Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Healthy Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Healthy Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2009

      Nice easy recipe. My daughter and I made this (with only white flour) for an apple pie. We didn't add any sugar to it, which was a nice balance to the sweet filling. We also didn't bother to chill anything, and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      This was great! I didn't freeze anything, I just mixed it all at once and then rolled it out! I baked mine for about 15 minutes because I needed a baked pie shell for Mock Sour Cream Raisin Pie Mock Sour Cream Raisin Pie. I also added alittle sugar because I was afraid it wouldn't be sweet enough as this crust would be used for dessert. Thanks for this healthier alternative for a pie crust demented1091!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      The first time I made this I followed the instructions exactly. It was great for my "vegetable pie". The second time I did not chill anything and used cold tap water - I felt the dough was much easier to work with and it tastes just fine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      really nice and simple. a bit flavourless, maybe i'll add 2 tBlspns vinegar next time. but thanks for a great low-fat pie recipe!UPDATE - 1 tablespoon of vinegar is fine, or it'll be too strong. I just wanted to reaffirm how incredibly easy this was, even without refrigerating! For a healthy(er) piecrust, this is awesome!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      outstanding. i am surprised, considering i followed very few of the directions. I love empanadas and meat pies, but cannot stand the thought of eating the high fat of traditional crusts. i made empanadas using very very thinly rolled (as thin as i could get it on foil, and peeled it off like a fruit roll) dough using only bleached flour, no chilling. i barely mixed, however, so that the gluten would not develop (like a biscuit), and the crust was light and flaky!!! better than when i used butter under traditional chilling/methods. who knew? i'm so happy i found this recipe. i will be using it again and again. btw, i used enough water so that the dough was very pliable and soft- wetter than the normal "just held together" type recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I quite liked this. It was perhaps a bit more difficult to work with than a traditional pie crust, but that's to be expected - they're made with saturated fats for a reason! I was overall surprised by how well this worked. I added a few tablespoons of sugar to make it work for a sweet pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I did change this some, I don't think enough to not rate this recipe, tho. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour (not pastry), 1/2 cup winter whole wheat flour & 1/2 kamut flour. I used about 2 Tb canola oil and 1 Tb soy margarine. I did add about 1/2 TB lemon juice. My husband and I both really liked it. I think I agree to add a little sugar (1-2 TB) when using this for a sweet pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Healthy Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    45%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites