63 Reviews

nothing less than 5 stars, this is rich and very creamy, the only changes I made was I added in 1 teaspoon of onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, mine was hot and bubbly baked in a convection oven in 25 minutes, great recipe thanks for sharing Sus!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 16, 2010

Didn't enjoy this macaroni much at all. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed with the results. Not creamy or gooey or cheesy or anything. Isn't macaroni supposed to be creamy and gooey and cheesy? This macaroni had the exact same texture as eggs..I like eggs but mac and cheese should never be eggy; i could barely eat it without gagging..also it was very bland and didn't even taste like it had cheese in it. I will never make this again, sorry Paula!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS January 08, 2008

Macaroni & cheese is one recipe that there are so many variations of so it's always fun to try a new one. I made as directed with subtle changes (just 2 eggs, added 1 Tbsp ground mustard and a some fresh ground pepper). I agree with some reviewers that it could be a bit cheesier, so if I make it again, I will double the cheese (and extra cup in the mix, and another one on top before baking). Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu September 09, 2011

DH and I love this. I think the sour cream gives it just that bit of kick it needs. That said, this is NOT a smooth and creamy mac and cheese. If that is your preference, this recipe is not for you. We liked the way each ingredient stands out and adds to the whole and are not big fans of really creamy (mushy in my mind - sorry!) mac and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws February 13, 2008

I have made this many times...but with a few changes. I fully double the cheese and sour cream. I also reduce the egg to one. I add 1 tsp onion powder and 1 T powdered chicken stock.....and I add a 1/2 c. Grated parmasean to the noodles. SO much yummier than the original! Give it a try. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 25, 2015

Why do people alter the recipe then complain about it? This very good prepared to the instructions. At 600 calories per serving it will make for enormous rear ends and bellies if made too often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray G. July 10, 2014

This is BAKED macaroni and cheese. The eggs are SUPPOSE to curdle. It's not the Velveeta and flour version so frequently found up north.<br/><br/>This is the type of Mac & Cheese you find in thousands of Southern meat and three's, Wednesday night suppers, and soul food kitchens.<br/><br/>If you want the gloppy, fake cheese food products and flour sauce style, look elsewhere.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bkhuna May 10, 2014

Just like my grandmother used to make! I sprinkled more cheese on top of mine, absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef March 08, 2014

Easy and cheesy good mac and cheese! Made as written and everyone liked it. I added a little extra salt and pepper, next time may also add some onion or garlic powder. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH May 21, 2012

As there are only two of us, I halved the recipe (and used 2 eggs). It turned out well, although a little bland even with the addition of cut-up smoky links. After reading other reviews and looking at their additions, it sounds like an easy fix. Overall a tasty mac-n-cheese (and easy too)--thanks CoffeeB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 09, 2012
The Lady's Macaroni and Cheese - Paula Deen