28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were absolutely delicious sandwiches !!!! Ham and gruyere go so well together. I cooked it perhaps a few minutes too long or should of cooked on a lower heat in the skillet but they turned out wonderful anyways. Had this with a lovely bowl of soup. This is such a filling sandwich...but oh so yummy. Thanks for sharing your recipe French Tart..always a pleasure doing your recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny August 28, 2010

I'm not giving this stars, because I didn't have gruyere and just used cheese. Plus, I forgot the salt and pepper. Saying that, I did enjoy it. I make this without the egg all the time, but the egg added a little more "heart police" to the mix. Next week, I'm getting a better class of ham, gruyere and will rate it then.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ May 29, 2010

This is sooooooo good! I would give it 100 stars if I could.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Turanga Leela January 22, 2010

Yummy! This was a great sandwich! The egg made it somewhat different and special. I added garlic to my egg. I'll be making this again. Thanks for all you have done to make Everyday's a Holiday special.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night July 30, 2009

This is a recipe that is really enjoyed by my family. My Daughter made this for ZWT5 and today was made for her and bunch of her friends for a special lunch. Made to honor French Tart for all the wonderful things she does.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn July 13, 2009

This was a recipe that my French teacher suggested we try. It is a great ham and cheese sandwich with french toast sides. I added some chives and capers to my sandwich for a little added flavor. Made for ZWT5 for the Genies of Gourmet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandyLovesPandys June 14, 2009

Oh, Tarty, you naughty girl. How will I ever eat a plain old grilled cheese again? This is SO good. I made just one sandwich and split it with my three-year-old who loved it as much as I did. I used American cheese, as it was what I had on hand. I've filed this away with my favorites. Made for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss June 09, 2009

This is so yummy. I made this for breakfast. I used reduced-fat swiss cheese. No salt and pepper for us. Thanks French Tart :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 30, 2009

C'est si bon! Made for lunch. Hubby was quite pleased.Made in a skillet. Will definitely make again. Made for Rail Riding Rowdies for ZWT 5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas May 29, 2009
The Classic French Bistro Sandwich - Croque Monsieur