38 Reviews

Thanks for such a GREAT recipe, Di! Very delicious! Had company over and everyone really loved them! A guest did not care for green onions, so I minced about 1/2 C sweet onion, (I doubled the recipe); I used ground garlic, wet in the jar, same for ginger, and used only 1/2 of the amount for doubled recipe, but will use more next time. Didn't know if the ground would be too powerful...but these were SO good! Yum!!! :o) UPDATE: Diana, Had these again tonight and followed the recipe exactly! These still get 5 stars from me, (*****) but don't know if it's fair to do that again. But! I wanted everyone out there to know that these are simply the best! And the aroma while they are cooking is enough to make you want to eat them all to yourself! No sharing!!! lol We will always make our burgers this way from here on out! (BTW, it was our anniversary tonight and we all agreed that this was more enjoyable than eating out in some overly priced restaurant!!) I can never thank you enough for posting this recipe!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 May 07, 2002

Not your ordinary burger, these are fantastic. Even the fussy eater of the family was impressed. We ate them on fresh bread rolls with salad and sweet chilli sauce. You have got to try them!!!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS February 27, 2002

I'm not using stars because I don't want to degrade a recipe everyone enjoys. I, personally, think this recipe would make a lovely meat loaf but I did not care for it as a hamburger. The flavor is interesting and it is tasty, but the hamburgers did not stay together well. They didn't actually totally fall apart, but they just weren't as consistant as a regular, plain grilled hamburger. My husband thought they were good and I have 2 more patties in the freezer, so we will have them again. I think maybe I expected too much.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK April 03, 2002

These were really good burgers. I omitted the ginger, personal taste, and increased the garlic a bit. I made some without the "sauce" as well - DH doesn't like sesame oil. He ended up eating the ones with the sauce and loved them! These were really tasty - you don't really need condiments b/c of the wonderful taste. I found them to be a bit of an "asian" taste - so next time I may add some chopped up water chestnuts for a variation. Great recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert March 22, 2002

Great flavours, loved the coriander in them. Certainly will be a favourite in this house from now on.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* February 04, 2002

Diana, These sound absolutely wonderful and I am going to try these next Monday. I love hoisin sauce and sesame oil and I am just so excited - can't wait. Will let you know how they are!! (It's a shame to get this excited about food!!!)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky Bryant August 05, 2001

I don't really like hamburgers but I do like anything with an Asian flair to it. These were good. I added a lot more garlic and hoisin as well as some black bean paste. They grilled up beautifully and were well received by all. Great recipe Diana.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 17, 2002

This burger is truly the best!!! It is so moist and juicy and the best flavor. I highly recommend this recipe and will now be the only one I will use. No restaurant can come close to having a better one. Thanks for sharing!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donna moore June 04, 2002

These burgers were absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing on this recipe. Served with nice, juicy slices of raw Vidalia onions - yum! Even DH loved these (and I had to sneak the sesame oil in!). I made these ahead of time, ready for the grill whenever YOU are! These will become a summer grill-out favorite! Thanks, Di!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee May 27, 2002

How have I missed this recipe - every Saturday I've been trying new hamburger recipes and I think the next one won't compare will they have and this recipe is right up there with the winners! I mixed half buffalo & half beef. Served it with raw red onion, tomatoe, sauted mushrooms and hot peri peri sauce. Thanks Diana for another winner

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 28, 2002
The Bomb Burgers