60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! Not-too-sweet, like the recipe says. Karo syrup is corn syrup, incidentally. I used the 'regular' kind, not light, or dark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 January 12, 2013

This is DELICIOUS! I was looking for a chewy caramel popcorn that I didn't have to bake in the oven and that would be done quickly...This is it! I'm eating now while it's still warm. :-) I will definitely be making this often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleighsmom529 June 22, 2012

Delicious and so easy! I used butter instead of margarine and cut the recipe in half for all ingredients except the popcorn. It still turned out fabulous and super sweet. I think next time I will cut the recipe down to 1/4 for everything but the popcorn, making it just slightly sweet. This stuff is so good we almost ate it all in one sitting. I guess I'd feel better about eating it all if I knew I wasn't eating a whole stick of butter and 1 cup of sugar!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiianBaker March 25, 2012

I didn't realize I hadn't rated this yet. GREAT recipe! I have made this every year for the past 3 years in the Fall. People start asking for my 'homemade cracker jacks' about September, and it's all because of this recipe. I make popcorn the 'old fashioned' way on top of the stove and go from there. A really great recipe, and it makes a great gift!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingBlues January 27, 2012

Perfect caramel! I halved the recipe and put some in the oven to see the difference. Still waiting. In the meantime, the 'gooey' version is actually a very good consistency and tastes fantastic! *update* The kids prefered the oven batch, especially when it comes to braces; came out crisp and crunchy after 30 min at 250 and one stir. Thanks for sharing. I'll probably use this caramel for other things too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GuavaJelli November 06, 2011

Delicious! I baked @ 250 for about 30 minutes, stirring 3 times. My 3 year old can't get enough! We're making another batch to give to kids on our street tomorrow night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 October 30, 2009

I made up pop corn balls for a halloween party and decided to try this one for a change. It came out great and the balls were eaten up during the party and the rest were taken home by anxious guests requesting a baggie to travel! I loved them and look forward to making them again for Christmas for the kiddies in my family! Thank you for sharing this keeper! Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen October 28, 2009

This is an easy way to make caramel corn and very good too. I guess I should have read some of the other reviews first about baking it afterwards because mine is a little chewy (partly too because it was really humid today). Made as is except sub'd butter for margarine. Will make again! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 10, 2009

Awesome! Loved it! I made a few minor changes... To make it easy... I popped 3 full bags of Butter popcorn in microwave, then used all butter instead of margarine, and then added a cup of roasted peanuts, and finally cooked it in the oven as others did. This is easy, and a definite keeper for family and guests!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJTYELLA June 19, 2009
The Clockmaker's Caramel Coated Popcorn (A Haunted Recipe)