280 Reviews

I think the flavor is spot on, honestly, I don't understand everyone saying it was bland. I used French sea salt and there was nothing bland about my meal. I did not however, enjoy how messy it was. I know it's loose meat, and its going to be a bit messy. but it was near impossible for me to eat. I liked the mustard and vinegar flavor. Just wasn't able to eat the sandwich without the meat falling out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xexe June 16, 2011

These were a nice change from our regular sloppy joes. I had to use a nonstick skillet, and didn't need the additional Crisco. Used toasted buns, and served with chips and veggies and dip. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC March 28, 2011

I wasn't sure if my family would go for this, so I used this line on them. "Whenever we travel throughout the USA, we like to sample the local cuisine, so pretend, once again that we are in Sioux City, IA, now eat and enjoy it!" (we did stay there this summer on our way to Yellowstone, had I only known....) I followed the recipe to a T, and they L O V E D it. Don't forget to toast your buns ;^P and top with yellow mustard & dill pickle chips. The kids even LOVED it That alone makes it a 5***** winner. Thanks a bunch plantfreek & Grandma, our tummies are very happy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour September 08, 2010

Ah, this brings me back to my summers in Sioux City. My cousins still make this for any get togethers. I followed the recipe exactly, delicious. My hubby and bro complained that it was too messy - they said they didn't understand why I just didn't make a hamburger. Boys just don't understand the subtle flavors and textures.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Mainiac August 30, 2009

I retired from the Navy and moved to my wife's home state of Illinois. I grew up in California so I never experienced the, "Loose Meat Sandwich". It came up in a conversation at a family gathering. Everyone was praising how great it was and couldn't believe I hadn't had one yet. So my wife decided to make some for me. It was terrible! I was just ground beef with salt, lots of salt. I thought to myself that there is no way that all those people could like this, its terrible! So I decided to look online and found your recipe. Wow was it awesome! I didn't stray from your instructed ingredients at all and I never will. I also piled on the dill pickle chips. If I was on death row and had to request my last meal your loose meat sandwich would be it. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
limpsworld1 May 07, 2009

I am so happy to have found this recipe! For YEARS, every time my family went through Sioux City (55 minutes from Sioux Falls, SD) we would stop for this sandwich! There is NOTHING better!!!! I made this for my folks tonight for dinner. I think my Dad actually wiped away a tear! Yummy! I felt like a kid again having this sandwich! Thanks for the memories plantfreek! I will be making these for years to come!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom April 22, 2009

I remember seeing these on Rosanne and thought who would eat that! Well, when I came across this recipe and after reading plantfreek's enthusiasm over these I had to try them. What a surprise! I made exactly as directed, and they were delicious! The mustard and the pickles really add great flavor to these. So weird, but very tasty!! Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes March 26, 2009

I was so excited to try a piece of american history! With this many great reviews I expected to love these sandwiches. I was not in love. They are good, but not the knockouts I was hoping for. Very messy and a bit frustrating to eat. Was hoping to add this easy recipe to my rotation but think I'd rather just throw a burger on the grill.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aunt maimes May 16, 2008

Really good, I asked my husband and sons to try it with mustard and pickles first, then add stuff after if they wanted. They loved it like it was and there weren't any leftovers. Will definitely make it again! ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickyEaters2013 June 12, 2016

From St. Joseph, Missouri where we had Maid-Rite & popular deli served these, YUM. Simmer, simmer, onions and chicken broth make it! Thanks for sharing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derek W. May 29, 2016
The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich