Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Great British Bacon Butty - Bacon Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Great British Bacon Butty - Bacon Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2010

      There is something about the simplicity of a butty - whether you have chips/fries, crisps, fish or crispy bacon the simplicty of buttered bread or roll your choice of ingredient and sauce of choice well you have a comfort meal/snack. Thank you French Tart for bringing memories back, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #45 October 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Love bacon, english muffin toasting bread and A-1, never thought of putting them together tho. Crack cocaine of food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I just made this as a late night snack, but I used 3 regular thin slices of bacon, and cooked the bacon till it was lightly crisp. Served it in between buttered toasted bread along with a bit of Worcestershire sauce, and A-1 Steak Sauce. Mmm, it was good!! Next time tho, I'm going to use 6 slices of bacon per sandwich, and skip the Worcestershire sauce, and just top the bacon with the steak sauce. The Worcestershire sauce is a bit too runny, and has a tendency to make the bread a bit soggy. Thank you French Tart, for sharing this recipe. It makes for a good sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      You know, this is one of those recipes where it'll only be as good as your ingredients. I used regular bacon; next time I'm springing for the thick cut version. I had some hamburger rolls to use up; next time I'll use nice bulkie rolls. I used some mayo & Worcestershire sauce. The kids used Pickapeppa sauce. 2-3 slices per person? Nah, o for at least 4!! YUMYUMYUMYUMYUM!!!! The debate over how well cooked bacon should be....that is a personal preference & will never be answered any more than which is better - Pepsi or Coke? (BTW, Pepsi is worlds better!) I like my bacon somewhat soft but cooked it a bit further for sandwich purposes. Who cares? It's delicious! Just eat it!! Thanks, FT!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Life is good indeed when you have a bacon butty! And why is it that it is always better when someone else makes it for you? Hmmm.... When I worked at a Pub, these were a great treat the cook would give us when we had too much to drink the night before! Anyhow, I do love these, especially on fresh rolls with lots of butter, and my guilty pleasure is to put a few chips (french fries) in there too!;) Thanks F.T.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      yummmy. I have had bacon sandwiches all my life but never tried the worcesthire sauce option of a bacon butty. (or HP) Only had worcestshire but slathered it on and what a difference! Forget blt's... well ok i will share time with them, or maybe add the sauce to those as well lol. No pic bc all i had was sandwich bread since some greedy raccoons were sitting sadly all night asking for supper and i was out of puppy chow. gave in and threw them my crusty loaf *blush*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      My perfect bacon sandwich: 2 large of rashers of smoked bacon on a buttered ciabatta roll, or toasted English muffin, with optional applewood smoked cheddar (no sauce required). I cook the bacon crispy (but not incinerated) and add the cheese cold, I tried it melted but prefer it this way. Another favourite is the toasted bacon sandwich, on good quality thick cut white bread. Can't beat it with a nice mug of black coffee :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      French Tart! I can't wait to try this sandwich and I predict it will become a huge it now that your recipe has been featured on PeopleMagazine.com as part of the food at the Royal Wedding 2011! Congratulations! http://www.people.com/people/package/article/0,,20395222_20485958,00.html

      I have since tried this sandwich and it is easy and delicious! I didn't have the HB sauce so I used A-1 but I did find it on Amazon so I may buy it for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      Firstly I want to thank HRH Prince Harry for introducing THE Bacon Butty into my Lexicon ..what an awesome sandwich to complete a night of hardcore partying.

      Cheers
      MrSCChippington Columbia SC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

    • on November 01, 2007

      The bacon should be soft not crispy! This recipe is from Yorkshire so it is different than what I eat.I'm a Lancashire Lass and we ALWAYS used bacon that was cooked through,but still soft.A great Bacon Butty does not need any sauce,and in fact due to the poorness of the people who ate this because it was cheap,butter was not used.Try using soft bacon slightly oily with bread only.Thats the true nature of an authentic,cheap butty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      My DH loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Great British Bacon Butty - Bacon Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.0
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    12%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 565.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    back bacon

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes