Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Great Australian Pikelets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Great Australian Pikelets

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2011

      These have to be cooked in butter! My kids LOVE these. They are great in lunch boxes and freeze well too. A great recipe that requires only a few ingredients and creates a fabulous snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I reviewed these with 5 stars in march, as an australian they were a childhood treat. ..... I just made another batch (as i do every day its cold) and replaced the sugar with half a mashed banana, also added vanilla. These were for our 21mth old son but now i have to make more, they are gorgeous. LOVE the banana in them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      I forgot to mention that I needed a little more milk than listed to come to a workable consistency but this wasn't a big issue and all worked out well. Just wanted to mention this incase others had the same problem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I have made pikelets before but these were wonderful. Sweet, fluffy small pancakes which were eaten warm as they didn't get enough time to cool. My kids put nutella on them, my husband put peanut butter and honey and I put some sliced cheese on mine while they were still cooking for a melted cheesy version. All delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      What charming and splendid little pancakes! These are sweet, light and flavorful. Made as written with the 3/4 teaspoon vanilla option. Will be making again and am placing in my best of 2011 book. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      These are delightful pikelets and so easy, thank you Catherine for sharing this little gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      These are great! Fluffy and sweet and I liked the vanilla flavor. I topped mine with strawberry preserves and really enjoyed this breakfast treat - thanks for posting the recipe! Made for Spring PAC 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Fantastic pikelets! Soft, fluffy & yummy. You cannot go wrong with this recipe. I did add a few drops of vanilla essence however. Great just topped with butter & jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Thanks for this recipe, have tried a few but these are the closest to the pikelets we had as children in NZ. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon into the flour and they were delicious. I found 1/4 cup of sugar a little bit too sweet for my taste so I reduced the sugar to 1/6 cup which worked well for us as we balanced it with a topping of strawberry jam to serve. Really great recipe, simple to use, easy to mix, no hard to smooth lumps. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      For something so simple I have never been able to cook good pikelets (or pancakes) but I have been craving them for days now so decided to try another different recipe. I just have to say that these turned out perfect! They weren't bland like a lot of pikelets can be (I added 1 tspn of vanilla) and they were very light and fluffy and best of all I was able to cook them to perfection without over cooking or under cooking and they didn't fall apart when i flipped them. Thank you Catherine for giving me the ability to enjoy pikelets again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This is the good reliable pikelet recipe I tend to use. Very easy and it is a guaranteed hit with the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Delicious, quick and easy, and a pleasant change from my usual sugar-less pancakes. Lovely served hot, with butter slowly melting over them. Mmmmm. Reviewed for Pick-A-Chef, Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      We just loved them. Child came home for school "I'm hungry", in less than 10 minutes she was in heaven. Thanks and so easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I love this recipe, it is so simple and yummy. Tastes great with raspberry jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Yum. Enjoyed these. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      These are so easy to make and uses ingredients I always have on hand. The result were delicious little pikelets (Silver dollar pancakes to us in the States, but a tad sweeter). We had ours with a combination of butter, syrup or jam. Thank you for sharing this recipe Catherine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      A classic, my little daughter loves these. So simple you can get the kids to help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      These are really light and fluffy and very easy to make. Next time we will double the recipe as there wasn't enough but that is because they got gobbled up so fast. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Very easy and loved them.. I also added a tsp of vanilla and a little more milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Very tasty and so easy to make. I did add about a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Wonderful little morsals. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Great Australian Pikelets

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.2
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    11%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 8.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes