked for 5 min. 30 sec. for a soft cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I really love the spice of this cookie. (But that might be because I may have added too much ginger.) I like gooey cookies better so I found that cooking them in the oven for 5 min. and then letting them sit of the sheet for 2 min. worked out better. They are awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

    • on January 31, 2005

      My grandson loved these. Very easy to make and dough handles very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      I made these cookies for Christmas, and I forgot to post a comment. They were wonderful. My one-year old ate them for breakfast :) He devoured them. I hope to make these each year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      I made these for christmas this year.The only change I made was to omit the lemon zest and used sorgum instead of molasses.I rolled the dough cold between waxed paper.I froze the baked cookies and defrosted and decorated.Very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      These were great! They did not last very long here! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I had so many reservations about these, not sure why, maybe it was the addition of the grated lemon. BUT I am SO glad I followed the recipe exactly, this is my new Gingerbread Cookie Recipe. I had lost my favorite one years ago, and have been spending every Christmas since trying to find one just as good... I found one BETTER.. Thank You for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I didn't have any lemon zest but these cookies were excellent anyway! I used 2/3 cup of icing sugar mixed with a few tbsp of water to make the icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes