Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Easiest, Bestest Focaccia Bread Ever!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Easiest, Bestest Focaccia Bread Ever!!

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      Wow. This is incredibly easy to make and tastes delicious. It really took me just one hour to make the bread and it rose and browned beautifully. I topped my bread with the olive oil, parmesan, a bit of sea salt, a light layer of an artichoke & caper tapenade I had in the frige, and then some sliced fresh tomatoes. Really, you could go nuts with toppings on the bread and try a lot of different combinations. It's a versatile recipe that I know I'll be making again, even during the week (did I mention it only takes one hour for this bread, start to finish?!?). Thanks for posting such an easy, excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This was VERY VERY VERY disappointing. Since typically, everything from this site that has a good rating is always great, I made this for my FIL's birthday dinner. It didn't look good and tasted a bit like a soft pretzel--NOT like foccacia. I wonder if the chef has had real foccacia before? I made 2 batches, one following directions exactly and then a second that would be a rosemary focaccia. It was easy, (used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix up the dough) but just wasn't foccacia. I WOULD NOT make it again and will be looking for a more authenic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I made this bread tonight and I thought it was fabulous. It was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. The only change I made was to top it with dried rosemary and I excluded the mozzarella cheese. I served it with oil and vinegar and my family loved it. Thank you, this was excellent! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      I thought this recipe was surprisingly good! Instead of garlic powder, I used rosemary (because I didn't have any garlic powder) and I thought that that was something that it definitely needed anyway. Really yummy foccacia always has rosemary in it! Instead of mozzarella, I used chedder which turned out really good. I personally think it would have been nasty with mozzarella. The only thing that I was kind of disappointed about was that the outside was kind of hard and the bread was a little bit dense. But it was still really, really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2002

      I've tried several other foccacia bread recipes and this has been the best so far. I made 2 breads---one with the cheese and one without and preferred the bread without the cheese. Easy to make and tastes wonderful! I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      OMG, it's *fabulous*. I sub 4 cloves of fresh garlic (pressed) for the garlic powder but otherwise follow the recipe exactly. I make this bread once or twice every week, varying toppings to go with what I'm cooking. For those reviewers who found the texture too dense, try making the bread thinner (1/4" instead of 1/2").

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      This really is delicious... so good that I made it twice in the last three days. The first time I made it, I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and it was great. Today I made it with 1/2 whole wheat flour and it was great (I like to see what percentage whole wheat I can use without sacrificing great flavor and texture). I am not a big cheese lover, so I cut the mozzarella to a scant cup... that was fine. Tonight I cut the pieces in half through the center for sandwiches (roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and red onions as well as raw spinach... roasted mushrooms would be great too... I used an aioli that was delicious: http://italian.food.com/recipe/tapas-177s-rosemary-a-oli-383193 . Mmmmm, restaurant quality.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      I'm really bad at baking breads, but this one was relly simple and the results were enjoyable. I added chargrilled peppers on top with some extra garlic and cheddar as I find mozzarella to bland for my taste. However, I also added a few blocks of mozzarella into the dough so when you cut it open some places have a bit of cheese. I'm just impressed that I was able to bake ths with such ease - it gave ma a lot more confidence to try my hand at bread baking. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      I would recommend adding the sugar to the yeast water mixture to ensure that the bread is less dense. Otherwise, quite tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      This a very easy bread to make and it comes out perfect everytime! Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I really wanted to take a picture of this lovely focaccia bread, but we ate it all up already! Wow, it was the lightest and most tender focaccia that I've ever had. Puts the grocery store focaccia to shame. It was really easy to put together as well. I didn't add the dried herbs, but used onion and garlic powder and added some sauteed garlic to the dough itself. I made half of mine topped as directed by the recipe and the other half added sauteed spinach and sundried tomatoes with crumbled feta and coarse sea salt. Both versions were great! I think, however, that for the tomatoes and spinach, I would add them in the last 10 minutes of baking so they don't get so crisp and dark. I plan on trying this recipe again in an 8' cake pan and letting it sit in the fridge overnight next time, so it can be a little taller for sandwiches and have a little more of a tang from the yeast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Very good and very easy! I just wanted something different tonight to make with sandwiches and this was just perfect. I omitted the mozzarella cheese and added dries rosemary on the top. This was fantastic and I will be making it again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I made this in a stone baking pan so it took a bit longer to bake than specified, but it was delicious and so easy to make! I topped it with pesto, mozza, and chopped olives, and subbed half the flour with whole wheat flour. Exactly what I was looking for!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This bread is amazing! I added extra garlic and topped mine with mozzarella, cheddar, an Italian blend and Parmesan (we really like cheese!) and I baked it for about 20 minutes so that the cheese got really baked on. We ate it with soup and are excited to use for sandwiches. I love how easy and fast it is to make! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Only change I made was to increase the salt in the dough a tad bit and add freshly cracked pepper on top before baking. The taste is wonderful, the texture just right for focaccia. This will be made again and again in our household. Perfect tonight to go with Classic Baked Ziti. A real winner of a recipe. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Very, very nice Fociccia! I only had 2 and 1/2 cups flour so I added 1/4 cup Italian Bread Crumbs. Gave it such a nice rustic bite and texture. I will do that next time as well. I did mess up and add 1 teaspoon black pepper which I will do again. Topped it off with caramelized onions and garlic as well as some fresh thyme leaves and coarse sea salt. Fast to make, came together like a dream, turned out fantastic! What more can you ask for!! Thanks for Posting, Di ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Another great review:) Made the dough in my bread machine. Ing. in this order: 2 1/2 tsp ABM yeast flour salt sugar garlic powder herb mix pepper 1 T veg oil water Mixed on dough setting, removed it partway through to proceed w/ recipe from step 5. My ABM allows for warmth and rise time but dough tends to dry out on the top so I did the oil, bowl and cover thing. Topped with kosher salt, herb blend, parmesan shreds and sundried tomato spread. Really easy and great results. Don't think I need to look for another recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Wow - it didn't take long for my husband and I to scarf this down! I did as another reviewer suggested and waited until the last five minutes to sprinkle the cheese on top - great tip!! No question we'll be making this again. I also am curious to try it out as a pizza crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was my first attempt at Focaccia bread and i have to say this was the perfect recipe, it was very easy and delicious! I am going to try adding toppings next time. but this one was a perfect as well. We dipped in Olive Oil and Balsamic and it was heavenly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      Just made this bread & everyone loved it!!! It was so easy and delicious. I used 1/2 regular flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I also omitted the mozzarella cheese, and instead topped the bread with rosemary, Jane's crazy mixed up salt, and Romano cheese. DELICIOUS!! I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Easiest, Bestest Focaccia Bread Ever!!

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    34%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 11.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 296.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes