Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Frugal Gourmet's New York Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Frugal Gourmet's New York Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2013

      My husband has been making this cheesecake since we got married (22 years ago.) He has laid claim to it as his own ;) The family fights over the last piece, usually for breakfast! My italian mother-in-law never wanted it at Easter since she was making her ricotta cheesecake! This year I am trying to cut back on carbs, so I made my own version with butter, ground nuts and a little splenda for the crust. I substituted the sugar for half the splenda, added a little lemon zest. You can barely tell the difference! Next time I may bake the crust for a few minutes, let it cool before you add the cheese mixture. Not bad for a carb/sugar free dessert!<br/><br/>NOTE: The original cookbook calls for the oven temp to be 325, not 350.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Excellent! I made this for Easter dinner, following the instructions exactly. It turned out beautifully and everyone loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      This is by far THE greatest cheesecake ever. I'm totally spoiled by it and no other will do. Eating anything other then New York style is no longer acceptable. The recipe is easy to follow and turn out fabulously. The only thing I do is make sure I make it a day or two ahead of time to give it plenty of time to chill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I originally wrote this recipe down watching this amazing man in the 70's or 80's & have used it @ least 4 times a year. I have tried others but nothing compares to yummy & easy. Best EVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This cheesecake is so good!! Like Chef #1513609, I've had plenty of requests. People think it's hard to make, but oh, the simplicity!! You won't be sorry. Oh, you must absolutely use Daisy sour cream. Too bad you can't find cream cheese without all the fillers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      First time baking this cheesecake? Suggest one does NOT use low-fat sour cream nor low-fat cream cheese - this recipe is perfection when followed to the letter - (I use organic eggs & organic sugar, Philadelpia cream cheese & Daisy sour cream, real vanilla). Always use an 8" springform pan - perfect result over a 9" pan. Over 15 years using this recipe... NEVER disappointed it comes with lots of requests for an encore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I have made this recipe for quite a few years, numerous times. It is a favorite. Do not forget to add the 2T melted butter as directed. I have forgotten, then the cheesecake is plain. The butter definately add richness. It is the best cheesecake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Start of by reading the directions carefully and chill cake thoroughly and you have yourself a PERFECT NY CHEESECAKE. I messed up the sugar and the butter by adding it all in with the crust and had to start over. This cheesecake was just the texture I was looking for so it was worth it! I made in a Pyrex pie plate and it didn't over-fill as I feared. I did broil a min. too long and had some burnt spots on top, but I picked them off easily with a sharp knife. When we first ate it (after 2 hours chill time) it was a little too creamy and a little too sour creamy in flavor. I used 1/2 cup plain yogurt (short on s. cream) and 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I LOVED that this recipe only took 2 pkg. of cream cheese! The next day the texture was perfection (!) and the flavors had melded completely as well. My father in law really loved this cheesecake, too! Thanks Bengi, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      good, but a little bit 'sour creamy'. but, i would make it again. and as with all cheesecakes, it got better on the 3rd day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Very good recipe. Easy. I put sugared strawberries on it to serve to company and everyone loved it. I actually have this in the "Immigrant Ancestors" book, Jewish Immigrant chapter. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Brilliant! My husband has been wanting me to make him baked cheesecake for ages! I finally did it today and picked this recipe because it was from Jeff Smith and the 2 other reviews told me I couldn't pick better! And they were right. For my first baked cheesecake it turned out great and my descerning palleted husband has just enjoyed his piece immensely. So thank you so much for posting this!!! It would have been easier if I had a blender, I had to use both my stick blender and hand mixer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This recipe appeared in the late Jeff Smith's first cookbook, around 1984. I've been making it ever since, and people still fight for the last piece!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      I have been making this recipe for approximately 17 years and it is awesome! As you can see from the list of ingredients, it is very easy to make and doesn't take any time at all. It is a fail proof recipe for all who love and are addicted to New York Cheesecake! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Frugal Gourmet's New York Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.8
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    71%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 180.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites