Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    269 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 269

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2013

      Wanted a fast and easy ground beef recipe...this fit the bill...am very glad we tried this...it was really a pleasant surprise and we all enjoyed it...thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      This was a simple, very good sloppy sandwich. My husband ate 3 and I had two. The only person who didn't really enjoy this was my picky 2-year-old. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I followed the recipe to the letter, well except for the cast iron pan. I didn't feel like digging it out of the basement. This is a very simple meal and surprisingly good. When I close my eyes and take a bite it tastes like Krystal Burgers or White Castle. Probably from the mustard and cooked diced onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      10 stars! These are so unbelievable good!! We have a drive up diner in town that serves loose meat sandwiches and these taste just like them. They are called "zip burgers"! I always get a cheese zip with ketchup and pickle. They close Nov-March, so now we can get our zip fix in the dead of winter. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Since I was born and raised in the mid-Atlantic region, I had never heard of loose meat sandwiches until I did a web search for a quick Saturday night supper. Now I wish I had been born and raised in the mid-west! Can't believe I've gone 52 years without the joy of tasting these absolutely simple, delicious sandwiches. I'm not a huge fan of either hamburgers or sloppy joes, but these are in a class by themselves. I made the recipe exactly as recommended except for the dill pickles (didn't have any and not enough time to get to the store) and look forward to the next time I eat another - tomorrow with leftovers!!! Thanks for the introduction to this wonderful alternative to burgers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This was excellent. We have never tried loose meat sandwiches before. We followed the recipe completely and will definitely be making it often. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      I was expecting for this recipe to be a keeper since it had such a high rating. I made it and was not happy with the results. Still looking for a good loose meat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      I made this a few times now in a few ways. First i made it by the directions to the T and it was very good. I just used bratwurst buns to make it easier to eat.
      Next i made it for the guys. You know just add bacon. Really good too.
      Then i made it healthy by using ground chicken. (Ground turkey would work well too)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      Being from Australia we had heard of 'Loose Meat' sandwiches before but had no idea what they were meant to be like or taste like. A different flavour to anything we've had before but we will be making them again. Easy dinner for the end of the week. If we are ever in Iowa will try to find The Blue Mill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Made the recipe as is and it was very good. In fact will make it again. Unfortunately I am from Pa and we have our own loose meat recipe called hamburg barbecue. Different spices. Widely available, sporting events church socials, picnics etc. However I enjoy the differnt tastes of America, and you have a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Turned out perfect super easy to do. will definitely be making this again. thanks for the great recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Wow! I'm from Mississippi and have never had the pleasure to taste a loosemeat sandwich. I do remember seeing it on TV, more than likely from Roseanne. I returned the meat to the skillet after I drained the fat and browned it a little longer before adding the water, vinegar, sugar, and mustard. I used an onion roll instead of a hamburger. I buttered the sliced sides and toasted it on a griddle like a grilled cheese. It was awesome, and I will definitely be making this more often. Thank you for posting this recipe and allowing a sweet southern gal like me enjoy a taste of the Midwest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      My DH liked these very much. We have a bit leftover & I'm going to see how it tastes on rye bread. This was a great summer dish. I had to use the ground beef I had on hand & I didn't want hamburgers. Read through many comments and decided these were worth a try. I think we'll have them again. Served with Aunt Margies Cole Slaw (Aunt Margie's Cole Slaw) & carrot sticks. Quick & easy dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      A delightful sandwich that received mixed reviews. Those who grew up eating Sloppy Joe's loved this and said it was outstanding. Then there were those whom grew up eating something similar to this but without the sugar and with the addition of Worcestershire sauce who enjoyed but not as much as the Sloppy Joe eaters. I did make this as written right down to using a cast iron pan and traditional yellow mustard with some really good dill pickle slices. This was received well enough that I will be making it again, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      I have had a couple of recipes for these I think these are my favorite. I have had Maid Rites in Iowa and Wisconsin this extremely close to those. They are very sloppy that goes with the history of these. They should not have any ketchup or swiss cheese on them, a nice fresh bun mustard and pickles.There is something to a cast iron skillet and a wooden spoon! Excellant

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Very tasty. I disobeyed instructions and DID make changes. I used ground moose meat because I had some that had been sitting in my freezer for months and I needed to do something with it. I also did not use lard and instead used butter since I never cook with lard so I didn't have any on hand and didn't want to purchase just for this one time. I used spicy brown mustard instead of prepared mustard because I could not find anything called prepared mustard in the store. For people saying that this is bland, that's what the taste test is for! Everyone's taste is different and recipes should serve as guidelines...a recipe like this is easily taste-tested and I really feel that any meal that CAN be taste-tested, should be, unless you've cooked it a million times before. I ended up adding more mustard and vinegar and the tiniest bit more sugar. I forgot to salt the pan prior to adding the meat so I had to make up for that in the end so I can't speak to the saltiness of the dish since I pretty much added to taste. I also simmered for far longer than the 20 minutes called for...more like a couple of hours. By the time it was simmered the onions and water had almost formed a sort of sauce over the meat and it was wonderful. I thought I had buns in the fridge but I didn't so I ended up having it with some rice I had cooked earlier and I loved it! I'm really thankful I ended up adding the extra flavor since I couldn't rely on condiments to add flavor afterwards. This is SUCH an easy meal and so tasty I feel like I always want some of this ready in the fridge because it really makes a yummy, quick meal. One day I would love to go to Iowa and try the original loosemeat sandwich. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

    • on October 30, 2011

      Amazing. They were quick and easy, dinner was on the table in about 30 minutes and everyone loved them. The kids each ate 2, and the husband ate 5. Getting put in the rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Absolutly perfect !! With chips and a beer, it was the hit of the party. Thank you so much for sharing..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.7
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    65%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 81.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1271.1 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites