Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    299 Total Reviews

    Showing 241-260 of 299

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2007

      These are perfectly delicious! We baked for 7 minutes on large, 6 on smaller. I omitted lemon and added a wee bit of flour to dough on final mix. After 2 hours of resting they rolled perfectly! I spatula is a Godsend in ensuring they do not stick to the counter while rolling. Will be my replacement gingerbread cookie from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Yummy! The only change I made was to substitute 100% maple syrup for half the molasses (1/4 cup of each)as I am not a huge fan of molasses. I used a dark pan and only cooked for 5-6 minutes, resulting in a chewy cookie that was very good. I topped with Royal Icing and decorated. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I totally agree with the title! I even cut down the butter to 4T, and used egg beaters...still wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Very nice recipe. My 4 yr old daughter wanted cookies to take to her friends for presents at school so we used this and made gingerbread girls for her girlfriends, boys for the boyfriends and angels for the teachers. The dough was very nice to work with. Followed the recipe, but did leave out the cloves as I had none. Also only had 1tsp of ground ginger but used what I had. Nice texture of soft but not cakey, just right. Taste was just right for children. I did let the dough rest as suggested and then put it in the fridge for 2 hours before working with it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      EASY! Perfect! This is the only recipe I'll ever use for gingerbread cookies- for my whole life. Angela

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      great cookies! They had a nice spicy flavor and the dough was very easy to work with. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Very good gingerbread - best I've ever had. We followed the recipe exactly, including the addition of lemon zest. No problems with sticky dough here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This turned out quite well! I didn't have nutmeg on hand and omitted it. I chilled the dough for a day in the fridge and it was easy to work with. This was my first time working with molasses, so the strong smell was alarming; I thought I had poured too much but it worked out in the end. I used an icing of powdered sugar, milk, and crushed candy canes, and everyone enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Wonderful! I just made a big batch of gingerbread teddy bears with the kids. They had a blast decorating them and the cookies are yummy too. A new Christmas tradition has been born. Thanks for posting! The recipe yielded 35 3-inch bears. I used the shorter baking time and they came out perfect. No problems with sticky dough - I floured the surface REALLY well and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I'm confused as to why anyone would have sticky dough. Mine was too dry! Maybe it has to do with the dryness in our home in NE Ohio in the dead of winter. But all of my cookies came out crisp, even the thick ones that I cooked for a shorter time. This made a LOT of cookies. My gingerbread men were about 3" tall. I put some powdered sugar glaze on them. The glaze dried looking like snow flakes...don't know why. But they are very tasty and cute! I used cinnamon candy and chocolate chips for the eyes. A nice holiday treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Thank you for the yummiest gingerbread! The dough was so forgiving my six year old cut out the shapes. I didn't have any problem with sticky dough. I just made sure to flour the halves well first. Again, very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      YUM! These taste just as good as they smell. You are going to love the spicy, holiday aroma all thru the house! I let the dough sit for 2 hours as the recipe suggests and had no problem with rolling or cutting. A great cookie to add to my Christmas plate. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      AWESOME!! these are definitely delicious--make sure the dough is extremely cold though before you roll out to make the gingerbread men. we put it in the fridge for a couple of days before we had time to make them and when we took it out it was like glue!! unwilling to admit defeat i put the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes and then it worked perfectly!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I love this recipe! It tastes fantastic. The recipe is not hard to make at all. I did leave out lemon zest (I didn't have any and I don't like lemon - not even a wedge with my ice water). The dough was hard to work with but after some refridgeration (2 hours or more) and flour to prevent sticking, everything was great. It is the best gingerbread cookie I ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      These taste absolutely fabulous but the texture was all wrong. The dough was sticky and made soft cookies. I like gingerbread to be crisp, almost the consistency of a cracker. Oh well. I should have read the comments first before beginning this recipe. I added about half a cup more flour to the dough becuase even after two hours I just couldn't work with the stuff. Still, it's a keeper. I'll work with it until I can get the consistency I want. As I said before, these tasted SO good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I love this cookie - the flavor was perfect. I had some problems with them cracking, but it was due to me and not the recipe. I found the dough to be very easy to work with and didn't have to use very much flour at all rolling them out. I can't wait to make these again especially when I have time to decorate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I always loved crunchy gingerbread so thought Id roll the dough out really really thin. The 1st batch came out slightly 'raised' anyway (therefore slightly soft) and I enjoyed every bit of it! and by the last batch I was rolling the dough as per the recipe (1/4 inch) Im a convert! :) I substituted golden syrup for the molasses and it was fine (although I have nothing to compare it to)Delicious!!! We've already made it twice this Christmas (once for a GB house and a few cookies - 2nd time as gifts) We will do another half batch Christmas week, and save a few for Santa :D Thank you very much, very delicious and certainly a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      When I was very young my mom would sometimes let my brother and I buy a gingerbread man at this local bakery around this time of year - this recipe brought back every single one of those memories! It tasted identical! I didn't have a lemon to zest, so I just omitted it - but followed the rest of the recipe and YUM! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This is the best gingerbread ever! So soft, not at all like the usual crunchy kind. Even my friends who don't like gingerbread like this stuff. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      FABULOUS thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes