Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Bestest Belgian Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Bestest Belgian Waffles

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2013

      GREAT Recipe, Very quick and easy!!! Thank you. <br/><br/>I have a Magic-Chef TSK-240B. This recipe makes 5 (1 cup batter) or 6 (3/4th cup batter) Waffles. I cook for 2 minutes, then, I manually flip for an additional minute. <br/>PERFECT every time! <br/><br/>If I plan to freeze I only cook for 2 minutes (no flipping). <br/><br/>The substitutions I made (and will continue to use) are:<br/>Add up to 2 Teaspoons Vanilla<br/>Replace 1/2 cup of the Milk for 1/2 cup Ginger Ale <br/>(This ensures a light and fluffy batter, plus adds an extra wee bit of flavor)<br/>If you are using Self Rising flour, only add 1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      LOVED IT!!

      I searched high and low for a great recipe for my new Belgian waffle iron and I found the best with this one. After making it exactly by the recipe a few times, I modified it slightly (though it was already delicious the way it was :-) They are light, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside when freshly made.

      My modifications were:

      1) adding 1 tsp vanilla
      2) adding 1 Tb malted milk powder
      3) being more generous with the sugar with a heaping scoop, not a leveled-off cup

      My kids both love these waffles and the recipe is easy to follow and even turns out well when you goof, LOL.... I mistakenly added twice as much oil with one batch and they were still wonderful!

      I make a half recipe of these which still makes 4.5 large waffles on my George Foreman grill/waffle iron. (And I cook the waffles according to my appliance's instructions, 425 for 7-8 minutes.) What we don't eat then gets stored in a freezer bag for later. They do get soft/chewy after they cool down or are stored in refrigerator, but they are still delicious! Just microwave for a few seconds and enjoy. My toddler likes them plain as a snack, they are that sweet and tasty. And I like that they aren't "crumby" for him to eat when not in his high chair.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      I was looking for a recipe to use in my new Kitchenaid Pro Line waffle maker. I chose this one because someone said that this one is so good they don't want to try any others, and that it's crisp outside and so light inside. It's true! I feel no need to try any other recipes, and that is unusual for me! I used half cake flour and half white whole wheat. I did add about a tsp of vanilla and 2 tbsp malted milk powder. I ended up with a waffle as good as any I've had at a restaurant--where I'd pay $6-$8 for it. The whole family was delighted, and my boys asked if I'm make them every night. I had to say no to that but we will be making them often!!!! I got 6 waffles from my Kitchenaid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      We really liked these. This was the third recipe that I have tried for Belgian Waffles and this is our favorite so far. I used 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat flour and they were great still fluffy and crispy. I did add 1 tsp vanilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Loved this recipe! It was simple (which is handy in this house, since the kids like to help), didn't require as much oil/butter as others waffle recipes, and they were quite light and fluffy. I did add half a tsp of vanilla, but otherwise left the recipe as is. Also, probably due in part to the lower oil quantity, I would recommend spraying the waffle maker with Pam in between waffles. I will definitely be using this again...and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      Wonderful. They were indeed light as a feather inside. My wife really enjoyed them, especially since she didn't have to cook...I mean...after I threw in some blueberries. I've retired my previous 'favorite' waffle recipe from the back of the Bisquick box...(shudder)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      These truly are the best belgian waffles Ive ever had. Ive made MANY kinds of waffles in the past, but I think Ive found my absolute favorite. Honestly, I dont think I will continue to look for another belgian waffle recipe. They couldnt possibly get any better than this! Thank you SO MUCH marie for this wonderful recipe. My only suggestions would be to either mention to follow your waffle irons cooking instructions, or to include actual cooking instructions in your recipe :-) Again..thanks for this wonderful recipe. Thank you..From my entire family!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      Hubby says best ever and I've tried many. Difference was using King Arthur bread flour, Olivista unfiltered Classic olive oil. I used 1 3/4 c 2% and 1/4 c cream. My organic eggs from my hens-1 medium and 1 small. I know some might complain I changed recipe BUT this is an incredible basic recipe. Froze the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      Great waffle recipe... it's among one of the better recipes that I've tried. I let my waffle maker go through more than one cycle to get an extra crisp exterior. The inside remained fluffy and light (most likely due to the extra stiff whipped egg whites courtesy of my stand mixer). I did add about a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Also, we halved the recipe since it was just two of us. I halved everything but the eggs which I kept the same and it was more than enough batter for 3 waffles. I threw in some blueberries and we ate it topped with chicken strips and maple syrup. It made great chicken and waffles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Very easy to make. Best waffles I've ever had

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      WOW best waffles that I have ever made. Got 20 waffles so have lots leftover for breakfast this week. Made a berry syrup to go with them and served with sausage patties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      These were the best waffles ever!! They were crispy on the outside but fluffy and perfect on the inside. I have tried the recipe that came with my waffle maker (awful) and made them with a pancake mix (too chewy) but these were amazing! I didn't even beat the egg whites very well and they were still great. Made 6 large waffles. Mmmmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Family loved it! I added one more egg as my chickens are quite prolific. Light and sweet. This recipe made a lot of them so will freeze for future meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I love this recipe, simple to remember and I add vanilla and then sometimes crumble cooked bacon or pecans into the waffle iron as I add the batter....always crisp outer waffle and delicate inner never heavy or doughy!!! Thanks so much for sharing this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      My DGD was visiting and requested Chocolate Chip Waffles for breakfast so I was on a search for one that was good, quick and easy and chose this one. WIN for me. It had it all, a nice crusty outside with a fluffy soft center. I only added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the mix (we love vanilla) and then when we placed it on the griddle added a sprinkling of chips to hers. Then when done gave her a choose of syrup or whipped cream (she choose whipped cream of course) and it fit everyone of both her's & my requirements. Taste was spot on, loved that you whip the egg whites, made for a light and fluffy waffle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I made this recipe for my family and they all loved them. NO more frozen waffles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      Great waffles! They were nice and crispy Ono the outside and fluffy inside. I made 1/2 the recipe and got 3 large waffles. Made for Tagging Mania Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I have given a few recipes on this site a try...hubby bought a professional waffle maker...I guess he likes waffles...anyway...this is awesome...I have made it at least a dozen times now...still trying to prefect the amount needed for my maker...either liquid spills out...or I have cute little ends...but the taste never varies...and here is someone who can't get egg whites to whip...but I can now...thanks for posting this delicious recipe...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      This is an awesome waffle recipe. I've made this recipe both in a traditional Belgian waffle maker and in a square waffle machine--it turned out great both times. This is going to be my go to waffle recipe from now on, they are just delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      The recipe worked very well I added almond milk and I heated up the milk on the stove then added the egg yoke and grape seed oil it tuned out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Bestest Belgian Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (1018 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.2
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    49%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 27.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 187.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites