147 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. This is incredibly easy to make and tastes delicious. It really took me just one hour to make the bread and it rose and browned beautifully. I topped my bread with the olive oil, parmesan, a bit of sea salt, a light layer of an artichoke & caper tapenade I had in the frige, and then some sliced fresh tomatoes. Really, you could go nuts with toppings on the bread and try a lot of different combinations. It's a versatile recipe that I know I'll be making again, even during the week (did I mention it only takes one hour for this bread, start to finish?!?). Thanks for posting such an easy, excellent recipe.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette July 14, 2002

This was VERY VERY VERY disappointing. Since typically, everything from this site that has a good rating is always great, I made this for my FIL's birthday dinner. It didn't look good and tasted a bit like a soft pretzel--NOT like foccacia. I wonder if the chef has had real foccacia before? I made 2 batches, one following directions exactly and then a second that would be a rosemary focaccia. It was easy, (used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix up the dough) but just wasn't foccacia. I WOULD NOT make it again and will be looking for a more authenic recipe.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke July 29, 2002

I made this bread tonight and I thought it was fabulous. It was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. The only change I made was to top it with dried rosemary and I excluded the mozzarella cheese. I served it with oil and vinegar and my family loved it. Thank you, this was excellent! :)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani August 02, 2002

I thought this recipe was surprisingly good! Instead of garlic powder, I used rosemary (because I didn't have any garlic powder) and I thought that that was something that it definitely needed anyway. Really yummy foccacia always has rosemary in it! Instead of mozzarella, I used chedder which turned out really good. I personally think it would have been nasty with mozzarella. The only thing that I was kind of disappointed about was that the outside was kind of hard and the bread was a little bit dense. But it was still really, really good!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zephron 2000 November 24, 2002

I've tried several other foccacia bread recipes and this has been the best so far. I made 2 breads---one with the cheese and one without and preferred the bread without the cheese. Easy to make and tastes wonderful! I'll definitely make this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolyn bellino October 12, 2002

OMG, it's *fabulous*. I sub 4 cloves of fresh garlic (pressed) for the garlic powder but otherwise follow the recipe exactly. I make this bread once or twice every week, varying toppings to go with what I'm cooking. For those reviewers who found the texture too dense, try making the bread thinner (1/4" instead of 1/2").

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellen January 14, 2010

I would recommend adding the sugar to the yeast water mixture to ensure that the bread is less dense. Otherwise, quite tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elmphyl_503 February 13, 2014

This really is delicious... so good that I made it twice in the last three days. The first time I made it, I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and it was great. Today I made it with 1/2 whole wheat flour and it was great (I like to see what percentage whole wheat I can use without sacrificing great flavor and texture). I am not a big cheese lover, so I cut the mozzarella to a scant cup... that was fine. Tonight I cut the pieces in half through the center for sandwiches (roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and red onions as well as raw spinach... roasted mushrooms would be great too... I used an aioli that was delicious: http://italian.food.com/recipe/tapas-177s-rosemary-a-oli-383193 . Mmmmm, restaurant quality.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW July 14, 2010

I'm really bad at baking breads, but this one was relly simple and the results were enjoyable. I added chargrilled peppers on top with some extra garlic and cheddar as I find mozzarella to bland for my taste. However, I also added a few blocks of mozzarella into the dough so when you cut it open some places have a bit of cheese. I'm just impressed that I was able to bake ths with such ease - it gave ma a lot more confidence to try my hand at bread baking. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Beeton wannabe September 17, 2003

Best ever.... very Simple. If you are looking for a great Focaccia Bread your search ends here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevinhullinger65 April 28, 2014
The Easiest, Bestest Focaccia Bread Ever!!