300 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe!!

I followed it to the letter and no need to reduce the flour at all (I HARDLY TOUCHED THE DOUGH! ) thanks to THE BEST HINT i read from another user on food.com (either on this recipe or another one i am not sure):

*ROLL THE CHILLED DOUGH BETWEEN WAXED PAPER
*TAKE OFF THE TOP PAPER and CUT OUT THE SHAPES (puzzle like) WITHOUT MOVING OR HANDLING THE DOUGH AT ALL
*~PUT THE PAPER & DOUGH ON A BAKING SHEET IN THE FREEZER
*TAKE OUT AFTER 10 min AND THE SHAPES ARE SO EASY TO REMOVE WO BREAKING! ONTO A BAKING SHEET STRAIGHT INTO THE OVEN!

I did all kind of shapes even the mini stars came out perfect!! The taste was delicious!!

Many thanks for sharing this recipe!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rnam December 22, 2011

This is a great recipe for gingerbread cookie lovers; great ginger taste (a tablespoon had me sneezing for about a minute) which is the main reason why it gets my 4 stars. However on the second batch of cookie dough I did a little tinkering. The first batch I followed the recipe to the letter, but I think there is an issue of word usage in the directions. It says after adding the last bit of the dry ingredients to mix until dough is smooth. This dough will not be smooth but more like pie crust, so make sure you mix until well incorporated. It will be pretty much a heavy chunk of heavenly smelling dough that can easily divided to chill. Also with as much ginger this recipe calls for, keep in mind even after baking these cookies will have a strong ginger flavor which is great for gingerbread cookie lovers like myself, but be prepared for the non-fans. A nice coating of Royal Icing can help in this regaurd, or the traditional raisins. My second batch I reduced the amount of flour to 2 1/2 cups, and reduced the ginger by half. Since gingerbread is used for cut out cookies there is the risk of the dough becoming tough using the dusting of flour to keep it from sticking. There is already quite a bit of flour in the dough itself so you will need even less flour dusting than say with sugar cookie dough, however after repeated dusting and handling, reducing the cooking time won't help having a rather hard cookie after cooling. Using a half cup less flour there is room for dusting and handling no problem, but make sure you chill at the very least 3-4 hours and keep dough you're not using in the frige. Reducing the amount of ginger by half gives the cookie a more mild ginger flavor which appeals to children far better as well as those finicky "big kids" who want a more sweet cookie. Otherwise it's a great recipe for a traditional Christmas cookie making it well worth your time and love.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toots70 December 04, 2010

This recipe helped me through my first gingerbread cookie attempt, and even with the gluten free and vegan substitutions I made (Pamela's gluten-free baking mix for wheat flour, EarthBalance for butter, and Ener-G egg replacer for the egg), it was a definite winner! Perhaps it was the gluten-free flour I was using, but I had no problems with sticky dough, even though I waited less than two hours to prepare the cookies. The cookies came out soft, with perfectly puffed edges and crisp, golden bottoms.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klebbak November 05, 2010

I have made these cookies for our holiday trays for friends for the past two years. Everyone, including myself, seem to love them. I make batches of soft ones and then harder snappy ones. For the snappy ones, I just roll the dough a little thinner and bake two minutes longer. The little gingerbread men break right in half like a ginger snap. Very good for dipping in coffee too :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gayle gerber February 01, 2011

These were very easy to make, and my family gobbled them up. I only give 4 stars because I prefer a much spicier cookie. Next time I'll try doubling the cloves and adding chunks of crystalized ginger. Great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenzBeanz February 08, 2010

I haven't made this yet but want to save it with the 'handy hints' from Rnam. These are:ROLL THE CHILLED DOUGH BETWEEN WAXED PAPER
*TAKE OFF THE TOP PAPER and CUT OUT THE SHAPES (puzzle like) WITHOUT MOVING OR HANDLING THE DOUGH AT ALL
*~PUT THE PAPER & DOUGH ON A BAKING SHEET IN THE FREEZER
*TAKE OUT AFTER 10 min AND THE SHAPES ARE SO EASY TO REMOVE WO BREAKING! ONTO A BAKING SHEET STRAIGHT INTO THE OVEN!

They sound so good, can't wait to make them with my girls for Christmas!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 December 06, 2012

My first attempt at making gingerbread cookies. I, like other reviewers had an issue with dry, crumbly dough, even after 2 hours of rest. But that was remedied with a few tablespoons of water while kneading to bring it all together. I made 1-inch gingerbread men and baked them for 6 minutes. They were a hit! Absolutely delicious; initial bite is firm/ crisp, and the inside is moist and chewy. Used royal icing to decorate. Will absolutely make again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xxsimplysweetxx December 06, 2010

These cookies came out great! Made substituting in 1C. ww pastry flour and didn't use the lemon because I forgot to buy one at the store. I made the dough and kept it in the fridge for 3 days before baking on Christmas Eve. The dough was easy to work with and after two rounds in the oven I decided 6 minutes was the best cooking time. These cookies are definitely strongly spiced and are sure to please die hard gingerbread lovers. Used vanilla royal icing and red and green gel frosting to named cookies for seats at the dinner table.... brilliant!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove January 05, 2010

These cookies are wonderful - just like it says. I didn't have to change a thing - I thought the recipe is perfect as written. I used snowflake cookies cutters and piped royal icing on them and then dipped them in white sparkling sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 November 27, 2011

My first attempt at gingerbread, and it was much easier than I anticipated. I'm not a huge gingerbread fan, but these were really yummy. My tip would be, don't be shy about flouring your dough and rolling surface generously. My first pass was a little hard to handle, but after patting it repeatedly with flour it was a snap. Baked small stars and circles for eating with Pumpkin Pie Dip #25730 and it was awesome. The hit of the party, hands down!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitterstitcher October 04, 2010
The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies