Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Lady and Sons Okra and Tomatoes ( Paula Deen ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Lady and Sons Okra and Tomatoes ( Paula Deen )

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2014

      The whole family enjoyed this. From the okra haters to the okra lovers. And not too hard to put together

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Very good!! Made numerous times to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This was very good and it was enjoyed by even my "cautious" vegetable eater, my son. I think next time I will omit the sugar as I didn't use fresh okra, had to use frozen. This was similar to what my mom used to fix with fresh okra. Thanks, Brenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I loved this dish! I added some Cayenne, used sausage instead of the bacon, with a few dashes of smoke flavoring and added brown rice because I wanted to stretch the recipe for a family reunion! Excellent flavor and will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Absolutely delish. I used smoked sausage instead of bacon. Wow, I can eat this everyday. Thank you for showing me how to like Okra Barb!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This is the best okra and tomatoes my family has had! There isn't much to it, but it's the perfect combination for a really hearty side dish. I use pre-cooked bacon so there isn't a lot of fat in it, but it still gets the flavor of the bacon. Sometimes it needs a little more liquid so I add a can of tomato juice or sauce if I have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Made this weekend for our Derby Dinner party and it was the hit of the meal, even with frozen okra! Slight variation: sauteed the onion/garlic then added one jar of Hormel real bacon pieces to the tomato mix. MUCH easier, same bacon flavor! Instead of simmering the tomato mix and adding okra later, I put the frozen okra right on top of the tomatoes and let the heat from them steam the okra. The okra stayed crisp and the flavor was great! Guests had seconds and raved. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was delicious! The only thing I did differently was that I used sausage instead of bacon (started making the recipe and then realized the bacon I had was going bad). The sausage worked great though. I made this as a side dish with brown rice. This was oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Simple recipe. Great flavor. I replaced the chicken base with ham base to give it a little more complex flavor. Don't forget to add the Tabasco!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I LOVED this dish!! I used turkey bacon instead of pork. I've never been a big fan of okra -- but this recipe converted me. SOOO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Amazing! Like Momma used to make! DH really likes it too, though he had only had fried okra before today. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      DELICIOUS! I had lots of okra so I made 2 batches of this recipe-1 as written and the 2nd, I wanted a little spicy so I added some Worcestershire sauce, celery salt, and McCormicks cajun seasoning. Both ways turned out wonderful. Thank you for posting a great recipe, Barb!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Oh man... this was good... I serve mine over rice, like a thick soup, I hadn't had this in years... yuuuummmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Leave it up to Paula for a good recipe. I've made this twice. It's very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      very good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      Delicious! I did substitute bacon bits for the bacon. I just put some in with the garlic and onions. I halved the recipe and it turned out fabulous! I served this with Salmon with Ginger Glaze and Spicy Onion Rings. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Lady and Sons Okra and Tomatoes ( Paula Deen )

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.9
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    33%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 97.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes