32 Reviews

I just made this and this is my first recipe review because it was that good. I was so skeptical about this recipe but this is the best enchilada sauce I have EVER tasted. Period. My daughter said it tastes like restaurant quality, I say it tastes like the red sauce I always wish I had more of on my plate. I added a touch of cayenne (we like it spicy) and used cacao powder (didn't have cocoa...). This was so easy and I have no idea how just a few ingredients can turn into this luxurious sauce that has a lot of depth and flavor. And no, the author did NOT send me anything for free in exchange for this review. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willop January 17, 2016

I was somewhat dubious about this recipe, however after reading all the rave reviews I thought I would give it a go. And I am so glad that I did!! OMG! It was fabulous! It had just the right amount of spice and even though the recipe called for garlic salt, all I had on hand was garlic powder and it still turned out great! I was really skeptical about the cocoa but everything worked really well and the flavor was just delicious! Thank you so much and I will definitely be adding this to my regular routine when cooking Mexican dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgardner302 May 29, 2015

DELICIOUS! EASY! My entire family loved this recipe. I made it as displayed and wouldn't change a thing. The chili powder added a little spice (my 12 yr old daughter loved it) but not too much. It's more of a combo mole/red sauce with the cocoa powder addition (which is a must!). This is my new go to red sauce! Try it... you won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjlittl January 11, 2015

FINALLY, FINALLY, FINALLY a red sauce that isn't bland, tastes nothing like a red sauce should taste and doesn't have a bitter flavor! I have been trying red sauce recipes for years and now I can stop looking. This sauce is great. I made it exactly as written and did not use any cayenne as my husband is pretty wimpy when it comes to heat. The next time I will use Mexican oregano because I have it and want to see if there is any noticeable difference. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulaporter November 18, 2014

Wish I could give this 10 stars!! I am a stickler for authentic Mexican food and for being so easy this tastes pretty darn authentic. My whole family loves this recipe. It freezes very well. I triple the recipe and freeze the left overs. The cocoa powder really is key...it doesn't make it taste sweet, you can't taste it really at all. It just give it a delicious richness. TIP: the longer you simmer it the better it tastes, gives all the seasoning and flavors time to really blend together. I add extra cayenne to my husband's and mine because we like it extra spicy. I have tried SOOOO many different enchilada recipes and this one is AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DNP1983 November 07, 2014

This is absolutely the best red sauce I have ever used or made. <br/>Changes are: <br/>Fresh Garlic 1 clove crushed Personal Preference <br/>1 Teaspoon Ground Cumin<br/>Chili powder I use 1 Tbsp. Hot, 2 Tbsp. mild or Reg. Chili Powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etrawick May 22, 2014

I liked this recipe but next time I will make it with a lot more heat. It tasted almost smoky, not at all spicy. Definitely need to kick up the heat for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover January 26, 2014

This is a great enchilada sauce recipe! So much better than anything you can buy in the store. I added a 1/4 t. of cumin and Penzy's Adobo seasoning. It tastes better after letting it sit for a while. Tastes like enchilada sauce from an authentic Mexican restaurant. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 09, 2013

This is a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tgolan1008 July 20, 2013

I made this for the first time today and I must say it was delish. I didn't have any cocoa powder so I grated bakers unsweetened chocolate and substituted canned petite diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I also used 1 tbs of ancho chili powder in place of 1 tbs of the chili powder. It turned out wonderful. Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurarose September 22, 2012
The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need