11 Reviews

This is my first experience making jerk anything, and what a yummy way to start. It came together very easily. I added two peeled and diced sweet potatoes to the veggie mixture, and roasted it all in the oven -- it's winter in Australia. It gave the kitchen a wonderful perfume, but the allspice was an overpowering flavour for me. In future I'd cut back to a teaspoon. The heat was perfect. Thanks Floozies for a jerk with flair. Made and enjoyed for Zaar World Tour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy July 09, 2007

What a fabulous side dish! and a great way to make the plate colourful! The jerk paste worked very well, thanks Floozies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally S July 09, 2007

I was suprised at how good this was! I wish I could of found a bonnet pepper around my way for the true taste but substitued Jalepeno and honey instead of sugar. Added a very nice spicy to the veggies I especially liked it on the corn. I served mine along with some chicken. Will use again TY FFFF

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen July 09, 2007

My dear Floozies, this stuff rocks! I was simply GOBSMACKED at how yummy this made our veggies. I put out a variety of cheeses and some flavored mayos for my friends to make their own veggie sandwich and the reviews were nothing short of glowing! A great addition to our BBQ! Reviewed for ZWT3

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK July 08, 2007

I enjoyed this as my first experience with a jerk type of recipe. I just moved and hoped to make it on an outdoor grill before the ZWT3 ended BUT I did not get settled in in time so attempted it on an indoor electric grill. The results were still awesome...particularly the corn!!! I liked the "KICK" of the sweet and spice flavor in the paste!! We skewered some of our veggies and grilled extra on the grill top plate ...they worked both ways but were more "well done" off the skewers. I served the veggies as a platter the first night and in true ZWT mode, made tortilla rolls with melted provolone cheese out of the leftovers the following night!! A Fabulous Floozie Food Treat - Fantastic!!! More F's for flavor and fun!!! FIVE STARS! Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 06, 2007

This fit the bill! I enjoyed the grilled vegetables and the paste was not so hot that we couldn't enjoy our sandwiches. I'll use that past recipe again but next time we do these sandwiches I will remember to add onions, I sadly missed these in this recipe. ZWT3

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 27, 2007

I think I've just been Floozified! I decided to make this as a salad for lunch today using vegetables I had on hand. My list included corn, onions, portobellos, zucchini and red peppers and I added to that yellow squash and peppers, carrots, and plantains. Also I roasted my veggies in the oven at 425 for 20 minutes or so. I just loved the jerk paste which was full of flavor with a huge kick. Despite the heat, the other flavors did come through and I will certainly make this again. We ate this with fresh pinepple sliced for dessert with the meal to cool our tongues. Definitely not for kids.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 26, 2007

This is my first experience with "jerked'anything and these vegies were terrific.As it is winter here I had to roast them inside and then served them on a platter -they were too juicy for a sandwich and I sprinkled them with fetta cheese. Made for ZWT3 and I am grateful to have futhered my culinary education so thanks to the Floozies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 25, 2007

Beautiful sandwich, followed this completely and it was terrific. I made this for my vegan son and all the rest of the family joined it as well. The jerk paste was very good, and spicy, but not so hot you couldn't enjoy the taste of the vegetables. We will making this quite often this summer, this is just a terrific way to use the garden vegetables. Thanks! *ZWT3 07*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 19, 2007

I liked this a lot! I liked the cinnamon and all spice with the soy sauce. I was so happy to find a veggitarian version for the Jerk challange! The sauce was a great way to dress up my corn. I wasn't in the mood for a sandwich though, so I put it all on lettuce to make a salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 16, 2007
The Floozified Jerked Vegetable Sandwich!