277 Reviews

I followed the recipe to the letter, well except for the cast iron pan. I didn't feel like digging it out of the basement. This is a very simple meal and surprisingly good. When I close my eyes and take a bite it tastes like Krystal Burgers or White Castle. Probably from the mustard and cooked diced onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5nolans February 18, 2013

10 stars! These are so unbelievable good!! We have a drive up diner in town that serves loose meat sandwiches and these taste just like them. They are called "zip burgers"! I always get a cheese zip with ketchup and pickle. They close Nov-March, so now we can get our zip fix in the dead of winter. Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover February 05, 2013

Since I was born and raised in the mid-Atlantic region, I had never heard of loose meat sandwiches until I did a web search for a quick Saturday night supper. Now I wish I had been born and raised in the mid-west! Can't believe I've gone 52 years without the joy of tasting these absolutely simple, delicious sandwiches. I'm not a huge fan of either hamburgers or sloppy joes, but these are in a class by themselves. I made the recipe exactly as recommended except for the dill pickles (didn't have any and not enough time to get to the store) and look forward to the next time I eat another - tomorrow with leftovers!!! Thanks for the introduction to this wonderful alternative to burgers!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcahan_643311 December 01, 2012

This was excellent. We have never tried loose meat sandwiches before. We followed the recipe completely and will definitely be making it often. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
learningtocookinmt October 10, 2012

I was expecting for this recipe to be a keeper since it had such a high rating. I made it and was not happy with the results. Still looking for a good loose meat recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeeDebCook October 08, 2012

I made this a few times now in a few ways. First i made it by the directions to the T and it was very good. I just used bratwurst buns to make it easier to eat.
Next i made it for the guys. You know just add bacon. Really good too.
Then i made it healthy by using ground chicken. (Ground turkey would work well too)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slow Cooked Darlene September 06, 2012

Being from Australia we had heard of 'Loose Meat' sandwiches before but had no idea what they were meant to be like or taste like. A different flavour to anything we've had before but we will be making them again. Easy dinner for the end of the week. If we are ever in Iowa will try to find The Blue Mill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans June 29, 2012

Made the recipe as is and it was very good. In fact will make it again. Unfortunately I am from Pa and we have our own loose meat recipe called hamburg barbecue. Different spices. Widely available, sporting events church socials, picnics etc. However I enjoy the differnt tastes of America, and you have a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galig June 13, 2012

Turned out perfect super easy to do. will definitely be making this again. thanks for the great recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marobin May 27, 2012

Wow! I'm from Mississippi and have never had the pleasure to taste a loosemeat sandwich. I do remember seeing it on TV, more than likely from Roseanne. I returned the meat to the skillet after I drained the fat and browned it a little longer before adding the water, vinegar, sugar, and mustard. I used an onion roll instead of a hamburger. I buttered the sliced sides and toasted it on a griddle like a grilled cheese. It was awesome, and I will definitely be making this more often. Thank you for posting this recipe and allowing a sweet southern gal like me enjoy a taste of the Midwest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
futuremrsbowen May 20, 2012
The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich