Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Classic French Bistro Sandwich - Croque Monsieur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Classic French Bistro Sandwich - Croque Monsieur

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2010

      These were absolutely delicious sandwiches !!!! Ham and gruyere go so well together. I cooked it perhaps a few minutes too long or should of cooked on a lower heat in the skillet but they turned out wonderful anyways. Had this with a lovely bowl of soup. This is such a filling sandwich...but oh so yummy. Thanks for sharing your recipe French Tart..always a pleasure doing your recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I'm not giving this stars, because I didn't have gruyere and just used cheese. Plus, I forgot the salt and pepper. Saying that, I did enjoy it. I make this without the egg all the time, but the egg added a little more "heart police" to the mix. Next week, I'm getting a better class of ham, gruyere and will rate it then.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Great sandwich, made and served with French Onion Soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      This is sooooooo good! I would give it 100 stars if I could.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Yummy! This was a great sandwich! The egg made it somewhat different and special. I added garlic to my egg. I'll be making this again. Thanks for all you have done to make Everyday's a Holiday special.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is a recipe that is really enjoyed by my family. My Daughter made this for ZWT5 and today was made for her and bunch of her friends for a special lunch. Made to honor French Tart for all the wonderful things she does.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was a recipe that my French teacher suggested we try. It is a great ham and cheese sandwich with french toast sides. I added some chives and capers to my sandwich for a little added flavor. Made for ZWT5 for the Genies of Gourmet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Oh, Tarty, you naughty girl. How will I ever eat a plain old grilled cheese again? This is SO good. I made just one sandwich and split it with my three-year-old who loved it as much as I did. I used American cheese, as it was what I had on hand. I've filed this away with my favorites. Made for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This is so yummy. I made this for breakfast. I used reduced-fat swiss cheese. No salt and pepper for us. Thanks French Tart :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      C'est si bon! Made for lunch. Hubby was quite pleased.Made in a skillet. Will definitely make again. Made for Rail Riding Rowdies for ZWT 5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Thanks for giving us something new to try. It was good, neither of us thought it was something we'd go through the trouble for again. Needed something else to help kick up the flavor - we tried dipping in dijon mustard, but that was overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This is a great recipe if you are looking for an alterative to your basic grilled cheese sandwich. My husband doesn't care for sandwiches but he really enjoyed this one. Anything that has cheese melted on it, he's all about that. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I made this in the skillet, and it was a great lunch. Very rich and very filling. I added fresh mixed ground pepper to the egg mixture, leaving the salt out. I thought the ham and cheese would provide enough salt for me. I could only handle half of my sandwich, but my teenage DS ate 3 for his lunch! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Tres savoureux! I added chopped onion, mustard, and white pepper to the egg mixture. Did the oven technique but next time will put it in a 375 degree oven so it is faster. This would be marvelous with a fried egg. I served with Salad Greens With Oranges, Strawberries and Vanilla Vinaigrette for a wonderful lunch. Merci French Tart for "taking me" on a jaunt in France. Made during French visit of ZWT5 for Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I opted for the oven method-- and it worked well, I chose to sprinkle parmesan on top of the sandwiches and broil the last few minutes. A tasty treat that everybody ate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      These were incredible, and with the egg on top (in for a penny ....) they were amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Fabulous sandwich -- delicious and so easy to make. I made it for a kid-friendly challenge for Zaar World Tour, but I didn't have any kids. So I recruited the dogs. The photos document their participation, but show it in the reverse. The dog on the sofa was the last image -- he was just plain tuckered out after all that cooking. We all had a good laugh -- and a fantastic lunch! Thanks FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Have a heart attack with us! Made for ZWT4, this was a wonderful sandwich. I put the fried egg on top of the sammie, so then it would be called Croque Madame. (?) I wasn't sure but it made sense that the fried egg would be on top, and we ate with knife and fork. Hmmm could there be a person that wouldn't like this treat? Not in my house! Picky daughter loved, her boyfriend asked for me to keep one warm for him for later...I told him "no, I'll make it fresh for you next time." I made mine with Rye bread, the rest with white. Made with some oven fries. WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Utterly outstanding. I love these things. I do wish you had included a bechamel recipe version. Perhaps soon? Thanks for providing this recipe, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Yummy! Like French Toast, with a little ham & cheese surprise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Classic French Bistro Sandwich - Croque Monsieur

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.6
     
    Calories from Fat 324
    66%
    Total Fat 36.0 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 184.7 mg
    61%
    Sodium 587.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites