8 Reviews

This recipe might have a lot of ingredients but it is so worth the time and effort. The cast party gobbled all up. Just the right spice is offset by the mango dressing. Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 11, 2013

Impressive salad!! I settled in to making this salad and really had fun with it. The marinade is soooooo good on the salmon. The mango dressing is the perfect complement to the spiciness of the salmon. I adore all the add-ins to the salad..ex cashews, beans, etc... It all worked well together and the outcome was fabulous. Thank you for creating this gem. Made for the Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood August 05, 2013

There is an expression, 'you eat with your eyes', and you most certainly do with this recipe because it is pretty as a picture! The GREAT thing is it tastes every bit as good as it looks - fresh, sweet, spicy, sour - it really has it all. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 31, 2013

Amazing salad!! I added half the oil to the dressing and was going to add the rest, but it seemed like to much so I omitted it and am glad I did. Other then that followed recipe to the t and loved it. A new favorite. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pletcha July 23, 2010

I'm always on the prowl for new and interesting ways to enjoy salmon and this one really took the cake. The vinaigrette was the perfect balance between fruity acidic and savory fats with flavor. A huge compliment to the salad. The colors were beautiful and the flavor of the fish was phenominal. I will be making this many times, which is a huge compliment coming from me because I'm NOT a jerk fan. Great job, Kitchen Tourists!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna July 09, 2007

JUST LOVED every ingredient in this colorful, bright, light healthy balanced meal! I did add fresh lime juice to the jerk seasoning. I did use 1/2 a head of romaine not the hearts. More nutrients in the outer leaves. Grilled the salmon on a very well heated then oiled outdoor grill. Grilled for 3 minutes per side of my 1 pound piece of salmon fillet. As for the dressing this makes way to much so the fat count would not be calculated right. I used 1/4 of the dressing. I kept the cilantro out and just added for myself. I love the herb. I also used red kidney beans that I rinsed very well! I would have given this 4 stars for calculating the dressing off so much. Just think 1/4 cup of oil per person is a bit much. BUT I enjoyed this salad/meal so much you get 10 stars. Just take note not to use all the dressing! Thank you for all the good eats. Your team gave a beautiful perfect balanced choice of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ July 01, 2007

I thought this was just terrific! I've never had jerk anything before and this was a great introduction. I did the salmon on the outdoor grill and it was delicious. I didn't find it too hot at all and the tropical vinaigrette for the salad was really wonderful. I left out the red beans in the salad. I found that everything was really working well together, all the flavours were complimenting each other. Way to go team! ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial June 27, 2007

I was torn beteen a four and a five star review--but decided that a five was right. The wet jerk is delicious, though as a wimp I went for a small amount of pepper. As an experiment, I made half the dressing with the mango and half without--I liked the dressing much better without the mango in it--and liked the salad better with chunks of mago added to it. I was able to pick up the red beans at a local tienda, but I also felt they did not add to the salad--that the texture of the soft beans did not complement the rest of the ingredients. That being said, the salmon (which I cooked on a stove-top grill) was crusty and spicy without, moist and sweet within, and worked beautifully with the the salad and the vinaigrette. I'm glad the Kitchen Tourists made this trip! Thanks, Muffin Goddess et al.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 26, 2007
The Kitchen Tourists are Jerks for This Salmon Salad!