Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Black-Eyed Pea's Baked Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Black-Eyed Pea's Baked Squash

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2003

      I love eating at the Black-Eyed Pea, and especially their vegetable dishes. This really is their recipe. This casserole is all about the squash. It is not dry, and the squash is dominate with an onion flavor. Absolutely wonderful! This is country-style good stuff!! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing, PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This was a great way to use up the tons of yellow squash I had sitting in the kitchen. I added about a 1/4 cup of minced red onion and used crushed seasoned stuffing mix instead of bread crumbs. The only trouble I had with this recipe was the texture. I think next time I'll puree the squash in the food processor after boiling. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I loved this baked squash recipe! Very simple to prepare and it tastes so good. I did use honey wheat roll breadcrumbs. This baked squash recipe will definitely be on my Easter lunch menu!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      as someone else mentioned, i also worked at the black-eyed pea and this is definitely THE recipe. one of the things that makes it authentic is using honey wheat rolls (i use the king's hawaiian brand, but i've been known to go to the black-eyed pea and get theirs!) for the bread crumbs. this was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner for my family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      My kids will eat this but not *plain* squash so it's a great way to get veggies into their diets. I also use Splenda instead of sugar and a real whole wheat bread for crumbs to help cut out the unnecessary carbs and it still tastes just as good. I have to agree with those mentioning that it can get watery, but just drain the squash after you've mashed it a bit and that works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I had lost this recipe, and so glad it was here at Food.com This is a wonderful dish, I always ordered it at The Black-eyed Pea restaurant. The recipe I had did call for 4 slices of toast, cubed, instead of the bread crumbs, which is what the restaurant's version has when I order it there. The bread takes care of any watery problems, I drain the squash and mash it with a potatoe masher and leave all the liquid, as the toast cubes soak it up, and the eggs bind it. Love this recipe, and since moving from Houston to Pittsburgh area I no longer have The Black-eyed Pea restaurant available. Thanks for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      This squash recipe is awesome. I had lots of squash coming out of my garden and this is a good way to use it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      My Dad has made this recipe for years, it's definitely one of the best ways to use a garden-full of squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This is an excellent, simple recipe which lets the subtle taste of the squash shine. I doubled all ingredients as I had an "extra" 10 lbs of squash. This made 2-8x8 heaping foil pans full. As the pans were so full, it took about 30 minutes at 350, convection bake and side by side on a cookie sheet. Be sure to drain, drain and drain again and there will be no problems with a watery casserole. This is going on my keeper list. Many thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I didn't love it. It seemed really sweet to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I've been making this all summer (in-laws had an abundant garden this year) and sharing first the casserole then the recipe with everyone. I appreciate that you gave the squash amount as a weight, that keeps me from guessing how many regular size critters are equivalent to my jumbos. I do slice the large ones into more than 4 pieces though. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I was looking for something different to do with squash and stumbled upon this recipe. This was delicious. It was an easy and tasty dish I loved the flavor combinations. I made half since there are just 2 of us and it turned out very good. Ill be keeping this one thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I halved this recipe without a problem. It's delicious! Savory, yet a little sweet. I used more onions but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I'll be making this again...... especially in the summer. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Outstanding. At first I thought 5 lbs of squash was too much, so I cut the recipe in half, boy I wish I did'nt it was delish. This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I was going to post this recipe, tonight, after making this much-loved recipe, but I'm glad to see you've already shared it! I usually make only 1/2 a recipe, and use 1/2 of the ingredients, accordingly. Yes, it is a little soupy, but it will get a little crustier, if baked longer, or if extra breadcrumbs are added. I love the sweet, oniony flavor! I guess it is a Southern favorite!:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This was a nice change from potato with our dinner. I did a half batch as only cooking for 3 & also added some bacon into the mix. It was okay but a bit bland for our family's tastes, sorry, some cheese & parsley and some extra herbs added would have been nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Easy enough to make, and the taste was good. It seemed too watery to me. I may have cooked the squash too long. I drained them well, but when I mashed them it had lots of water. I had to drain the smashed squash. Will try again, just to see if I missed something along the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I know for a fact this is THE recipe for the Pea's squash casserole because I worked as a prep cook there 20 years ago and know this recipe by heart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      One of my very favorites at the Black-Eyed Pea. Like Mama said, half the recipe makes a good amount. Thanks for posting it here Nan, so I never lose it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Wonderful squash recipe that definitely taste like Black Eyed peas squash. I did bake mine for about 10 min. longer but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Black-Eyed Pea's Baked Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.0
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    54%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 651.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes