60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very yummy. i halfed the recipe, cooking the caramel mixture in the microwave instead of the stove top. takes about 2 minutes. i used 8 cups of popcorn. it was not too sticky and not to hard, just right! this is a keepr. i couldn't even wait for it to cool before digging in. p.s. try putting it in a big brown bag after it has all been stirred together and then microwaving for 1 1/2 minutes. It makes each kernel indiviually caramelized and not sticky at all.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver March 07, 2010

This is an amazing recipe, I have made it for myself and my siblings and it's so good! I definately like cruncy caramel popcorn so I baked it for an hour at 250 degrees and it was delicious! Another thing me and my little sibling have done is add peanuts when it's sticky and then roll in popcorn balls, anyway you do it's just yummy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catygurl May 29, 2010

Mmm. This was just the type of caramel popcorn I was craving! I used 10 cups of popcorn - next time I think I'll use between 12 and 15. It makes a very sticky caramel corn with only 10 cups! 12/09 Made this again with about 14 cups of popcorn and it was perfect - just sticky enough to make popcorn balls with. (I should mention I used hard margarine both times I've made this.)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn December 23, 2009

My daughter made this after gleaning tips from the other reviews. It is INCREDIBLE!! She did one stick of margarine, one stick of butter, doubled the popcorn amount, and spread the mixture onto two greased cookie sheets to cook at 250 for 30 minutes, stirring 1/2 way through. Wonderful! We bagged it up in goodie bags for our neighbors for a happier Halloween. Thanks for a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Happy at Home October 31, 2008

Love this recipe..the only thing is I used Light Brown Sugar the first time and Dark the second. In my opinion the Light came out soo much better!! Delicious recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCSosa February 22, 2011

This was the best caramel corn I have ever made or found!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzie December 18, 2010

Excellent caramel popcorn! I like my caramel popcorn sticky, so it perfectly suited to my tastes. My husband likes it more crunchy, so I put half the popcorn in the oven for a half hour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cocolocorose May 27, 2010

This is a wonderfully flavored caramel popcorn recipe, but a mention of a couple things. I read all the reviews and agree, it needs to go into the oven (250F. for 30 min, stirring once) as some bites are 'jawbreaking' where there is a lot of caramel. The recipe does make a large amount of caramel, so we would recommend 15-20 cups of popcorn (thereby perhaps no need to bake), and finally a note to self: Add more salt or some salted peanuts or cashews next time and try making this using splenda. Our clock did not stop, but we didn't stop eating the popcorn either! Thanks for sharing the recipe. :) ps: Chef #671577, as directed, remove from heat 'before' adding the baking soda. ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu February 25, 2009

Okay so I have the same exact recipe in a cookbook here. It is absolutely delicious. Here are some tricks that are in my recipe and that I've come across when I make it. Make sure you do use medium heat or else the carmel will burn. If you want it more melt in your mouth than sticky, bake the carmel corn at 250 for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. Then definitely store in an air tight container to keep it from sticking (that is if there are any leftovers :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama.sears October 26, 2008

This popcorn is very tasty. Great buttery carmel flavor. I would recommend spraying the bowl you mix it in with a nonstick cooking spray first. I was surprised at how quick and easy it was.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pkinsley0794 October 20, 2008
The Clockmaker's Caramel Coated Popcorn (A Haunted Recipe)