Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    269 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 269

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2011

      I think the flavor is spot on, honestly, I don't understand everyone saying it was bland. I used French sea salt and there was nothing bland about my meal. I did not however, enjoy how messy it was. I know it's loose meat, and its going to be a bit messy. but it was near impossible for me to eat. I liked the mustard and vinegar flavor. Just wasn't able to eat the sandwich without the meat falling out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      These were a nice change from our regular sloppy joes. I had to use a nonstick skillet, and didn't need the additional Crisco. Used toasted buns, and served with chips and veggies and dip. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I wasn't sure if my family would go for this, so I used this line on them. "Whenever we travel throughout the USA, we like to sample the local cuisine, so pretend, once again that we are in Sioux City, IA, now eat and enjoy it!" (we did stay there this summer on our way to Yellowstone, had I only known....) I followed the recipe to a T, and they L O V E D it. Don't forget to toast your buns ;^P and top with yellow mustard & dill pickle chips. The kids even LOVED it That alone makes it a 5***** winner. Thanks a bunch plantfreek & Grandma, our tummies are very happy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Ah, this brings me back to my summers in Sioux City. My cousins still make this for any get togethers. I followed the recipe exactly, delicious. My hubby and bro complained that it was too messy - they said they didn't understand why I just didn't make a hamburger. Boys just don't understand the subtle flavors and textures.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I retired from the Navy and moved to my wife's home state of Illinois. I grew up in California so I never experienced the, "Loose Meat Sandwich". It came up in a conversation at a family gathering. Everyone was praising how great it was and couldn't believe I hadn't had one yet. So my wife decided to make some for me. It was terrible! I was just ground beef with salt, lots of salt. I thought to myself that there is no way that all those people could like this, its terrible! So I decided to look online and found your recipe. Wow was it awesome! I didn't stray from your instructed ingredients at all and I never will. I also piled on the dill pickle chips. If I was on death row and had to request my last meal your loose meat sandwich would be it. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I am so happy to have found this recipe! For YEARS, every time my family went through Sioux City (55 minutes from Sioux Falls, SD) we would stop for this sandwich! There is NOTHING better!!!! I made this for my folks tonight for dinner. I think my Dad actually wiped away a tear! Yummy! I felt like a kid again having this sandwich! Thanks for the memories plantfreek! I will be making these for years to come!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I remember seeing these on Rosanne and thought who would eat that! Well, when I came across this recipe and after reading plantfreek's enthusiasm over these I had to try them. What a surprise! I made exactly as directed, and they were delicious! The mustard and the pickles really add great flavor to these. So weird, but very tasty!! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I was so excited to try a piece of american history! With this many great reviews I expected to love these sandwiches. I was not in love. They are good, but not the knockouts I was hoping for. Very messy and a bit frustrating to eat. Was hoping to add this easy recipe to my rotation but think I'd rather just throw a burger on the grill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I'm formally from Nebraska and have had loose meat sandwiches in many small Iowa towns. All are very good and most are great. It's been a while since I've been back, but I don't recall even one with onions in it. Is my memory going or is this recipe an anomaly? It would be great to have an authentic loose meat recipe, given that Iowa is 1600 miles away, but onions? I don't even like onions and never have, thus I would have noticed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      This is really good. I had no onions so I added onion powder. And instead of water I used beef broth. My 4year old raved about it. I buttered and toasted hot dog buns. Everywhere around here that has loose meat its always in a hot dog bun...less mess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      This was better than I expected, I'm glad I tried it! I thought it might be bland but not at all. I did top it with a slice of cheese, had to do it. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      I've made several versions of this sandwich recently, so based on all the great reviews, I decided to give this one a try today. I made a double batch and followed the recipe to a tee, and while it was pretty good, I prefer the meat to be less sweet and onion-y.. rather keeping the sugar (or omitting) and onion to a bare minimum then topping with finely diced raw onion, hamburger dills, and mustard. And, steaming the buns on top of the meat at the end is highly recommended! Living in the deep South all my life, I've never had one of the famous midwest sandwiches so I had nothing to compare it to except a couple other recipes I found online. I may make it again with slight modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      The whole family liked the recipe but it was a little dry to my liking.(made recipe exact) I just wanted more juice or something. Loved steaming the buns. <br/><br/>Will make again. <br/><br/>Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      In the previous review I forgot to add that the sandwich I remember we used cheese to top it all off and helps to hold the sandwich together. But instead of putting sliced cheese on the bun and adding the meat, you add an american sliced cheese, one slice, to the pan of the meat right on top of the meat and when it is completely melted scoop it up and put that on a steamed bun or a grilled bun both delicious and don't forget the pickle!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      These sandwiches are also part of my childhood memories. I remember a big stainless steel steamer filled with meat mixture and scooped out on the buns with ice cream scoops! Unfortunately, there is no local place still serving them, so I'm so happy to be able to make them at home. I warm up/steam the buns by placing them cut side down on top of the skillet of simmering meat. The step of "mashing" with the back of the spoon is SO important so that the meat doesn't fall out of the bun when you're eating it... This is a wonderful keeper recipe for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Add me to the list of fans of this sandwich. I've never been to Iowa, so never had the real thing. My husband has raved about loosemeat sandwiches for years and I remember their appearance on "Roseanne". Followed the recipe exactly and used a cast-iron skillet. Toasted the buns, spread with mustard, topped the meat with dill pickle slices. Everyone raved. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Already have requests to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I honestly can not say how wonderful this recipe turned out. What a simple full flavored sandwich! I made it exactly as directed (even the steamed bun!) and these were true belly poppers! The hubby was still talking about them this morning - we will certainly have this again and again. He did want me to say next time we will toast the buns as you do because you clearly have great tastes, so we will try it your way! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, it will be enjoyed at out house again and again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Never have I had a loosemeat sandwich; and if not for the many reviews, would likely have continued to say that. Tonight I tried this and was really surprised at how good it was. My DH wasn't as enthusiastic as I was; but still managed to eat two huge sandwiches. I followed the recipe 100%, cooking the meat until it was actually sticking to my cast iron skillet. This gave the meat that crispy hamburger taste that I love so much. I will defintely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      These sandwiches are sooo yummy! There is a restaurant in Wichita, Ks called NuWay café that have been making these sandwiches since the 1930's along with homemade root beer, onion rings and Chili dogs with homemade chili sooooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      At first I thought this recipe was too basic to be any good but I followed it since the author recommend to try it first. I'm now a true believer! It's delicious! The beauty of this recipe is in its simplicity. This is now one of my go-to recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.7
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    65%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 81.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1271.1 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes