31 Reviews

I made this cake last week, and my children loved it, and know they like me to bake it again, this is the best recipe ever, thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hildahakim May 05, 2015

Beautiful recipe!<br/>Made this for my Mother's 52nd surprise birthday party, and it was a hit! We felt so good about eating something clean, wholesome, and delicious. <br/>Perfect amount of sweetness, not at all dry, and not at all mushy, like some fruit/veggie cakes can become.<br/>I used 1/2 homemade applesauce and 1/2 light olive oil. I also upped the cinnamon and added nutmeg and clove to give it an extra kick. I filled the middle with a cream cheese, greek yogurt, and honey filling, and I iced the top with fresh cream, sweetened with a bit of pure maple syrup. Chopped walnuts on top hit the spot! I will definitely be making this again, maybe as muffins. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakewithsonia January 21, 2015

Delicious! I didn't have pineapple so I used baby food (mango apple). I cut the honey down a bit and turned half into mini muffins (cooked 15 min) and the other half into cake topped with coconut cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny January 10, 2015

Absolutely fantastic recipe. We've been avoiding eating white flour. It is so nice to find a recipe with whole wheat that tastes so good, not heavy. An amazing cake. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Delicious, doesn't even need the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amaulegaluk January 05, 2014

Made this cake for Thanksgiving in two 9-inch cake pans. What a great recipe! I did what some of the other reviews advised - halved the oil and made up the difference with unsweetened applesauce. It came out beautifully and paired perfectly with light cream cheese frosting: 1 stick 1/3 fat cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar and a splash of vanilla extract. The cake was moist enough that just one batch of frosting covered the entire cake plus a later inside. I even had enough left to pipe a little carrot design (sort of)! I posted a picture in case anyone would like to see another example of the recipe. I will definitely be making it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
What-a-Weirdo December 04, 2013

This is a great recipe..but I like others left out oil and put in 3/4 cup applesauce,also added 1 tsp of ginger and nutmeg.I also made 1 loaf pan cake and the rest into muffins.But this is such an awesome recipe with no sugar,no oil.I also used unsweet applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattyck July 18, 2012

Anyone know if I can omit the walnuts or replace them with a non-tree nut? My husband has severe tree nut allergies and this recipe sounds amazing. I have carrots from my garden that I'd like to use...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madam Ori August 29, 2011

Let's put it this way...I'm making this again right now! Sooo yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caw954s October 22, 2010

I made this as a healthy birthday cake alternative for a friend at work and got rave reviews. Very moist and flavorful. I used regular whole wheat flour vs. white whole wheat flour and it still looked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 March 12, 2010

Amazing! Moist and delicious! Added some vanilla like others suggested. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilpunkin February 09, 2010
The Fantabulous Whole Wheat Carrot Cake