Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2011

      Excellent recipe!!

      I followed it to the letter and no need to reduce the flour at all (I HARDLY TOUCHED THE DOUGH! ) thanks to THE BEST HINT i read from another user on food.com (either on this recipe or another one i am not sure):

      *ROLL THE CHILLED DOUGH BETWEEN WAXED PAPER
      *TAKE OFF THE TOP PAPER and CUT OUT THE SHAPES (puzzle like) WITHOUT MOVING OR HANDLING THE DOUGH AT ALL
      *~PUT THE PAPER & DOUGH ON A BAKING SHEET IN THE FREEZER
      *TAKE OUT AFTER 10 min AND THE SHAPES ARE SO EASY TO REMOVE WO BREAKING! ONTO A BAKING SHEET STRAIGHT INTO THE OVEN!

      I did all kind of shapes even the mini stars came out perfect!! The taste was delicious!!

      Many thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This is a great recipe for gingerbread cookie lovers; great ginger taste (a tablespoon had me sneezing for about a minute) which is the main reason why it gets my 4 stars. However on the second batch of cookie dough I did a little tinkering. The first batch I followed the recipe to the letter, but I think there is an issue of word usage in the directions. It says after adding the last bit of the dry ingredients to mix until dough is smooth. This dough will not be smooth but more like pie crust, so make sure you mix until well incorporated. It will be pretty much a heavy chunk of heavenly smelling dough that can easily divided to chill. Also with as much ginger this recipe calls for, keep in mind even after baking these cookies will have a strong ginger flavor which is great for gingerbread cookie lovers like myself, but be prepared for the non-fans. A nice coating of Royal Icing can help in this regaurd, or the traditional raisins. My second batch I reduced the amount of flour to 2 1/2 cups, and reduced the ginger by half. Since gingerbread is used for cut out cookies there is the risk of the dough becoming tough using the dusting of flour to keep it from sticking. There is already quite a bit of flour in the dough itself so you will need even less flour dusting than say with sugar cookie dough, however after repeated dusting and handling, reducing the cooking time won't help having a rather hard cookie after cooling. Using a half cup less flour there is room for dusting and handling no problem, but make sure you chill at the very least 3-4 hours and keep dough you're not using in the frige. Reducing the amount of ginger by half gives the cookie a more mild ginger flavor which appeals to children far better as well as those finicky "big kids" who want a more sweet cookie. Otherwise it's a great recipe for a traditional Christmas cookie making it well worth your time and love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This recipe helped me through my first gingerbread cookie attempt, and even with the gluten free and vegan substitutions I made (Pamela's gluten-free baking mix for wheat flour, EarthBalance for butter, and Ener-G egg replacer for the egg), it was a definite winner! Perhaps it was the gluten-free flour I was using, but I had no problems with sticky dough, even though I waited less than two hours to prepare the cookies. The cookies came out soft, with perfectly puffed edges and crisp, golden bottoms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I have made these cookies for our holiday trays for friends for the past two years. Everyone, including myself, seem to love them. I make batches of soft ones and then harder snappy ones. For the snappy ones, I just roll the dough a little thinner and bake two minutes longer. The little gingerbread men break right in half like a ginger snap. Very good for dipping in coffee too :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      These were very easy to make, and my family gobbled them up. I only give 4 stars because I prefer a much spicier cookie. Next time I'll try doubling the cloves and adding chunks of crystalized ginger. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      I haven't made this yet but want to save it with the 'handy hints' from Rnam. These are:ROLL THE CHILLED DOUGH BETWEEN WAXED PAPER
      *TAKE OFF THE TOP PAPER and CUT OUT THE SHAPES (puzzle like) WITHOUT MOVING OR HANDLING THE DOUGH AT ALL
      *~PUT THE PAPER & DOUGH ON A BAKING SHEET IN THE FREEZER
      *TAKE OUT AFTER 10 min AND THE SHAPES ARE SO EASY TO REMOVE WO BREAKING! ONTO A BAKING SHEET STRAIGHT INTO THE OVEN!

