Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Koffie Pot Inn Caramel Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Koffie Pot Inn Caramel Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2003

      Beware! If you love caramel, like I do, you will want to eat this whole cake yourself!! I mistakenly used maple syrup for the golden syrup, so my caramel sauce was a little thin, but it still turned out fine and tasted FABULOUS. I also used only half the instant coffee because I thought my kids wouldn't like it if it had a coffee flavor. They thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Doubled this and baked in a 9x12 pan for a potluck. I would consider these squares, not cake. Yes, it is hard to spread the batter, but I found after spreading it in chunks, that I could pat it into place. I found the excessive crumbliness to be annoying, as the bars (I only cut 12) did not hold their shape when cut. Also, next time I will try to make my coffee granules smaller; the kind I used did not dissolve in the egg, and the little black flecks gave a strong coffee taste that while I loved, others may not have. The combination of coffee and caramel is wonderful, so I am willing to play with this recipe to get it how I like it. As for the reviewer that asked for advice with the rest of the tin of milk, I say just double the recipe! As for the vanilla, I added about 1/2 t (for a double recipe). I found that baking for about 28 min. at 350 worked for me. Everything else was according to the recipe, and it is very enjoyable. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This is why one needs to read reviews before attempting to make a recipe. The batter of the cake was very much like a cookie dough. Half was barely enough to cover the base of an 8 inch springform pan. Tastewise was superb though. I am not sure if this should be called a cake.. more like a blondie or a very flat, dense cake. I will make this again though for it was well loved by my children. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I've made this twice, once for the DS's music recreation group were they loved it and once for the DH who loved the taste (especially the caramel sauce) but thought of it as more of a soft biscuit/cookie/slice filled with caramel sauce rather than a cake. In a 22cm springform tin it took 25 minutes at 175c in a fan forced oven. I will look at making this again but will try doubling the cake mix and see how we go. Thank you Missy Wombat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I used corn syrup in place of the golden syrup, as I wasn't sure what it was. Loved this cake and so will you! The caramel infused with the slight taste of coffee was wonderful! The grandkids each had 2 big pieces!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      This was a wonderful cake. I didn't have any trouble with the mixture. The only thing I have to ask is.....do you have any suggestions for what i can do with the other half of the tin of condensed milk :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      I used a 20cm springform tin for this cake, and baked for about 35 mins.It is quite a flat cake - doesn't rise much, but has a yummy caramel centre.The top is quite crispy when baked,and the cake has a strongish coffee flavour.Almost more like a slice as you could cut into squares.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      I have wanted to try this recipe for a long time..I tried it tonight but something didnt work quite right. It smelled wonderful and the caramel tasted great however the cake batter was more like a cookie batter..very stiff, I had to mush it into the bottom of the pan, and there was very little of it..definately not enough to fit a regular cake pan. There was also quite alot of caramel compared to the amount of cake. If it wasnt for this Im sure this would be a delicious cake and Im sure I would love it. Any suggestions of what I may have done wrong. I dont bake using ounces as measures...4 ounces = 1/2 cup right? Help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      I have to admit I tried this one more out of fascination more than anything .. and what a find it was. There was a birthday at work so I thought it was a good excuse to try it. Everyone LOVED IT and it was gone in no time. It was surprisingly not that sweet. It is certainly one to used over and over again. Thank you for sharing it !!YUM !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Koffie Pot Inn Caramel Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.4
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    43%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 53.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 167.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    92%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes