Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I've made it exactly like it says and it came out great! I now cut the recipe in half & it comes out great too! I just made it tonight and since I've had a cold I added some adobo seasoning from Penzey's Spices & it was so awesome. Everyone raved at how it tasted like they were at a Mexican restaurant! This recipe is so easy & it just tastes so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      You saved the day with your recipe! I had just dumped out a recipe that called for roasting dry peppers and making an enchilada sauce. It was very bitter and my meat was cooked so I was committed to make enchiladas so I came across your recipe. I added a teaspoon of cumin and cut the water to 2 cups and used a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I used 2T of regular chili powder and 1T of chipotle chili powder which made it smokey and spicey. Very nice and flavorful. I will use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I have been lurking on this site for some time and haven't submitted a review.This sauce is the straw that broke the camels back. I used Alton browns chili powder recipe to add to this sauce. Came out with loads of flavor!This is got to be the best enchilada sauce i have had! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      First of all, MMMMMM! Don't let the fact that only 20 reviews have come in on this recipe fool you. It's fully 5-stars and amazing. Stop reading the reviews and make this. Even my kids licked their plates and asked me to make this again. Wow. This is even better than any restaurant sauce I've had. Nicely done, Jamie Renee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Yep, this one's a 5-star winner. This was so good I don't think I can ever go back to canned enchilada sauce again. Cocoa powder does something magical to Mexican sauces and cooking - try it in chili too! Used only 1 T. of chili powder because I didn't think my Little could handle the kicked up spice. Since I didn't want to lose the flavor, I did add about 1 t. of smoked paprika which wasn't a bad substitute and still carried a hint of the chili powder's smokiness. Next time I'll try a double batch and see if it freezes. We made this as the sauce for Chicken Enchiladas and enjoyed every bite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Delicious! I used 1/2 chili powder & 1/2 "Arizona Dreaming" spice blend from Penzey's. Straight to my keeper file, and looking forward to doing a huge batch next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I have NEVER posted a review online but this sauce compelled me to. It's fabulous. I always make double. Yesterday I substituted a can of La Costena Chipotle Peppers in Adobe Sauce for 1 of the 8oz tomato sauce. Puree it in your mini chopper/dump that into the other 8oz can tomato sauce. Try it on tamales/You'll see what I mean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is a great sauce. so easy to do. I made half the recipe to use in Vegetable Chicken Enchiladas. Thanks Jamie :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I make this at least once a week and it comes out great every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      FINALLY, FINALLY, FINALLY a red sauce that isn't bland, tastes nothing like a red sauce should taste and doesn't have a bitter flavor! I have been trying red sauce recipes for years and now I can stop looking. This sauce is great. I made it exactly as written and did not use any cayenne as my husband is pretty wimpy when it comes to heat. The next time I will use Mexican oregano because I have it and want to see if there is any noticeable difference. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      Wish I could give this 10 stars!! I am a stickler for authentic Mexican food and for being so easy this tastes pretty darn authentic. My whole family loves this recipe. It freezes very well. I triple the recipe and freeze the left overs. The cocoa powder really is key...it doesn't make it taste sweet, you can't taste it really at all. It just give it a delicious richness. TIP: the longer you simmer it the better it tastes, gives all the seasoning and flavors time to really blend together. I add extra cayenne to my husband's and mine because we like it extra spicy. I have tried SOOOO many different enchilada recipes and this one is AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      This is absolutely the best red sauce I have ever used or made. <br/>Changes are: <br/>Fresh Garlic 1 clove crushed Personal Preference <br/>1 Teaspoon Ground Cumin<br/>Chili powder I use 1 Tbsp. Hot, 2 Tbsp. mild or Reg. Chili Powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I liked this recipe but next time I will make it with a lot more heat. It tasted almost smoky, not at all spicy. Definitely need to kick up the heat for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      This is a great enchilada sauce recipe! So much better than anything you can buy in the store. I added a 1/4 t. of cumin and Penzy's Adobo seasoning. It tastes better after letting it sit for a while. Tastes like enchilada sauce from an authentic Mexican restaurant. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      I made this for the first time today and I must say it was delish. I didn't have any cocoa powder so I grated bakers unsweetened chocolate and substituted canned petite diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I also used 1 tbs of ancho chili powder in place of 1 tbs of the chili powder. It turned out wonderful. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I made this once as written. After a search for a real good recipes to do. And with resulted in other similar recipes, I decided I wanted to create something unique a great base recipe and easy to modify depending on your tastes.. It may be a stretch to call my creation, but the result was a meal the whole family will liked. MY was Not better, not worse, just different! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This has a really nice flavor. Plenty of chile with an extra depth from the cocoa. However, it was a bit thin for me. I would start with 2 cups of water and add more as needed, although it does not suffer from simply simmering down to the desired thickness. Because my tomatoes were a bit on the acidic side, I needed a pinch of sugar to balance the flavors. It was a good complement to sweet potato/black bean enchiladas. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This was simple to make, everyone LOVED it!!! I will never need to buy enchilada sauce at the store again, yipee :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe. I used it for my first time EVER making enchiladas but my third time making red sauce. This is really the last recipe I will ever need for red sauce! The only thing is after it is done, I tasted it and felt like it was lacking something for me, a certain flavor... so now after I add the tomato sauce, I now also add black pepper to taste and squeeze in half a lemon to give a little bit of zing to it. I love the flavor it adds and for me, that little addition is what makes it edible by the spoonful for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 36.4
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    18%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 279.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes