Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Dessert Bible's Vanilla Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Dessert Bible's Vanilla Pudding

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2010

      I needed a soft dessert for my poor BBF who had a tooth pulled today and this was the perfect choice. It took very little time and I had everything in the house. The only suggestion I have is to add a little more cornstarch in the beginning because it does run a little thin. I added it too late so I couldn't get all the lumps out but it was still yummy. It is much less sweet than the boxed stuff and without that metallic aftertaste. I simmered some frozen raspberries with a little sugar,cornstarch and orange extract and it made a great simple nice looking dessert. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This tasted great but I didn't care for the very thin consistency. I used almost double the cornstarch, would try again with even a bit more. The big advantage, anyone would have everythign they need to make this in the cupboard at home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I am pretty sure I've made this before.... the name looks familiar... anyhow very happy. I quadrupled the recipe as I have lots of milk and cream to use up. Which brings me to the point that living in Australia means that I have to make my own half n' half... which is of course easy LOL... I used 1/2 Full Cream Milk and 1/2 Cream which is just pure cream nothing added to it. Only thing is it's quite sweet as this would normally accompany another dessert element that is sweet it wouldn't need to be so sweet. I also want to try it with cocoa to make it chocolate next time. My end result is 2 litres!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      saw tameretta's review this a.m. and whipped up a double batch (had my neices's & their kids for lunch) was a HUGE hit.. I can't believe how EASY it is..although to be truthful the 5 minutes of constant stirring had me thinking my arm might fall off.. but I did exactly as you said to do in your directions... and it turned out wonderful.. BOTH nieces took home the recipe and will now frequent Zaar...so I'm sure they will review when they make it.. thanks for this it will be made many times

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I have made the chocolate counterpart many times (#76491), but this is my first attempt at the vanilla. I combined all ingredients and cooked in the microwave for about 5 mins, stirring after each min. I also used lo fat milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2. Watch closely though if you cook it in the microwave (or put it in an oversized glass bowl) or it will make a huge mess (I know this from first hand chocolate experience!!!) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loved this vanilla pudding. The recipe I have is slightly different. I got my copy from Southern Food at About.com. My copy calls for 3 cups milk, 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp salt, and the vanilla is the same. The directions say to scald 2 2/3 cup milk. Then in a bowl mix the sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Stir in remaining 1/3 cup milk. Add to scalded milk and cook over low heat, stirring constantly until thickened and smooth. Continue cooking for 5 minutes to cook the cornstarch. Cool pudding slightly, then stir in vanilla extract and pour into serving dishes. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      The flavor of this pudding was great! The consistency was good too, although I added just a little flour to thicken it up more (I like really thick pudding). I also didn't have any half-and-half but this came out great with plain old milk! I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Wonderful! Love the creamy texture. Was a tiny bit too sweet (I'm losing my sweet tooth) but delicious nonetheless. Will do it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This was gorgeous! I doubled the amount and used a whole vanilla pod. Split it in half lengthwise, scrapped out the seeds and stirred it into the milk mixture. I threw in the cut-up pod as well. I also increased the cornstarch amount to 2.5 - 3tbs for a nice thick pudding. I would also cut back on the sugar but that is a matter of personal taste. I love this recipe as it doesn't have any eggs! Hubby took one spoonful and went "MMMMM!!!" I can use Splenda/Equal and low fat milk in this recipe so I am very pleased with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      I have made this twice now. Once with half and half (and 2 tsp. vanilla), and once with soymilk, per the suggestion of Jenny Sanders on the discussion boards here. The half and half one was very simple; basically just cool sweet cream. I think that might have been better with a vanilla bean rather than extract, but I did use extract (which this recipe calls for). I actually preferred the soymilk version, which had a nice mellow taste. The soymilk version was sweeter, so you could probably reduce the sugar, and a bit thinner, so if you wanted it thick you could probably increase the cornstarch a bit. I think both versions were better cold. This was the best and most basic eggless vanilla pudding I have tried so far. Thanks sis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Dessert Bible's Vanilla Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.7
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    52%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 122.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites