9 Reviews

This recipe was awesome!!! I reduced the cheese to 4 oz as well. I also added sliced lemons & roma tomatoes on top for extra garnish/flavor. The lemon on top is amazing!! My husband usually drenches his meatloaf with ketchup but he didn't add one drop to this meatloaf and he said it had so much flavor there wasn't any need to add ketchup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilgg25 April 27, 2010

This was wonderful....full of flavor. I cut the cheese to 4 oz. (I used provolone, that's what I had), used dried oregano instead of thyme, otherwise followed the recipe. Very moist & flavorful. Thanks for the post!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau February 03, 2010

No shocker here - another winner from Kitten! DH and I love meatloaf and I'm forever trying new recipes. This rates right at the top. DH cannot tolerate mushrooms in any form, so I did have to omit those, but I added an additional 1/4 lb. ground beef and a bit more parmesan and breadcrumbs. I used chili sauce and did add a bit (not too much) chili sauce on top before I baked. I agree w/ a previous reviewer - this formed the most delicious sort of crispy exterior that I crave - had no problems slicing either. Served with au gratins and green beans. Will be made time and time again here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Brogan January 10, 2010

And I quote, "Sorry Honey, but this is waaay better than your usual meatloaf!" It was very moist and easy to slice without falling apart. My husband LOVED this, but I didn't really like that I could taste the cheddar and the thyme. The mushrooms were a terrific addition that I would have never thought of.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens January 06, 2010

KITTENCAL, I make meatloaf often and this recipe is one I'll now be making often. Fabulously flavoursome: a great blend of flavours. I also just love it that I never have to increase the garlic when I make your recipes! The only change I made was to omit the ketchup (which I don't like and never buy) and to slightly increase the yoghurt, something I've never added to a meatloaf. WOW! it certainly has to be the secret ingredient here! I used Greek yoghurt (pretty much the only yoghurt I ever buy). Thank you for sharing yet another fabulous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder January 11, 2009

My old meatloaf recipe just lost its right to a place in my recipe binder to THIS one. Ohhhhhhhhh m'gawd, this is fabulous. So moist and full of flavor and texture! How do you DO this??? I was going to broil it for a few minutes at the end because we love an almost crispy crust, but couldn't do that with my silicon loaf pan. However, after letting it sit (for as long as it took me to photograph), it produced a nice, firm crust we almost fought for. If it wasn't for the fact that the entire loaf was as tasty as the outside, I might be divorced today. Ha! We both loved it so much, we had seconds, and I NEVER have seconds. I did use 1/2 beef, half ground pork and omitted the bell pepper for our tastes, but otherwise followed everything as written using chili sauce as the tomato ingredient resulting in one keeper of a recipe. Never would I have thought of using yogurt, but wow, now it almost makes no sense NOT to! Kitten, there are a lot of great chefs on this site, but yours have become my all-time favorite, no-fail winners... never deserving of fewer than 5 stars and mostly worthy of MORE! ;) It all started with Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes and I was set to propose right then and there. *lol* Thanks again, sweet thang!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) May 05, 2007

My boyfriend really liked this, and I enjoyed the addition of the fresh mushrooms. It had a lovely crust on it and good flavor. I didn't change my dislike of meatloaf, which I believe is more a consistency issue than a taste issue. However there are a LOT of steps to this and it too long to put together for me to go out of my way to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hippie2MARS August 07, 2012

This is a great twist on ordinary meatloaf. Mine held its shape but once it was cut it fell apart. No worries cause it was ending up in the same place.... our tummies! Thanks Kitz for a wonderful dinner and I hope you are felling better! Love, Cheryl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 16, 2008

I didn't add thyme in the meatloaf. I used ketchup. I liked the addition of cheddar cheese, yogurt... It's one of the best I did. It's more than 5 stars. It was enjoyed a lot and was gone so fast. Thanks Kit :) Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 01, 2007
The Cadillac of Meatloaf