      They sound so good, can't wait to make them with my girls for Christmas!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      My first attempt at making gingerbread cookies. I, like other reviewers had an issue with dry, crumbly dough, even after 2 hours of rest. But that was remedied with a few tablespoons of water while kneading to bring it all together. I made 1-inch gingerbread men and baked them for 6 minutes. They were a hit! Absolutely delicious; initial bite is firm/ crisp, and the inside is moist and chewy. Used royal icing to decorate. Will absolutely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      These cookies came out great! Made substituting in 1C. ww pastry flour and didn't use the lemon because I forgot to buy one at the store. I made the dough and kept it in the fridge for 3 days before baking on Christmas Eve. The dough was easy to work with and after two rounds in the oven I decided 6 minutes was the best cooking time. These cookies are definitely strongly spiced and are sure to please die hard gingerbread lovers. Used vanilla royal icing and red and green gel frosting to named cookies for seats at the dinner table.... brilliant!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      These cookies are wonderful - just like it says. I didn't have to change a thing - I thought the recipe is perfect as written. I used snowflake cookies cutters and piped royal icing on them and then dipped them in white sparkling sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      My first attempt at gingerbread, and it was much easier than I anticipated. I'm not a huge gingerbread fan, but these were really yummy. My tip would be, don't be shy about flouring your dough and rolling surface generously. My first pass was a little hard to handle, but after patting it repeatedly with flour it was a snap. Baked small stars and circles for eating with Pumpkin Pie Dip #25730 and it was awesome. The hit of the party, hands down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This makes EXTREMELY tasty gingerbread cookies that, as far as cookies go, are surprisingly low on the sugar content. Aside from never having lemons on hand to zest when making these, have made them several times & followed the recipe exactly each time with the same VERY irresistible results!<br/><br/>Notes & hints: <br/>- For those of you like myself who do not own a KitchenAid stand mixer, a basic hand mixer works fine for combining the butter, brown sugar & egg. (A little elbow grease will be needed to combine everything by hand at the end, but that is a small workout that can be used to justify eating one more cookie when done!) <br/><br/>- Follow the recipe to the letter, dividing the dough in half & letting both rest at room temperature for at least 2 hours as stated. Yes, the dough is a bit on the sticky side when all ingredients are first combined, but dividing it in half & letting it rest for a few hours allows it to dry slightly, resulting in a very workable "Play-doh"-like texture. <br/><br/>- Unlike several other reviewers who note sticking issues, have found on every occasion so far that the dough can be easily rolled out with minimal sprinkling of flour to keep it from sticking. (The key to this may be with allowing it to rest as noted above.) Have also easily rolled out, cut out, then transferred shapes to a parchment paper covered baking sheets with NO need to chill anything in the freezer first. <br/><br/>Very well done - this is sure to be a family favorite for years to come. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Loved this - thank you for posting - this is a keeper!<br/><br/>Just one little change - a tip from my Grandmother who learned it from one of the DuPont household cooks about 90 years ago ... when making gingerbread or gingerbread cookies, replace half of the regular shortening with bacon grease. And no, I am not kidding .... amaaaaazinnnnggggg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      By far and away the BEST Gingerbread cookies I've ever made. The last batch from a marathon day of Christmas cookie baking, I left Gingerbread dough in fridge overnight to roll out in the morning. Dough was firm but still very moist. It held up well with a well floured board and rolling pin though, no sticking and tolerant of scrap re-roll. I did not cook this on the stove, threw everything in my Kitchenaid mixer and it came out great. Dusted with powdered sugar, bomb-diggity good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Funny reading the other reviews. People either thought too much spice or not enough! I have a few gingerbread recipes saved in my main cookbook and I've been going thru them to find the one I like best. I feel that a gingerbread cookie should taste like GINGER... go figure! Otherwise just make a molasses cookie into shapes instead! :op I think I will keep this recipe as it has the best mix of molasses to ginger and a lower amount of butter than the others that I tried. I was intrigued by a suggestion to use maple syrup in place of molasses. I may try that sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is a FABULOUS recipe. I'm love how you can really adjust the thickness of the dough based on what you like, and they come out great no matter what. I used a pretty small cookie cutter, and it works great. It seems very difficult to mess these up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      These are excelent! they've come out just right every time I've made them, and they're perfect! Crisp on the outside, soft in the middle, not too sweet, with lits of gingery flavor 5 stars. Great for the holidays!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      They come runnin' just as fast as they can... cause every kid's crazy 'bout a Gingerbread Man!!After borrowing The Gingerbread Man from our local library, the kids needed one of their own, that didn't run too fast! Finally, a Gingerbread recipe that isn't *too* sweet nor *too* gingery - they are Just Right! Great even for small children, but still maintain that yummy gingery flavor. I made combined cookie sheets with very small cut-outs as well as big Gingerboys, a bit over 1/4" thick. The tiny stars came out just barely crisp and the boys soft on the inside and firm enough to "walk" (did I mention the small children?) at 7 minutes. Thanks for my new Gingerbread recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I LOVE spicy cookies, and this was my first attempt at proper gingerbread cookies. I have replaced the molasses with golden syrup and for some reason the cookies got eaten without being iced. Maybe next time...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This recipe produced such a soft, yummy gingerbread cookie!! I kept mine in the fridge for a couple of days until I was ready for it. The rolled out and baked beautifully. Once they were cooled, I dipped them in melted white chocolate - hubby was very happy!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is a great recipe. My grandaughters and I made gingerbread boys for Christmas and had such fun together decorating them. The dough is so easy to work with they had no problemj with rolling and cutting. The plus is they tasted really good. Everyone at our annual Christmas Eve party commented on how cute and how good they were. Thanks for sharing it with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (876 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 94.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes