30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I went to a lovely moonlight wedding a couple of weeks ago, and this carrot cake was the wedding cake. The bride, who is somewhat of a gourmet chef herself, actually baked it. I have uploaded my photo of the cake so everyone can see how incredibly beautiful this cake can be. Everyone at the wedding raved about it, and this was a health-conscious crowd. If you go to the images, it is a flat cake with two heart-shaped cakes on top. You will also see some chocolate hearts wrapped in gold and gold flowers. The photo itself looks very golden because it was taken at night under the outdoor lights (and the moon was full!). Kathy, the bride, also had gold roses in her bouquet, one for each of the single ladies at the wedding. Oh, and she used spelt flour instead of whole wheat. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GracieZG September 03, 2011

Very good and so much healthier than your average carrot cake! I replaced 1/2 the oil with applesauce and it still came out moist. The only thing I would do different in the future is add more spices. Thanks, Messy Cook; this will be my go-to carrot cake from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 January 30, 2011

Very good recipe. I used nutmeg and ground ginger in addition to the cinnamon, and finely ground raw apple in place of pineapple, with excellent results. To make it into a birthday cake, I spread apple butter between the layers and poured an orange maple glaze on top -- really delicious and not too heavy after a big dinner. (For the glaze: melt 2 T. butter, heat with 1/4 c. pure maple syrup and the zest of an orange, then whisk in 1 c. powdered sugar. Pour immediately over the cooled cake.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colofoodie May 23, 2010

Frosted this delicious cake with Cream Cheese Frosting! I am on WW and was glad to find a healthy cake that I would enjoy! Made it for Easter and it was a hit!! Used maple syrup instead of honey was the only change I made! Thanks for sharing! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 11, 2010

Truly delicious. The only change I made was more spices. I'm a big fan of extra spices, so added ginnger, cloves, and nutmeg, (and extra cinnamon, of course). I made topped one 8x8 with Broiled Coconut Topping which was fantastic, and froze the other one to enjoy later. P.S. this is even better the second day, moist, flavorful, fantabulous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven April 05, 2010

Seriously, ONE THOUSAND STARS!! I made this as cupcakes (took 18 minutes to bake) for my son's 2nd birthday and got 24 lovely cupcakes. I added vanilla, as suggested by others, subbed applesauce for 1/2 the oil and added some chopped dates since I had some extra laying around. I frosted them with a lemon cream cheese icing, but thought they were spectacular without anything at all. Thanks so much for posting, I wish I had a reason to use this recipe more often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama February 22, 2010

Good carrot cake, really liked it with the whole wheat flour. Made a couple sub's; omitted pineapple and added toasted coconut and increased the oil a bit, reduced the amount of cinnamon to 1 t and added 2 t ground ginger (just a personal preference). I baked it in a 9 X 13 glass pan, but had to add about 20 minutes to the baking time with foil over the top for the last 15. Very good, wholesome taste. Made with my own burnt butter cream cheese frosting. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwedishExpat October 16, 2009

Great cake! Dense and moist. I used pecans for the walnuts and also added raisins. Frosted with the basic cream cheese frosting. Thank you for posting this, I think it would translate well with (sweated) zucchini too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear September 05, 2009

I created a membership here just to add my review. Thank you so much "A Messy Cook"! The entire family kept going back to the cake pan to nibble on this light, flavorful carrot cake. I used 1-3/4 cup whole-wheat flour and 1/4 cup organic oat flour. I loved that 1-1/2 cups oil WAS NOT called for like other carrot cake recipes. Since my husband mistakenly picked up jumbo eggs at the market, this is what was used. The cake was amazingly light for a carrot cake. The cake was frosted with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting (7-Minute frosting made with reduced maple syrup whipped into egg whites, whipped cool, then cream cheese and butter whipped in with a half tsp maple flavoring and salt) Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dneilson June 20, 2009

I made this cake last week, and my children loved it, and know they like me to bake it again, this is the best recipe ever, thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hildahakim May 05, 2015
The Fantabulous Whole Wheat Carrot Cake