29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FINALLY, FINALLY, FINALLY a red sauce that isn't bland, tastes nothing like a red sauce should taste and doesn't have a bitter flavor! I have been trying red sauce recipes for years and now I can stop looking. This sauce is great. I made it exactly as written and did not use any cayenne as my husband is pretty wimpy when it comes to heat. The next time I will use Mexican oregano because I have it and want to see if there is any noticeable difference. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulaporter November 18, 2014

Wish I could give this 10 stars!! I am a stickler for authentic Mexican food and for being so easy this tastes pretty darn authentic. My whole family loves this recipe. It freezes very well. I triple the recipe and freeze the left overs. The cocoa powder really is key...it doesn't make it taste sweet, you can't taste it really at all. It just give it a delicious richness. TIP: the longer you simmer it the better it tastes, gives all the seasoning and flavors time to really blend together. I add extra cayenne to my husband's and mine because we like it extra spicy. I have tried SOOOO many different enchilada recipes and this one is AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DNP1983 November 07, 2014

This is absolutely the best red sauce I have ever used or made. <br/>Changes are: <br/>Fresh Garlic 1 clove crushed Personal Preference <br/>1 Teaspoon Ground Cumin<br/>Chili powder I use 1 Tbsp. Hot, 2 Tbsp. mild or Reg. Chili Powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etrawick May 22, 2014

I liked this recipe but next time I will make it with a lot more heat. It tasted almost smoky, not at all spicy. Definitely need to kick up the heat for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover January 26, 2014

This is a great enchilada sauce recipe! So much better than anything you can buy in the store. I added a 1/4 t. of cumin and Penzy's Adobo seasoning. It tastes better after letting it sit for a while. Tastes like enchilada sauce from an authentic Mexican restaurant. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 09, 2013

This is a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tgolan1008 July 20, 2013

I made this for the first time today and I must say it was delish. I didn't have any cocoa powder so I grated bakers unsweetened chocolate and substituted canned petite diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I also used 1 tbs of ancho chili powder in place of 1 tbs of the chili powder. It turned out wonderful. Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurarose September 22, 2012

I made this once as written. After a search for a real good recipes to do. And with resulted in other similar recipes, I decided I wanted to create something unique a great base recipe and easy to modify depending on your tastes.. It may be a stretch to call my creation, but the result was a meal the whole family will liked. MY was Not better, not worse, just different! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 17, 2012

This has a really nice flavor. Plenty of chile with an extra depth from the cocoa. However, it was a bit thin for me. I would start with 2 cups of water and add more as needed, although it does not suffer from simply simmering down to the desired thickness. Because my tomatoes were a bit on the acidic side, I needed a pinch of sugar to balance the flavors. It was a good complement to sweet potato/black bean enchiladas. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle July 20, 2011

This was simple to make, everyone LOVED it!!! I will never need to buy enchilada sauce at the store again, yipee :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Girl February 08, 2011
The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need