Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Lady and Sons Lasagna ( Paula Deen ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Lady and Sons Lasagna ( Paula Deen )

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2011

      I made this for my boyfriend last night and he loved it. It was my first time making lasagna, so there are a few things I learned in the process. First, the sauce was runny, so I do recommend the cornstarch and water. Second, I had to turn up the heat the last five minutes to get the crusty top that I like. I recommend letting it set for 20 min after it comes out of the oven, because that let it set. Overall great lasagna though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Sorry, I just did not like this. Something about the texture and taste of cream chese in lasagna, was terribly off-putting, almost nauseating and I could not eat it. And I usually love cream chese. Just not it this lasagna, apparently.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Seven different types of cheese seems a completely unneccessary complication.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This lasagna is great. We loved the different cheeses in it. Fairly easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I thought this lasagna was sooo delicious. I read all the reviews prior to making it. I used 14 1/2 oz of tomatoes and tomatoe sauce. That is the size cans. I also mixed the cream cheese into the meat mixture. I chose cottage cheese over ricotta this time. I also put in more garlic. Everything else the same. But this was absolutely delicious. Everyone truly enjoyed it. I will be making this lasagna again. I found it fun and easy to make. It's great because it can be made ahead of time. I also baked it for one hour covered. Such perfection if I say so myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This lasagna is absolutely amazing. I added italian turkey sausage to the ground beef and I used ricotta cheese. This was definitely a hit in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      this is now my go to Lasagna recipe. Absolutely incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      to die for lasagna, next time i'll try some of the additions that were suggested

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Very very good, I added 1 cup chopped zucchini. It is great as leftovers too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I've been waiting for an opportunity to make this and my dinner party was just the occasion. I made the sauce two days in advance. I had a moment of panic when I checked on the lasagna and it was bubbling up runny juices (and kicked myself that I didn't add the extra cornstarch and water)but upon resting it did absorb and turned out to have a perfect texture! This cut great and surprisingly didn't taste too rich (with all that cheese) but a perfect blend.It's different from other lasagnas in that it does not taste too thick with tomato sauce. My guests loved it and I knew I had chosen a perfect dish. This lasagna was to die for and the only one I'll be making from now on.Thanks for posting Pianolady! UPDATE: this freezes great (thaw in fridge. before baking) and no-boil noodles work just as good! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This was GREAT! I left out the cream cheese and used all tomato sauce instead of the diced tomatoes. It was sooo good. I was afraid it would be too cheesy but it was perfect. Next time I might add some spinach too! Oh and I used Ricotta and no sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I made this lasagna after seeing it on Paula Deen's show, and it seriously rocks! It's the cream and gruyere cheeses that make this dish. Thanks for posting; now I'll never lose the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Cheese, cheese, and more cheese....yummy. We loved this recipe....it is the best. I saw this episode and wanted to try it. I am so glad you posted this recipe b/c I had forgotten about the lasagna. It was wonderful. The flavors melded perfectly. I liked the addition of the swiss cheese, it gave it a little different taste. Delicious....thank you for reminding me of a forgotten recipe...Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Great, great, great lasagna. I'll be using this as a base from now on. This is a good recipe to experiment with. I've tried it with both ricotta and cottage cheese, and I really prefer the cottage cheese. I also add layers of spinach and pepperoni and I add mushrooms to the sauce. I like to make this ahead of time with uncooked noodles and refrigerate it. The modified cook time I've used is baking for one hour at 425 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This was a delicious lasagna. I made a few changes, substituting a leek for the onion (I had some leftover from a previous recipe), using a 1/4 more meat than called for, a red pepper instead of a green and some fresh basil in lieu of Italian seasoning. I loved the cheese blend. I didn't use Swiss, but instead doubled up the mozarella and cheddar cheese and used crushed tomatoes instead of diced. Instead of cottage cheese (which I don't like in lasagna), I used fat free ricotta cheese. It was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This was the best lasagna I have ever had. I've always shied away from using cottage cheese, but I tried it and I'm glad I did. After I took the sauce off the heat, I cut the cream cheese into cubes and whisked it into the sauce, getting rid of as many clumps as I could. This was there weren't any cream cheese chunks in the lasagna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Really, good, I think next time I will leave out the 1 cup of water, as it was a little watery, and I had no cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. The flavor was excellent, my husband just loved it, and ate 3 helpings! I was hoping that the 9 dollars I paid for that small block of gruyere cheese would be worth it, and it definitely was. I love the flavors, and the creaminess of the cream cheese. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      We loved this recipe and are so glad we found it here. Have been looking for a good lasagna for years and this is KILLER!!! I spread the cream cheese out somewhat to avoid it not melting well like one reviewer had happen, and it came out perfectly. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      So sorry. We did not care for this. We felt it was too salty and the sauce did not have an italian flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Great lasagna and extremely rich. I did not rate it 5 stars because the cream cheese did not integrate into the lasagna well. Although I placed it around in small cubes as specified, it didn't seem to melt, so at times you'd have a chunk of cream cheese in your bite of lasagna - overall yummy, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Lady and Sons Lasagna ( Paula Deen )

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 770.6
     
    Calories from Fat 435
    56%
    Total Fat 48.4 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 26.6 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 195.8 mg
    65%
    Sodium 1230.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 49.6 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    seasoning

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes