22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i was so excited when i found this recipe. I love garbage plates! This sauce though is not right at all! it shouldnt have tomato sauce in it at all. I found a recipe that is waaaaay closer to the real thing. My advice... keep searching because this is not good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamahindu March 11, 2013

Oops, forgot the corrections on the cooking: In a large skillet, fry onion and garlic in oil until soft. Add meat,
stirring constantly with fork to keep the beef broken up. Once the meat
browns, add water and tomato paste. Simmer 10 minutes.

Go through it with an immersion blender a little to give it a finer
texture. Add brown sugar and spices.

Simmer 1 hour, adding water if necessary to keep it moist (but not soupy).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bearable August 20, 2012

UR grad from 98' - if this recipe can replicate the garbage plate, then heaven is that much closer. I'm making this so my wife can understand how wonderful it is to eat. I ate at Nick Tahou's when Jimmy was still there, Pimps, prostitutes, drug dealers, homeless, drunks, business professionals, college students, basically all walks of life - all packed in there every thursday, friday, saturday night. A big, greasy staff member serving the plates, a big stack of homefries on the grill just sitting there, and the smell of garbage plates the next day was something awful. for those that lived in the area and never went - I feel so sorry for you. I even ate the plate sober it was that good. People had plates sent to them in NYC, drunk people would drive (not smart) from Syracuse - grab a plate there and take one back (my brother went and relayed this story to me). It just has no peer equal. i think the hardest thing to find will be that almost stale white, texas toast like bread they had.

it was a rite of passage, just like D-Day was at one point at UR....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phi_kappa_tau December 22, 2011

I looooove Garbage plates! Im from a small town about an hour and a half from Rochester and every time I go to Rochester..I always order this! Ive never had the original but do get them from all the different places in rochester...so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolene Green March 18, 2010

I've only had a garbage plate from in Rochester one time and this one came pretty close to what I remember. It takes awhile to prepare and destroys the kitchen but it is worth it. If you don't have a healthy spice cabinet it might cost you a fortune to make this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taternuggets February 18, 2010

My BF is from Rochester and was always talking about how great the garbage plate was so imagine my suprise when I stumbled upon the recipe here! I made it as written and he said that it was very similar. It did take me much longer than the 30 minute prep but maybe I'm just a little slower than most! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Plate January 13, 2010

I agree with jess, this sauce is far too tomato based. the sauce is good, just not like in rochester....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pugsinbuffalo July 12, 2009

I only made the sauce, as that's the only part I was looking for. I thought the spice mixture was really good. My only critique is that it's very heavy in tomato, and Nick's and elsewhere don't seem to have that particular flavor that comes out. I added chicken broth (I didn't have beef broth) as my sauce came out really thick, and I also added worcestershire sauce to give it greater depth of flavor. I'll keep working it, but thank you for the base recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess in NY July 05, 2009

I live in Rochester & have teenagers who are "addicted" to garbage plates. I have been trying to duplicate the Tahou hot sauce for quite awhile. This recipes' spices are definitely the closest ones I have found. After playing with it a few of times I have three suggestions........ 1. use 1/4 tsp. of cloves 2. add salt to taste (this is a must) 3. start with 3 to 4 cups of hot water & simmer for a couple of hours for best flavor. Thanks so much for the combination of spices, you made a whole lot of 17 year old boys very happy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama 27 February 05, 2009

I don't really know how to go about rating this. I didn't want to make changes so as not to ruin the authenticity. I did not make the sauce because it did not look like something I would like. I adore fried potatoes and the hamburgers. I couldn't bring myself to make them well-done, yuck. I used more celery than called for just because I like it with my fried potatoes. I used swiss cheese for the burgers and loved that. This whole thing reminds me of something I would have thrown together during my midnight munchies days. Weird and good. It falls into the "You've just Gotta TRY IT" category. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 26, 2008
The Garbage Plate (Burger Version)