Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Camellia Grill's Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Camellia Grill's Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2010

      Hi..I haven't tried this recipe yet and I have never baked a pecan pie!!! So, I am a little concerned should it come out "runny" as per some comments posted. Another fellow RecipeZaar member noted in another post the following suggestion: "Bake at 350 for 45 to 50 minutes or until center is set. If using an electric oven you might have to add 15 to 20 minutes to the baking time. In either case, test with a toothpick after 45 minutes." This is going to be my plan, keeping my fingers crossed! I'll let you know if this does the trick...thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Fantastic pecan pie! Made it for my husbands birthday as he doesn't like cake and requested pecan pie. I think we've started a new tradition! We will be using this recipe from now on. I also let the pecan float to the top so they were glazed, and had to adjust the cooking time to about 70 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

    • on December 25, 2009

      Delicious flavor. I poured the pecans in the crust then poured the filling over it. Glazed the pecans beautifully. The baking time in the recipe is definitely off -- I baked closer to 60 - 70 minutes. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Its a great recipe, super easy. I put some of the chopped on bottom of crust and put whole pecans and the rest of chopped pecans on the top. It adds a more complex nut flavor by roasting some and caramelizing the ones that rise from the bottom. **For those with problems. Make sure the rack is in the center of the oven, use an oven thermometer to make sure oven is correct temp. If it is browning more on one side rotate pie. I had to cook the pie for the full time plus a few more min. Pie is done when a toothpick inserted in the pie one inch from the side comes out clean. Dark brown sugar gives a darker pie. Make sure you use karo syrup that is only corn syrup and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I don't know what I did wrong but my pie didnt set up, it has great flavor so we ate it anyway but it was more like soup with a pecan crust. My top burned some so i took it out of the oven after trying to cook it a few mins more to get it to set maybe i need to cook it at a lower temp for a longer amount of time .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Flavor was very good, but cooking time did not set the pie. Followed directions to the tee and it was still runny. Made this pie twice and had to double the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      The cooking time seems woefully short. I went fifty minutes, and the pie had not settled at all. I recommend going at least 60 minutes, but probably closer to 70 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Totally out of this world!!! I served it at thanksgiving and the entire group thought it was the best pie ever!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Such a simple recipe and sooooo good! I used a frozen pie crust that I had handy and it mixed up in about 5 minutes. It turned out so pretty I had to post a picture since this recipe didn't have one yet. I will be definitely making one of these for Christmas dinner! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I've made this recipe twice now for a friend who claims to be a Pecan Pie Snob. He loves it and talks about it all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      itried this for thanksgiving and was dissapointed it came out rnny and icky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Excellent!!! I made this for my Grandfather for Christmas (pecan pie is his favorite and my Grandmother hates it), he said it was the best pie he had ever had. He returned the pie plate with a note that said, "please refill as soon as possible".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I must have done something wrong because the first time I made this pie it was very runny and never set up. Tasted good though. I made it a second time and only thing I did different (I think, ha) was use alot more than 1 cup of pecans and chopped them up very fine. Came out perfect. I will definatly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I have made this pie twice in the last 2 days. I used light brown sugar on the 1st and thought it looked a little funny so I used dark brown on the 2nd. I thought the dark made it look more appealing, but it tasted GREAT both ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I made this and took it to Thanksgiving dinner with my husbands family. I actually do not like pecan pie, so I did not eat any, but my husband & everyone else said it was excellent, and they all wanted the recipe. I was nervous because I had never made a pecan pie before and didn't know what it was supposed to look like or taste like, but this recipe was a success, so I will definately keep it on hand for the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was very good. Thanks for posting. Rachel Castle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

    • on November 15, 2007

      this pie is beautiful. thank you for posting it. And if someone is going to make it: flollow the directions exactly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I used this recipe for my first attempt at making a pecan pie when getting together with friends for Thanksgiving. It turned out so well and everyone liked it so much that I made it again for a family get-together near Christmas. All the family was very impressed with it as well. I didn't sprinkle my pecans on top after pouring the "filling" mixture into the pan, though. I pooured the pecans into the pie shell, poured the "filling" in and baked. the pecans rose to the tope and were beautifully glazed and browned. Very Tasty!!! I'm so glad you posted this recipe and that I found it. It took so long for me to review it because either I didn't save to my cookbook, or I inadvertentlly deleted it from my cookbook. Anyway, finally found it again so I'm reviewing before I forget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Camellia Grill's Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.9
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    39%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 80.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 207.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 32.1 g
    128%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites