Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Fantabulous Whole Wheat Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Fantabulous Whole Wheat Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2011

      I went to a lovely moonlight wedding a couple of weeks ago, and this carrot cake was the wedding cake. The bride, who is somewhat of a gourmet chef herself, actually baked it. I have uploaded my photo of the cake so everyone can see how incredibly beautiful this cake can be. Everyone at the wedding raved about it, and this was a health-conscious crowd. If you go to the images, it is a flat cake with two heart-shaped cakes on top. You will also see some chocolate hearts wrapped in gold and gold flowers. The photo itself looks very golden because it was taken at night under the outdoor lights (and the moon was full!). Kathy, the bride, also had gold roses in her bouquet, one for each of the single ladies at the wedding. Oh, and she used spelt flour instead of whole wheat. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Very good and so much healthier than your average carrot cake! I replaced 1/2 the oil with applesauce and it still came out moist. The only thing I would do different in the future is add more spices. Thanks, Messy Cook; this will be my go-to carrot cake from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Very good recipe. I used nutmeg and ground ginger in addition to the cinnamon, and finely ground raw apple in place of pineapple, with excellent results. To make it into a birthday cake, I spread apple butter between the layers and poured an orange maple glaze on top -- really delicious and not too heavy after a big dinner. (For the glaze: melt 2 T. butter, heat with 1/4 c. pure maple syrup and the zest of an orange, then whisk in 1 c. powdered sugar. Pour immediately over the cooled cake.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Frosted this delicious cake with Cream Cheese Frosting! I am on WW and was glad to find a healthy cake that I would enjoy! Made it for Easter and it was a hit!! Used maple syrup instead of honey was the only change I made! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Truly delicious. The only change I made was more spices. I'm a big fan of extra spices, so added ginnger, cloves, and nutmeg, (and extra cinnamon, of course). I made topped one 8x8 with Broiled Coconut Topping which was fantastic, and froze the other one to enjoy later. P.S. this is even better the second day, moist, flavorful, fantabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Seriously, ONE THOUSAND STARS!! I made this as cupcakes (took 18 minutes to bake) for my son's 2nd birthday and got 24 lovely cupcakes. I added vanilla, as suggested by others, subbed applesauce for 1/2 the oil and added some chopped dates since I had some extra laying around. I frosted them with a lemon cream cheese icing, but thought they were spectacular without anything at all. Thanks so much for posting, I wish I had a reason to use this recipe more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Good carrot cake, really liked it with the whole wheat flour. Made a couple sub's; omitted pineapple and added toasted coconut and increased the oil a bit, reduced the amount of cinnamon to 1 t and added 2 t ground ginger (just a personal preference). I baked it in a 9 X 13 glass pan, but had to add about 20 minutes to the baking time with foil over the top for the last 15. Very good, wholesome taste. Made with my own burnt butter cream cheese frosting. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Great cake! Dense and moist. I used pecans for the walnuts and also added raisins. Frosted with the basic cream cheese frosting. Thank you for posting this, I think it would translate well with (sweated) zucchini too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I created a membership here just to add my review. Thank you so much "A Messy Cook"! The entire family kept going back to the cake pan to nibble on this light, flavorful carrot cake. I used 1-3/4 cup whole-wheat flour and 1/4 cup organic oat flour. I loved that 1-1/2 cups oil WAS NOT called for like other carrot cake recipes. Since my husband mistakenly picked up jumbo eggs at the market, this is what was used. The cake was amazingly light for a carrot cake. The cake was frosted with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting (7-Minute frosting made with reduced maple syrup whipped into egg whites, whipped cool, then cream cheese and butter whipped in with a half tsp maple flavoring and salt) Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Absolutely fantastic recipe. We've been avoiding eating white flour. It is so nice to find a recipe with whole wheat that tastes so good, not heavy. An amazing cake. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Delicious, doesn't even need the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Made this cake for Thanksgiving in two 9-inch cake pans. What a great recipe! I did what some of the other reviews advised - halved the oil and made up the difference with unsweetened applesauce. It came out beautifully and paired perfectly with light cream cheese frosting: 1 stick 1/3 fat cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar and a splash of vanilla extract. The cake was moist enough that just one batch of frosting covered the entire cake plus a later inside. I even had enough left to pipe a little carrot design (sort of)! I posted a picture in case anyone would like to see another example of the recipe. I will definitely be making it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This is a great recipe..but I like others left out oil and put in 3/4 cup applesauce,also added 1 tsp of ginger and nutmeg.I also made 1 loaf pan cake and the rest into muffins.But this is such an awesome recipe with no sugar,no oil.I also used unsweet applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Anyone know if I can omit the walnuts or replace them with a non-tree nut? My husband has severe tree nut allergies and this recipe sounds amazing. I have carrots from my garden that I'd like to use...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Let's put it this way...I'm making this again right now! Sooo yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      I made this as a healthy birthday cake alternative for a friend at work and got rave reviews. Very moist and flavorful. I used regular whole wheat flour vs. white whole wheat flour and it still looked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Amazing! Moist and delicious! Added some vanilla like others suggested. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Made this recipe into 24 cupcakes, baked 20 min @ 350 F. Really fantabulous-good and moist, not heavy; a keeper recipe! However, needs vanilla; a cream cheese icing with vanilla should rectify this. Thank you, A Messy Cook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I had this cake yesterday...without tweaking the recipe at all...it came out very well except that their was slight smell of eggs ....maybe a tsp of vanilla is missing...which would rectify that.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This cake was wonderful!! Made it for the first time for the holidays....it was loved by everyone. Nobody knew that it was made without sugar. I did add a little coconut to batter before baking. I iced the cake with #187817- cream cheese whipped cream frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I've shared this recipe with a lot of my friends and it's always been a hit. I's not just how tasty and moist it is but also the fact that it is very healthy and easy to do. I used regular whole wheat and half the honey. It is delicious, if you try it, you won't be wasting your time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Fantabulous Whole Wheat Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.8
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    52%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 316.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites