31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this dish very much; however, it wasn't exactly like the butter chicken we are accustomed to. I think next time I would use pureed tomatoes vs. diced and less onions. I used Indian chili powder which is extremely hot so I definitely scaled it back to suit our tastes. While it would up the calories, etc., I think I would also add a bit more cream as well. I will definitely try this dish again! Made for ZWT-8-India.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry August 17, 2012

I tried this recipe last night. It was so easy and so tasty! What a great version of one of my favorite Indian dishes. I did not change anything except adding an extra hot chili pepper. The sauce was just a bit thick but the flavor was fantastic. Definitely a keeper! I just love the recipes provided by Janet & Greta. I miss the TV show so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niltex October 03, 2013

A very tasty dish. I measured out most of the ingredients in the morning, so that it was quick to put together. I also added some cubed potatoes to lighten up the protein load in this dish, reducing the amount of the chicken. Perhaps a little more spice next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte December 28, 2012

This was a good dish to cook for a weeknight dinner. Not quite butter chicken for me, but a good enjoyable dinner with Indian spices. I used ground chilli powder (not Mexican chili blend) which is very hot....so just used 1/2 the amount stated. Photo also to be posted

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 21, 2012

I really enjoyed this! So did NOT want to just reheat last night's rotisserie chicken. Super easy. Was working on a late dinner while juggling a cranky infant, a preschooler and a 3rd grader with homework... got it done and on the table without much trouble! That is a 5-star recipe in my book. <br/>Unfortunately, my ginger was bad so I threw in about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. Also cut back on the chili powder as a couple of other reviewers suggested. I might put in the full amount next time. Also felt it needed extra salt. Finally, I only had heavy whipping cream so that's what I used. Not a healthy dinner tonight but it was good. And different! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 October 02, 2013

This is delicious and feels so much lighter than what you get at the restaurant. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
policygirl July 13, 2013

I am rating this a five without any prior experience with butter chicken, so I really can't compare. I just know that I loved the flavors and textures. This was so good served over the basmati rice. The butter chicken was flavorful and almost creamy. Yum yum. Made for ZWT8 India

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood August 23, 2012

We loved this chicken dish. The sauce was rich and flavorful. We've never eaten and Indian dish made with rotisserie chicken before, but what could be easier, and why add extra calories if you already have a great tasting dish? I used crushed tomatoes after reading a few of the reviews, and was very pleased with the consistency of the sauce. Thanks for sharing a very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover August 20, 2012

This dish is truly excellent! I pureed the diced tomatoes slightly before adding and added a bit more salt and pepper to taste plus a tiny sprinkle of cayenne pepper for extra spice. Just wonderful. Served with naan and basmati rice for a great Indian meal. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 17, 2012

Yum! I made this with chicken breasts I had in the freezer, so I cut them up and cooked them first, then proceeded. I couldn't resist trowing in some peas, though! A very tasty recipe, thanks for posting! Made for WT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl August 17, 2012
The Better Butter Chicken