23 Reviews

These have to be cooked in butter! My kids LOVE these. They are great in lunch boxes and freeze well too. A great recipe that requires only a few ingredients and creates a fabulous snack.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom October 21, 2011

I reviewed these with 5 stars in march, as an australian they were a childhood treat. ..... I just made another batch (as i do every day its cold) and replaced the sugar with half a mashed banana, also added vanilla. These were for our 21mth old son but now i have to make more, they are gorgeous. LOVE the banana in them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Australian Wife - Learning June 15, 2009

I forgot to mention that I needed a little more milk than listed to come to a workable consistency but this wasn't a big issue and all worked out well. Just wanted to mention this incase others had the same problem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse February 01, 2005

I have made pikelets before but these were wonderful. Sweet, fluffy small pancakes which were eaten warm as they didn't get enough time to cool. My kids put nutella on them, my husband put peanut butter and honey and I put some sliced cheese on mine while they were still cooking for a melted cheesy version. All delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook April 21, 2013

What charming and splendid little pancakes! These are sweet, light and flavorful. Made as written with the 3/4 teaspoon vanilla option. Will be making again and am placing in my best of 2011 book. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl March 11, 2011

These are delightful pikelets and so easy, thank you Catherine for sharing this little gem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fihopkins February 20, 2010

These are great! Fluffy and sweet and I liked the vanilla flavor. I topped mine with strawberry preserves and really enjoyed this breakfast treat - thanks for posting the recipe! Made for Spring PAC 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof April 15, 2009

Fantastic pikelets! Soft, fluffy & yummy. You cannot go wrong with this recipe. I did add a few drops of vanilla essence however. Great just topped with butter & jam.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tabmag August 11, 2008

Thanks for this recipe, have tried a few but these are the closest to the pikelets we had as children in NZ. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon into the flour and they were delicious. I found 1/4 cup of sugar a little bit too sweet for my taste so I reduced the sugar to 1/6 cup which worked well for us as we balanced it with a topping of strawberry jam to serve. Really great recipe, simple to use, easy to mix, no hard to smooth lumps. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maplecottage July 06, 2008

For something so simple I have never been able to cook good pikelets (or pancakes) but I have been craving them for days now so decided to try another different recipe. I just have to say that these turned out perfect! They weren't bland like a lot of pikelets can be (I added 1 tspn of vanilla) and they were very light and fluffy and best of all I was able to cook them to perfection without over cooking or under cooking and they didn't fall apart when i flipped them. Thank you Catherine for giving me the ability to enjoy pikelets again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey Q June 09, 2008
The Great Australian Pikelets