38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thiis is an exceptionally good tasting cookie. I used 1 Tbs. pure vanilla in place of the Kahlua since I wanted a cookie and not candy I used 2/3 cup choc chips and 1/3 cup white choc chips.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady January 05, 2011

Very good, but strong kahlua taste. Will use less next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet'n More! January 13, 2008

These cookies are amazing, I've come back to these again and again with different variations, I have always just used Kahlua though, never vanilla....Tonight I used half walnuts, half white chocolate, and it's another winner! These are soft and divine! Thanks for another amazing dessert recipe Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 February 15, 2012

I guess these aren't for me. I liked the white chips in them, but they were really flat. Perhaps it was me. We didn't eat very many. Sorry, Kitten, but most of your recipes have been great for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy December 30, 2009

These really taste like "bake shop" cookies! I suspect that the chilling time makes the difference. I made these a few years ago for my MIL since she couldn't have chocolate then; I made these again for Thanksgiving with some allergy-friendly substitutions. I replaced the 3/4 cup of melted butter with 2 Tbs canola oil in a 3/4 cup measure that I topped off with applesauce. I substituted 1/4 cup of banana purée for the egg. If I tried hard, I think I could taste the banana. Maybe. The dairy-free, soy-free, egg-free version I made this time tastes exactly as I remember the first batch, so these fancy-tasting cookies are more adaptable than I expected! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope December 18, 2009

These were probably the best cookie I made for my cookie plates this year. I used regular chocolate chips instead of white chocolate and they turned out wonderfully well. I will be making these again for certain. *added December 2009: This is my third year doing these and this year I struck the perfect balance by using both white and milk chocolate chunks..yummy!. I ended up blogging about them on my weekendcarnivore.com food blog.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 17, 2009

I am not giving this recipe a star rating because I am sure that I did something wrong. I was really looking forward to nice, flat, gooey cookies but mine did not spread out like they are supposed to. I would usually blame the recipe but it doesn't seem like anyone else had this problem and I have made a lot of other recipes from Kittencal that have been perfect. That said, the taste of these cookies is fantastic and even though they are small on puffy, they are still really gooey and delicious. Hopefully, next time mine will look like the pictures. Addition: I made these cookies again with the same problem. I tried not chilling them in hopes that this would make them flatten out, but it didn't work and I chilled the rest of the dough overnight. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita de la Costa December 12, 2008

These were great. I let them sit in the fridge for about 24 hours and I ended up making these about 1/2 a teaspoon full and baked them each for 10 mins. I used peanut butter chips instead and added in some chopped walnuts. I also only added 1/2 cup of butter and added 1 tbsp of water to help cut down on the fat and to make sure there was enough liquid to the cookie dough batter. I used the 1/4 cup of Kahlua (becaues I just love Kahlua!) and thought that these cookies were just splendid!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 February 08, 2008

I was looking for a cookie to celebrate National Kahlua Day on Friday 27, 2015. I came across this recipe, which is basically a chocolate chip recipe with modifications for the Kahlua. I made the first batch as instructed and very disappointing. The ratio of fat (butter) to flour ratio is way too high. The second batch I made and reduced the fat to only 1 stick, used 4 total T of fluid flavoring- 2 T Kahlua, 1 T Whipping cream, 1tsp vanilla, 2 tsp chocolate syrup. I then mixed the solid butter, sugars, flavorings together, then added the egg then the dry ingredients and then chocolate and vanilla chips to equal 1 cup. There are three submitted pictures, so you can see the difference- cookies on a white parchment sheet, drizzled cookies and the two beside each other in the box- to compare size. This is a good cookie and for those of you who don't want to wait 4 hours, my method produces a cookie (360 for 11 minutes- gas oven) that is crunchy on the outside edges and soft (not runny) in the center. Ended up making 300 for a baking order. The first 50 that were too thin I drizzled in a glaze ( 4 c. powdered sugar, 4 oz. expresso coffee, 2 oz. half and half and 1 t. vanilla bean paste). The final arrangement turned out quite well overall. Hope this helps!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigleyBakes February 26, 2015

The only thing I don't like about the cookies is the 4 hour fridge time. I had kahlua syrup so I just used one tbls of that and one of vanilla. Has a good flavor. I might use more kahlua syrup next time...if there's another occasion for me to sit and wait 4 hours before baking my cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em January 26, 2014
The Big Kahlua Vanilla Cookies