Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Better Butter Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Better Butter Chicken

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2012

      We enjoyed this dish very much; however, it wasn't exactly like the butter chicken we are accustomed to. I think next time I would use pureed tomatoes vs. diced and less onions. I used Indian chili powder which is extremely hot so I definitely scaled it back to suit our tastes. While it would up the calories, etc., I think I would also add a bit more cream as well. I will definitely try this dish again! Made for ZWT-8-India.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I tried this recipe last night. It was so easy and so tasty! What a great version of one of my favorite Indian dishes. I did not change anything except adding an extra hot chili pepper. The sauce was just a bit thick but the flavor was fantastic. Definitely a keeper! I just love the recipes provided by Janet & Greta. I miss the TV show so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      A very tasty dish. I measured out most of the ingredients in the morning, so that it was quick to put together. I also added some cubed potatoes to lighten up the protein load in this dish, reducing the amount of the chicken. Perhaps a little more spice next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      This was a good dish to cook for a weeknight dinner. Not quite butter chicken for me, but a good enjoyable dinner with Indian spices. I used ground chilli powder (not Mexican chili blend) which is very hot....so just used 1/2 the amount stated. Photo also to be posted

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      I really enjoyed this! So did NOT want to just reheat last night's rotisserie chicken. Super easy. Was working on a late dinner while juggling a cranky infant, a preschooler and a 3rd grader with homework... got it done and on the table without much trouble! That is a 5-star recipe in my book. <br/>Unfortunately, my ginger was bad so I threw in about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. Also cut back on the chili powder as a couple of other reviewers suggested. I might put in the full amount next time. Also felt it needed extra salt. Finally, I only had heavy whipping cream so that's what I used. Not a healthy dinner tonight but it was good. And different! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      This is delicious and feels so much lighter than what you get at the restaurant. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I am rating this a five without any prior experience with butter chicken, so I really can't compare. I just know that I loved the flavors and textures. This was so good served over the basmati rice. The butter chicken was flavorful and almost creamy. Yum yum. Made for ZWT8 India

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      We loved this chicken dish. The sauce was rich and flavorful. We've never eaten and Indian dish made with rotisserie chicken before, but what could be easier, and why add extra calories if you already have a great tasting dish? I used crushed tomatoes after reading a few of the reviews, and was very pleased with the consistency of the sauce. Thanks for sharing a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      This dish is truly excellent! I pureed the diced tomatoes slightly before adding and added a bit more salt and pepper to taste plus a tiny sprinkle of cayenne pepper for extra spice. Just wonderful. Served with naan and basmati rice for a great Indian meal. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Yum! I made this with chicken breasts I had in the freezer, so I cut them up and cooked them first, then proceeded. I couldn't resist trowing in some peas, though! A very tasty recipe, thanks for posting! Made for WT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      A wonderful easy recipe which is lower in fat, but I have realised that I like the creamy original version (I guess I better keep my gym membership up to date). Made for ZWT8, The Fearless Red Dragons

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      What a wonderful version of Butter Chicken! I didn't have a rotisserie chicken so cooked up some chicken breasts and went from there. I made it as written but reduced the quantity to feed two of us. DH has been phobic about Indian food but really enjoyed this. He is a convert! Thanks so much for sharing. Made for the Bistro babes. ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Great flavor, lot of spices without being spicy. I liked that you use a store bought chicken made it quick and easy to whip up. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Super easy and fast using a store-bought rotisserie chicken! This was delicious. Great combination of flavors, a dish fit for company. We passed sambal at the table for a hotter version. I will keep this recipe and we'll enjoy it often, especialy on days when I find myself running late to prepare dinner, with nothing thawed! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Very good flavor and great for a weeknight recipe. The butter chicken was ready in just about the time it takes to cook the rice. Plus it's light! For my taste, it could use a bit more spice. The dish may also be better the second day to allow the tomatoes to meld into the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This is spectacular! Loved it!! Definitely need to double it. Served with Basmatti rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This was amazing! My hubby had it fresh the first day and said it tasted better then our favorite Indian restaurants! I tried it the second day and it was still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Great recipe! The whole family enjoyed it. I did add a few extra spices...other then that, very yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      My family and I loved this! My picky 4 year old could have done without the tomatoes, but I thought this was incredibly flavorful. I added 1/2 tsp of coriander, and full fat sour cream. My petite diced tomatoes came in a 14.5 ounce can, so I added extra tomato paste and water to make up the difference. I served this with Indian basmati rice. Yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I don't much like Indian food. Kind of a take it or leave it proposition for me. But this recipe was AMAZING. Spicy.... but not too. A touch of heat but just right. I roasted some cauliflower and added it to the recipe right before I served it. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Better Butter Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.2
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    52%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 132.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 590.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites