29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVE this recipe! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I've made it exactly like it says and it came out great! I now cut the recipe in half & it comes out great too! I just made it tonight and since I've had a cold I added some adobo seasoning from Penzey's Spices & it was so awesome. Everyone raved at how it tasted like they were at a Mexican restaurant! This recipe is so easy & it just tastes so good!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmlove101 January 01, 2011

You saved the day with your recipe! I had just dumped out a recipe that called for roasting dry peppers and making an enchilada sauce. It was very bitter and my meat was cooked so I was committed to make enchiladas so I came across your recipe. I added a teaspoon of cumin and cut the water to 2 cups and used a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I used 2T of regular chili powder and 1T of chipotle chili powder which made it smokey and spicey. Very nice and flavorful. I will use it again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA January 20, 2010

I have been lurking on this site for some time and haven't submitted a review.This sauce is the straw that broke the camels back. I used Alton browns chili powder recipe to add to this sauce. Came out with loads of flavor!This is got to be the best enchilada sauce i have had! Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xacex January 01, 2010

First of all, MMMMMM! Don't let the fact that only 20 reviews have come in on this recipe fool you. It's fully 5-stars and amazing. Stop reading the reviews and make this. Even my kids licked their plates and asked me to make this again. Wow. This is even better than any restaurant sauce I've had. Nicely done, Jamie Renee.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fancy Cake Lady December 27, 2012

Yep, this one's a 5-star winner. This was so good I don't think I can ever go back to canned enchilada sauce again. Cocoa powder does something magical to Mexican sauces and cooking - try it in chili too! Used only 1 T. of chili powder because I didn't think my Little could handle the kicked up spice. Since I didn't want to lose the flavor, I did add about 1 t. of smoked paprika which wasn't a bad substitute and still carried a hint of the chili powder's smokiness. Next time I'll try a double batch and see if it freezes. We made this as the sauce for Chicken Enchiladas and enjoyed every bite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildLime December 31, 2012

Delicious! I used 1/2 chili powder & 1/2 "Arizona Dreaming" spice blend from Penzey's. Straight to my keeper file, and looking forward to doing a huge batch next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne June 11, 2012

I have NEVER posted a review online but this sauce compelled me to. It's fabulous. I always make double. Yesterday I substituted a can of La Costena Chipotle Peppers in Adobe Sauce for 1 of the 8oz tomato sauce. Puree it in your mini chopper/dump that into the other 8oz can tomato sauce. Try it on tamales/You'll see what I mean.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glocan January 02, 2012

This is a great sauce. so easy to do. I made half the recipe to use in Vegetable Chicken Enchiladas. Thanks Jamie :) Made for Cookbook tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 26, 2011

I make this at least once a week and it comes out great every time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli February 25, 2011

DELICIOUS! EASY! My entire family loved this recipe. I made it as displayed and wouldn't change a thing. The chili powder added a little spice (my 12 yr old daughter loved it) but not too much. It's more of a combo mole/red sauce with the cocoa powder addition (which is a must!). This is my new go to red sauce! Try it... you won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjlittl January 11, 2015
The Last Red Enchilada Sauce You'll Need