Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Lady's Chicken Noodle Soup - Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Lady's Chicken Noodle Soup - Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      This reminds me of the way my grandmother made chicken noodle soup. I did this in two steps--made the stock and deboned the chicken, chilled the stock in the refrigerator and then removed the fat that settled at the top. Next day, I made made the soup. This has such wonderful flavor and would be good anytime, but especially when you feel blah. This is a great recipe-Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is the BEST Chicken noodle soup ever! Definitely don't hold out on that cream and parmesan--it really makes this a dish to rave about. Also, I use 1 package of the frozen egg noodles for this--the brand we have here is "Grandma's." The frozen noodles are WAY better and truly taste homemade. This is an outstanding 10-star soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Really great. I did make some changes: 1) used 3 skinless/boneless chicken breasts 2) only used 2 pkgs. of chicken bouillon 3) only removed bay leaves from stock 4) skipped mushrooms, cream and cheese. Took just over an hour (was in a hurry) and made a terrific healthy lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I have been making these for a few years. I have made it more times then I can count- for people that are sick, for potlucks, for families with new babies, etc. It is always a huge hit and they always ask for the recipe. Most proclaim it to be the best chicken noodle soup they have ever had. It's really that good. This is the one of the only recipes that I follow almost exactly (with the exception of seasoning to taste) and I always add the cream and cheese. This with a good piece of bread and a simple salad makes a fabulous meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This was the best soup I've ever made! I make chicken soup almost once a a week and used the ingredients in the stock to make this recipe in the traditional stock-making method (bones, a little vinegar, several hours of simmering). I didn't use the parm or cream this time, but will definitely try it next time. I also used dried herbs and omitted the mushrooms. Thanks for posting! ETA: I made it with parm and cream this time and while it was very good, I think the large amount of parm upset my 18mo DD's stomach, so next time I'll skip it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Fabulous! This was just what we all needed, a good thick soup on a cold night.Thick and creamy. This makes a huge batch and we had no leftovers. I used Turkey instead of chicken to use up leftovers and we left out the mushrooms but otherwise followed the recipe, the cheese and cream took it to a whole new lever. we loved it, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      My 3-year-old son and I are both under the weather, and we both loved this (DH did, too). I made it exactly as written except that I omitted the mushrooms. It's pretty labor intensive, but the results are worth the effort. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      The version of this soup in my Paula Deen cookbook does not call for mushrooms or rosemary. So I made it without those two things, and I also did not use the cheese or cream. "The Lady" suggests leaving these out if you want to cut calories. This recipe is completely amazing. I used about 3/4 tsp. kosher salt and about 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper in the stock. Plus, I added 1 tsp. sugar to the stock. Otherwise, I followed the recipe EXACTLY! Yum, yum, yum. Why would you EVER buy canned chicken noodle soup?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      While I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I used it as a starting point for my own soup. Yum! I used the given amounts for the veggies but added the left over meat from a large roasted chicken from yesterday's dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This was good but I wasn't enamored with it. I opted to go with the parmesan cheese and the cream. The parm was just too much for our tastes. It wasn't bad, but it just wasn't the taste we were expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Divine. The cream and sherry is what REALLY makes this soup. Absolutely perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      My sister made this for our Christmas Day dinner. She made it with the cheese and cream and we served in sourdough bread bowls. This soup was fabulous! Updated: I have made this soup several times since my original post. I have used my own frozen chicken stock and store bought roasted chicken with huge success and that is a real time saver. If you want a hearty thoroughly filling soup, don't skimp on the cream and cheese. Half 'n half works OK - it IS creamy, but the heavy cream really makes this soup outstanding. Highly recommend this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I never thought I would find a chicken noodle soup recipe better than mom's homemade...but...this is amazing. If I could give it 10 stars I would. I followed the directions to the 'T'. Don't skip on the parm or the cream...it takes this soup to the next level. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Fantastic and creamy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Wow! This is one fantastic chicken noodle soup recipe. And I agree with the other reviewer, this was really easy for homemade. I did omit the sherry, cream as well as the parmesan. For the stock, I added extra cut up carrot and celery for added flavor. I definitely plan on replacing the stock recipe with my previous favorite. I did find it a bit salty, so I may reduce the chicken cubes to 2. But otherwise, this was SO good and so comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Yum. This was perfect. Easy and didn't really take so long for making soup from scratch! The lemon-pepper really gives it great flavor too. I only had a cornish hen, so I adjusted the recipe (by about 1/2). I added a bit of celery seeds for the stock, omitted the heavy cream, parmesan, and didn't have cooking sherry so I used dry white wine instead, didn't have fresh parsley or fresh rosemary so I used dried. Luckily I had some brown and white mushrooms on hand, they soak up all the flavor of the soup and are so good! Make sure you adjust seasonings (salt and pepper) to taste at the end. Just made it tonight for my hubs who has a horrible cold and cough and he says it made him feel much better. Next time I make it (not for a sick person) I will have to try the cream and parmesan cheese everyone is raving about! Thanks for posting, I'm a huge fan of Paula Deen's recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I thought this soup was fabulous! I only had chicken tenders on hand, but followed the rest of the recipe including the cream and parmesan cheese and it was heavenly! I will be making this again, VERY soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I have been making this soup for a couple of years now. It is by far the best chicken noodle soup ever. Everytime I make it I am always asked for the recipe. Easy to make and good enough to get rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      FANTASTIC!!!! We all enjoyed this soup to the very last drop! I did add an extra bouillon cube, and some poultry seasoning to mine. I also threw in some yellow squash and peas...fabulous!! Thanks for sharing this here, so I can always find it. We will certainly make it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Excellent! I had to improvise a bit, as our rural store is closed on Sundays, but it turned out great. I had leave out the sherry and mushrooms. I also didn't have fresh herbs, so I used dried. I didn't have lemon pepper, so I added some pepper and a splash of lemon juice. I did add one more bouillon cube as I thought the stock was a bit bland, and that jazzed it up to where I needed it. I was skeptical about the cream & parmesan, but it was amazing how much better it was with it. It really makes the difference between just okay and excellent soup. Thanks DiScarf & Paula Deen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Lady's Chicken Noodle Soup - Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (595 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.0
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    47%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 116.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 432.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes