Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Lady's Macaroni and Cheese - Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Lady's Macaroni and Cheese - Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2010

      nothing less than 5 stars, this is rich and very creamy, the only changes I made was I added in 1 teaspoon of onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, mine was hot and bubbly baked in a convection oven in 25 minutes, great recipe thanks for sharing Sus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Didn't enjoy this macaroni much at all. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed with the results. Not creamy or gooey or cheesy or anything. Isn't macaroni supposed to be creamy and gooey and cheesy? This macaroni had the exact same texture as eggs..I like eggs but mac and cheese should never be eggy; i could barely eat it without gagging..also it was very bland and didn't even taste like it had cheese in it. I will never make this again, sorry Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      DH and I love this. I think the sour cream gives it just that bit of kick it needs. That said, this is NOT a smooth and creamy mac and cheese. If that is your preference, this recipe is not for you. We liked the way each ingredient stands out and adds to the whole and are not big fans of really creamy (mushy in my mind - sorry!) mac and cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Why do people alter the recipe then complain about it? This very good prepared to the instructions. At 600 calories per serving it will make for enormous rear ends and bellies if made too often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      This is BAKED macaroni and cheese. The eggs are SUPPOSE to curdle. It's not the Velveeta and flour version so frequently found up north.<br/><br/>This is the type of Mac & Cheese you find in thousands of Southern meat and three's, Wednesday night suppers, and soul food kitchens.<br/><br/>If you want the gloppy, fake cheese food products and flour sauce style, look elsewhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Just like my grandmother used to make! I sprinkled more cheese on top of mine, absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Easy and cheesy good mac and cheese! Made as written and everyone liked it. I added a little extra salt and pepper, next time may also add some onion or garlic powder. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      As there are only two of us, I halved the recipe (and used 2 eggs). It turned out well, although a little bland even with the addition of cut-up smoky links. After reading other reviews and looking at their additions, it sounds like an easy fix. Overall a tasty mac-n-cheese (and easy too)--thanks CoffeeB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Macaroni & cheese is one recipe that there are so many variations of so it's always fun to try a new one. I made as directed with subtle changes (just 2 eggs, added 1 Tbsp ground mustard and a some fresh ground pepper). I agree with some reviewers that it could be a bit cheesier, so if I make it again, I will double the cheese (and extra cup in the mix, and another one on top before baking). Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      I really enjoyed this. I added a few things: a little extra sour cream, probably a little more cheese (I didn't measure it carefully), ground mustard, dried onion and a can of tuna. I thought it was absolutely delicious and would like to try other variations, different cheeses and other meats and vegetables. This recipe is very simple to put together and very versatile! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This mac and cheese recipe was pretty good. I added minced onions and cayenne pepper which really brought out the flavor. I may try mixing cheeses next time. Maybe some swiss and sharp cheddar. I like a lot of flavor and without the extras it can be pretty bland. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Kind of bland. If I make it again, I'll add some dry mustard and maybe some hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Ultimate comfort food! After reading the other reviews, I used extra sharp cheddar (self-grated, always), added a little cayenne and ground mustard, topped with a little panko and paprika. Excellent! I used a deeper dish than it looks from the photos, and I liked the resulting height. Took 40 min. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This response is for "Sugarpea" I made this recipe exactly as written,baked it immediately, and the eggs in it still curdled.It must be a frequent problem,because I heard "Paula" address it on her show. She seemed puzzled by it,and didn't really have a solution for the curdeling. Needless to say, I didn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Very good! Just what I was looking for. I followed the directions exactly and used Amish New York-style Sharp Cheddar. Put about another cup over top. Baked for 30 minutes, then put the broiler on low, set the pan on middle rack and broiled for 5 minutes. Perfection! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this and my family loved it!! I added extra sour cream and two diffrant types of chesse,Bread crumbs on top! My husband and kid ate the whole tray...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I almost didn't try this due to the negative reviews on the same recipe posted by someone else. I'm very impressed by this dish and so happy I made it. I totally agree with LonghornMama about using good cheese that you grate yourself. The pre-shredded cheese is processed cheese food not real cheese. The greasiness mentioned comes from using processed cheese food. In my house, we call it plastic cheese. It's ok for topping tacos, potatoes etc. but I don't like cooking with it. BTW, I followed this exactly as written, adding more cheese on top for the last 10 minutes. My family loved it and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I made this for a friendly get together and everybody loved it. This is a southern mac and cheese recipe so if you like it from a box you won't like this. We loved it, so thank you, Elaine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Made for KK's Kitchen Tag Game. I Love Paula Deen and anything credited to her I have got to try, and I am not sorry here. This was wonderfully delicious and not greasy at all. I did add the extra cheese on top which added even more to the wondeful cheesy flavor. The only thing I will change next time is instead of using a Medium Cheddar I will be sure to use a Sharp Cheddar as we like the stronger flavor of this. Thank you dear for a keeper in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This is the only mac and cheese I make for my family. I use a high-fiber pasta (Ronzoni elbow macaroni or rotini, which ever one I can find at the store) and whole milk. My kids love it, but it isn't AT ALL like a creamy stove-top mac and cheese. Try it! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Lady's Macaroni and Cheese - Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.1
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    44%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.9 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 168.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 570.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes