Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Master Mix (Homemade Bisquick Substitute) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Master Mix (Homemade Bisquick Substitute)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2002

      Cindy Lynn, thank you, thank you, thank you! Bisquick is occasionally available in my country, but it's dairy (and expensive)! Lots of time I need the mix, but a non-dairy version. Thanks to you I can now make this with soy milk powder, and it works like a dream! This recipe is the closest clone I have seen so far, and I am already on my second batch! Impossible Hamburger Pie, here I come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      This is great Homemade Bisquick, Cindy Lynn! Very easy to mix up and it makes dandy pancakes! Love that it makes a whole lot. That way I won't run out for a day or two! Thanks a bunch for sharing. I appreciate it. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I gave this recipe 5 stars. I helped make this in my cooking class today. This was great stuff! We made biscuits out of this mix. My copy of the recipe is slightly different. My copy calls for 8 cups flour, 1/4 cup baking powder, 3 tbl sugar, 1 1/3 cup powdered milk, and 3/4 cup shortening. The salt is the same. In my class we used 6 cups white flour and 2 cups whole wheat flour. We also used butter flavored crisco. My recipe reads that this makes 10 cups. This keeps for 3 months in the refrigerator. Variations: Whole Wheat mix - Use 4 cups white flour mixed with 4 cups whole wheat flour. Replace the shortening - use 3/4 cup butter or margarine and replace salt to 2 tsp. or use 2/3 cup canola oil. Overall this is a great recipe. It made the best light biscuits. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      I have not tried this yet, but I would love to try an dmake it low fat (change sugar for Splenda, shortening for applesauce or something) any ideas on the shortening?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I never use bisquick, but have liked the idea of having a baking mix on hand. I have only used this for pancakes, but they were really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I just realized that I haven't rated this yet. I've made several batches. I omit the powdered milk due to allergies. Don't know how to get soy powder but haven't missed the milk. I just use milk alternative when I whip up a batch of biscuits. I also use homemade baking powder since I'm sensitive to corn and it has still worked out great. Personal preference is to add more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I would love the recipes that you use this with: waffles, pancakes, biscuits, etc. I would love to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I make this all the time! My DH loves to make pancakes with it, and prefers it to store bought Bisquick. The pancakes taste delicious. I keep it in an air tight container in the cupboard, rather than the freezer. My kids love waffles made with this mix and a dash of cinnamon. 2 tools that really come in handy for this recipe are an adjustable measuring cup for the shortening (just pop it out) and a shortening cutter with blades rather than wires. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This is a great recipe...I am on a low sodium diet so I substituted sodium free baking powder and ALSO butter flavored salt substitute for the salt. The butter flavored shortning is a great idea.... I am going to try some of the impossible pies with this that I have been missing. Thanks....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I found this similar one elseware, and I think it is the best! It makes the waffles even better than the commercial version, and I use butter-flavored shortening for more flavor. This does have a short shelf life, so I make it in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      made up half the mixture after using bisquick in the USA (on holidays) and last night I used it for a chicken pot pie, and it was superb!! I cant wait to try more bisqick recipes with it, thanks for a REAL keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Great deal! I made this with these alterations: 1/2 the flour as whole wheat, sugar as xylitol, and shortning as coconut oil. Came out great and I used it in the Copycat Red Lobster's Cheddar Biscuits recipe, Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This was better than the store bought Bisquick and it was so easy to make. I would give it more than 5 stars if possible. Since I had never tried it I changed the serving size to 1 cup. In the future I will make a larger batch. I made 2 changes. I used powdered Buttermilk and I used Safflower Oil (which is similar to Olive Oil) instead of the shortening in an attempt to make it a little healthier. Thank you so much for posting. I'll be making it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I thought that I'd already reviewed this recipe but I must have forgotten to do so! I've mixed it up several times over the last couple of years for use in my Red Lobster's Cheddar Biscuits #54657. Its quick, easy & economical. I make it even quicker by using my food processor. Thanx Cindy Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      I used this recipe in Country Lady's copycat Red Lobster biscuit recipe. This is so easy to use and works great. I will use it again in other recipes for sure. Thanks for your good work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2004

    • on August 16, 2003

      Auntie Cindy, I'm praying for you and hoping you are in good health and out of the hospital into your beautiful home and between your daughters very soon. I've never been able to get Bisquick here in Oman. Thank you for posting this. I've halved the recipe and made it today. I'll be using it in the next couple of days and when I do that, I'll update this review. Thanks a tonne, once again! May God heal you back to great health very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Master Mix (Homemade Bisquick Substitute)

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 785.9
     
    Calories from Fat 375
    47%
    Total Fat 41.7 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1159.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.7 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites