Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Garbage Plate (Burger Version) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Garbage Plate (Burger Version)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2013

      i was so excited when i found this recipe. I love garbage plates! This sauce though is not right at all! it shouldnt have tomato sauce in it at all. I found a recipe that is waaaaay closer to the real thing. My advice... keep searching because this is not good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Oops, forgot the corrections on the cooking: In a large skillet, fry onion and garlic in oil until soft. Add meat,
      stirring constantly with fork to keep the beef broken up. Once the meat
      browns, add water and tomato paste. Simmer 10 minutes.

      Go through it with an immersion blender a little to give it a finer
      texture. Add brown sugar and spices.

      Simmer 1 hour, adding water if necessary to keep it moist (but not soupy).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      UR grad from 98' - if this recipe can replicate the garbage plate, then heaven is that much closer. I'm making this so my wife can understand how wonderful it is to eat. I ate at Nick Tahou's when Jimmy was still there, Pimps, prostitutes, drug dealers, homeless, drunks, business professionals, college students, basically all walks of life - all packed in there every thursday, friday, saturday night. A big, greasy staff member serving the plates, a big stack of homefries on the grill just sitting there, and the smell of garbage plates the next day was something awful. for those that lived in the area and never went - I feel so sorry for you. I even ate the plate sober it was that good. People had plates sent to them in NYC, drunk people would drive (not smart) from Syracuse - grab a plate there and take one back (my brother went and relayed this story to me). It just has no peer equal. i think the hardest thing to find will be that almost stale white, texas toast like bread they had.

      it was a rite of passage, just like D-Day was at one point at UR....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I looooove Garbage plates! Im from a small town about an hour and a half from Rochester and every time I go to Rochester..I always order this! Ive never had the original but do get them from all the different places in rochester...so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I've only had a garbage plate from in Rochester one time and this one came pretty close to what I remember. It takes awhile to prepare and destroys the kitchen but it is worth it. If you don't have a healthy spice cabinet it might cost you a fortune to make this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      My BF is from Rochester and was always talking about how great the garbage plate was so imagine my suprise when I stumbled upon the recipe here! I made it as written and he said that it was very similar. It did take me much longer than the 30 minute prep but maybe I'm just a little slower than most! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I agree with jess, this sauce is far too tomato based. the sauce is good, just not like in rochester....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I only made the sauce, as that's the only part I was looking for. I thought the spice mixture was really good. My only critique is that it's very heavy in tomato, and Nick's and elsewhere don't seem to have that particular flavor that comes out. I added chicken broth (I didn't have beef broth) as my sauce came out really thick, and I also added worcestershire sauce to give it greater depth of flavor. I'll keep working it, but thank you for the base recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I live in Rochester & have teenagers who are "addicted" to garbage plates. I have been trying to duplicate the Tahou hot sauce for quite awhile. This recipes' spices are definitely the closest ones I have found. After playing with it a few of times I have three suggestions........ 1. use 1/4 tsp. of cloves 2. add salt to taste (this is a must) 3. start with 3 to 4 cups of hot water & simmer for a couple of hours for best flavor. Thanks so much for the combination of spices, you made a whole lot of 17 year old boys very happy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I don't really know how to go about rating this. I didn't want to make changes so as not to ruin the authenticity. I did not make the sauce because it did not look like something I would like. I adore fried potatoes and the hamburgers. I couldn't bring myself to make them well-done, yuck. I used more celery than called for just because I like it with my fried potatoes. I used swiss cheese for the burgers and loved that. This whole thing reminds me of something I would have thrown together during my midnight munchies days. Weird and good. It falls into the "You've just Gotta TRY IT" category. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I grew up in Rochester and this is just like I remember it - aweful! This is only to be consumed when intoxicated. Instant heartburn and indigestion - just like the original. To be true to the original, baked beans should be used - not refried beans. French fries are offered at Nick's as a substitution for home fries, but I personally prefer the greasy home fries. I didn't think this would come together while I was making it. The sauce, on it's own, didn't taste like the original and I didn't think the horseradish was in the dish, but it all came together for a very authentic taste. I wouldn't be surprised if this was THE garbage plate recipe used at the "restaurant" (term used lightly)...... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      OMG!!! If you have never had a garbage plate you have not lived! Nick Tahou's should be on the list of places to see before you die! No, they are not pretty, but the taste and the experience are so worth it! Thank you so much for posting this! *I have made this and it was very good! Although, something seems to be missing...maybe its all the grease! Next time I make the sauce Im going to add more heat to it per my non-hot sauce users request. ETA my stars were missing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This didn't sound like it would be good, But Buddha wanted to try it. And I'm glad he did. I made the special sauce and left out the refried beans. I also quartered the serving size and it made 1 generous serving. We think adding a fried egg or two on top of the burger would be great also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Our friends from Rochester introduced us to Garbage Plates a few years ago. We have often wanted a Garbage Plate late night and have no where to buy one since we've lived in Kentucky and Indiana. Today I got the idea to search online for a recipe for the "hot sauce" and came across this recipe. It is FANTASTIC! Almost exactly like the originals that we have had in Rochester. We are so excited! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I tagged this recipe because I went to Eastman School of Music in Rochester from 1989-1993 and I never ate at Nick's. (Must have had something to do with being a vegetarian for most of that time.) But I heard about it. What I heard was pretty much as this recipe, except I was told, "and then they take a big ladle full of grease and just pour it all over!" "EUW!" I said. But what did I know? I was a freshman and he was a grad student. But they don't really do that, do they? What did he know? He was from Michigan! *So*, this recipe! It was good. I was surprised to like the special sauce. (It sounded so weird!) Although the cayenne got to me toward the end. And my 11yo son said, "the sauce is good!" initially, but then he didn't really eat it. Cayenne for him too, I think. I posted a picture. It's very un-authentic looking, but hey! at least I didn't use the plate with the hearts and flowers around the edge! If I ever make it back to Ro-cha-cha, I'll definitely check out Nick Tahou's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This seemed like an awful lot of food so I left the refried beans out. I also used sour cream instead of mayo in the mac salad because I dont like mayo. Wow this is ALOT of food for one person. Heck its a full meal for TWO people. It is a bit of work though I think it is worth it for a special treat occasionally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I am calling this the Garbage Plate pleasure. I just think this is good enough to pass out for, because you pass out from the wonderful taste sensation of it all. Not only is there Saturday Lunch at the Farm, there is Sunday Night Supper at the Farm when this was served. Everyone loved this! I don't know if it was the taste or the name or both. Just all came together so beautifully I can't imagine anyone not loving this. I made this two ways. One the way it was written for carnavores and the other vegan. I made the special sauce for both, using ground beef and ground vegan crumbles and we all could of been sitting around with a spoon just eating the sauce. I added chopped onions (1 large onion) and refried beans as my family loves those. I also microwave the potato and cubed it from there and made the fried potato. I added a small slice of bread to each dish, and we were all happy as ants. I upped the celery too, because for some reason, I am on a celery kick. Thanks so much Anme for a truly fun and fantastic food memorabilia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Going to save this recipe to try, parts of it, if not the whole thing, but unfortunately I'll have to ruin the authenticity greatly by subbing ground turkey other non-red meat, or veggie burgers/crumbles because I cannot digest the red meat. I will have to substitute soy cheese also because I cannot eat real cheese and the mayo will have to be subbed for light. Most likely would have to sub french bread or regular bread for the italian because of the questionable ingredients I can't eat in the Italian bread. Too bad, by then this will be a completely different recipe! But having never heard of this before, this sounds delicious as is, even if I can't eat it exactly as the recipe calls for. I sure do miss fatty food, dairy, and red meat. :( Thanks Anme for sharing and for the nice story. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Very filling! I was surprised that the special sauce tasted good on the macaroni salad. I made myself a modest portion, with just one small burger, and I'm still quite full. The sauce will no doubt be good for making chili dogs as well. My other family members chose to eat their portions separately, but my son conceded that he would eat the concoction as written if he were at a party. Thanks for sharing a fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      YUMMY!!! I made this for a crowd this weekend and once everybody got past the name they raved! The sauce is really fantastic. I cut back on the cayenne and served hot sauce on the side. Thanks for this great recipe, Amne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Garbage Plate (Burger Version)

    Serving Size: 1 (2464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3020.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1417
    46%
    Total Fat 157.5 g
    242%
    Saturated Fat 60.2 g
    301%
    Cholesterol 426.9 mg
    142%
    Sodium 5782.8 mg
    240%
    Total Carbohydrate 281.5 g
    93%
    Dietary Fiber 49.6 g
    198%
    Sugars 63.6 g
    254%
    Protein 148.7 g
    297%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hamburger patties

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes