Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Famous Senate Restaurant Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Famous Senate Restaurant Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2009

      This is a wonderful bean soup recipe. I intend to use it this fall for football tailgate parties. My soup, while having great flavor, was a little short on the meat. The smoked ham hocks I used were the last pound and a half the store had the day I was shopping. I'm going to increase the ham hock amount from 1 1/2 lbs. to 3 lbs. next time. The volume of soup using the basic recipe was just right and allowed me to have additional meals. I work various shifts, and when I'm on the late shift I don't like to cook much so I prepare what I think I may want to eat that week in advance. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I made this for supper and it was absolutly perfect. I had saved two ham bones in the freezer, so they were thrown in along with 2 small ham hocks. The only change I made is that, roughly about half was blended up in a blender, then added back in to the pot to make a creamier soup. This made a huge pot of soup and half went into the freezer for my stash. It was the ticket for a day when we were having an ice storm, very comforting! Wonderful with skillet corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Super!!!! This has the perfect creamy texture with lots of beans! It's exactly like I thought the Senate Bean Soup would taste!! One of the best parts is that it cost around 5 U.S. dollars for a huge vat of hearty soup!!! My beans were soft and cooked at around 2.6 hours simmering so I began my onions then. I loved the method of braising the onions later and adding them at the end!!!!! This is where I added my seasoning, I added all the pepper to my onions and just a pinch of salt since hocks have plenty of salt. The onions gave a great flavor to the soup and they were visible which made the soup look so wonderful!!!! I will definitely use this method again in other soups!!! I love this soup and the history behind it too!!! Thanks so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I adore this recipe! I found it very smooth, and seriously soothing. I like this soup as it is written, and made it as such. I made this as directed, and it was perfect. I used ham hocks, and wonderful beans. Keep going my MilleR. RIP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      As with all great bean soup recipes, at least half the beans and liquid MUST BE PUREED after removing the hamhocks in order to achieve not only the texture but also the complex flavors of the soup. This recipe is okay, so far as it goes, but for really great bean soup, you need to make Zuppa di Fagioli, the great white bean soup from Tuscany. There are many variations on that recipe but if you can find one direct from Tuscany or one of the great restaurants in Florence or Sienna, you will understand what I am talking about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      This is the best (and simplest) soup I've ever made. I use a crock pot and let the beans and ham cook all day. Just before serving, I brown the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Very satisfying and tasty soup. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      There are no uncertainties here this soup is fabulous we used our slow cooker and followed the recipe exactly although midway had to fight my DH to put herbs and seasonings in it my response was if this soup is good enough for the Senate of the United States it will be good enough for us! My DH husband and I could not get over the flavour and the richness and he likes lots of pepper and me just a little salt perfect. Well it's two weeks later we pulled a container out of the freezer the other night another snowy day and warm bean soup and homemade bread sounded good, well this bean soup was absolutely outstanding the flavours married so beautifully that we have decided to make up a batch put it in the freezer to always have it on hand especially for company.This will remain a recipe I will use over the years to come thank you for a forever recipe MilleR ?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was very good bean soup. My family enjoyed this very much. It will be a keeper for me and I will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I had been looking for a good bean soup recipe after I ate some a friend had made. Came to zaar,of course, and found this one. I used great northern beans but the results were fabulous! What a treat for a cold winter day!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Yummy soup! Nice, simple soup that fills you up and is pretty healthy too. It did take some time to prep and cook though, so I'm not sure I'll be making this often. Soaked the beans overnight, used my crockpot and browned the onions just before serving. Warm and hearty and makes a ton too! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Famous Senate Restaurant Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.0
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    25%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 323.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 33.4 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes