Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    269 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 269

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2009

      Made this for dinner the other night exactly how the recipe specified and it was deelish! We only had onion rolls but I thought it was a nice touch for the sandwiches. We'll definitely make this again, great for quick weeknight meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Sorry! I will stick to the Tastee Sandwich made in Lincoln NE since the late 40's early 50's. Been in my hometown for a long long time and they are my ultimate favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Wow. Wow. Wow! A-MAZE-ING! I just ate one entire sandwich for dinner and half of another. My husband wasn't thrilled with it, but he doesn't like meat to have even the slightest sweet taste to it. However, although I fixed chicken nuggets for my two- and four-year-old children, my daughter (the younger) pointed to my sandwich and said, "Peeeze!" I complied and gave her the remaining part of my sandwich and she gobbled it up! This is quite the keeper. It reminds me of something that my grandmother would've loved. Excellent for a small town girl from Indiana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I guess I am in the minority here. My kids and I just didn't care for this recipe at all. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This is very similar to our local loose meat sandwich. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      At last! I had my first LMS in 1971 at a small cafe in Dallas,TX.The ONLY place in the city that made them.I've experimented ever since trying to duplicate this sandwich, now I can make it myself. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      My husband is from Toledo, Iowa, which is near Marshalltown and has always talked about the Maidrites they have there. When we've been up to Marshalltown, I have tried them but was unable to duplicate until now. Thank you, thank you. This is his favorite sandwich and now we can have them at home. I did not use cast iron but my other heavy skillet. No lard as the hamburger was chuck. Thank you, again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Bless you! My mom grew up in Remsen, Iowa and introduced me to taverns as a child. I've lived in Colorado most of my life so taverns were a treat when going back to visit family, as no one here has heard of them. The very best - a hot dog at Bob's Drive In in LeMars with the tavern meat on top. So great to see you mention Bob's!! Had a hard time finding a tavern recipe and was thrilled to come across yours. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I made these because I was craving white castle hamburgers and they were out of them at Walmart in the freezer section. I must say these are the most simple hamburger style sandwiches I have ever made and tastier than any I have ever had. I made it just as written and it was wonderful. The 2nd time I made them I added extra fresh sliced onions along with the pickles and mustard and some mayonaise too. These are great served on onion buns. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      What a great sandwich it is! I loved all the flavors! My wife thought they were great too, so we will be eating this one again and again! These are so easy to prepare even when your really hungry and want something quick! Potzi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I am very very suprised I had not rated this, and I've made it at least twice in the past 2 years. My husband and myself really enjoyed this. I got a big hoot out of it, because I could not believe there is something this plain and simple out there. I knew it would be sooo good! Only thing I did differently the 2nd time is go with 1 teaspoon instead of tablespoon of sugar. I loved this recipe, takes me back to a different time.. that I was not in, but read about!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Very excellent! I did this for an OAMC meal and it comes out of the freezer perfectly and tastes just as good as the day it is cooked! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I made this today for lunch for my husband. He really liked it, except I put to much water in it. Next time I will use less water. Thank you for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

    • on April 11, 2009

      Yesterday was the KC Royals home opener, and I took this recipe to the tailgate party. What huge hit along with our new stadium! Everyone wanted to get back to our tent for some more Blue Mill Belly Bombers, but they were all gone. Now I'm taking them tomorrow for Easter Sunday as requested! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      We loved this, I have made it twice now. The first time I didn't quite simmer all the liquid out, the next time I did, and I didn't like it as well, it was too dry & just fell out of the bun. This is one of those recipes that is now in my regular rotation! Excellent Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      just ok for me. adding the vinegar along with mustard (which is already vinegar based) was to much for me. I did try it the original way of course but it wasn't what i thought it would taste like. so i added some garlic powder to take away from the vinegar overpowering. i wish i hadn't put mustard on my bun but the meat seemed to be improved with the garlic, salt and pepper. this was a good base recipe though for me to play with in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This must be a really regional recipe. My family didn't care for it. But I'm glad alot of people do. We all have different taste. I am glad I tried it though. I've wondered about this sandwich for years. Now I know. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      this is wonderful... i do add extra mustard vinegar and sugar, just because i feel like the more flavor the better. you truely can not over salt this dish. i make it a lot for dinner but also for lunch. my husband loves this as well. i make this over and over~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I love this recipe. My parents are from Souix City and they think it is the most original they have had. I used butter instead of crisco and I used fresh cracked pepper. My family loves them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.7
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    65%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 81.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1271.1 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes