154 Reviews

Wow - it didn't take long for my husband and I to scarf this down! I did as another reviewer suggested and waited until the last five minutes to sprinkle the cheese on top - great tip!! No question we'll be making this again. I also am curious to try it out as a pizza crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life April 01, 2010

This was my first attempt at Focaccia bread and i have to say this was the perfect recipe, it was very easy and delicious! I am going to try adding toppings next time. but this one was a perfect as well. We dipped in Olive Oil and Balsamic and it was heavenly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbyabe March 07, 2010

Just made this bread & everyone loved it!!! It was so easy and delicious. I used 1/2 regular flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I also omitted the mozzarella cheese, and instead topped the bread with rosemary, Jane's crazy mixed up salt, and Romano cheese. DELICIOUS!! I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Young December 07, 2003

True Foccacia bread has 1/2 cup of olive oil in it. This recipe uses two tablespoons. This is not authentic by any means.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark M. January 01, 2016

I'm afraid I Would have to give this recipe 1 star. I'm very disappointed, with so many good reviews I thought I found the perfect foccacia recipe..wrong. I just made the bread and it turned out dense not soft like the foccacia I've had. I've followed the instructions exactly as stated. The bread did not look nor taste like foccacia. The texture is closer to a biscuit. The flavor was okay...I will not be making this recipe again. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kronerbc December 28, 2015

I'm a pretty experienced cook and had misgivings making this recipe but thought, THIS time I will follow the recipe (being a kind of fast and loose type with recipes) I got a giant cracker. Tasted pretty good, maybe the army can use it for hard tack. Going to dig out my old focaccia recipe now ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous October 22, 2015

I wish I could give this zero stars. I'm so disappointed in this recipe!! The texture was completely off, not like real focaccia at all. Also, the baking time was totally wrong - at 13 minutes the dough was still completely raw in the oven. I'm honestly shocked that more people haven't had this same complaint. Try at your own risk....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous October 01, 2015

Ended up using this as a base. I used to have a really good focaccia recipe but I lost it. This recipe was so dry that I had to add an extra half cup of water. I omitted the mozz. Nice mix of herbs though :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria W. September 22, 2015

Hi I'm planning to make this bread this evening. However I'm not sure what does "when dough had pulled together" means. So appreciate if any of u cud pls advise. thank you normah

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
normah03 September 09, 2015

Thank you very much. This bread is so easy and turns out beautifully, I've already made it twice this week. I wonder if I could bake it with butter, cinnamon and sugar between two layers. I love all of the savory ways to change up this recipe, but I do appreciate something sweet...maybe something to cheer up a lonely bowl of oatmeal in the morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle P. August 22, 2015
The Easiest, Bestest Focaccia Bread Ever!!