Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best White Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best White Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2010

      I loved this recipe. I looked at a whole bunch of them, before I decided that this was the one I wanted to try. I loved the fact that it didn't have a billion ingredients to blend in, and that it was remarkably easy in instructions- since I bake with my kids, this is a HUGE thing for me. I loved the way the cake came out, and when I made cupcakes, they were great too. One of my favourite tricks is to add "Rum" extract, and have a butter - rum cake. My husband LOVES it with my caramel icing- it's delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      I'm sorry, I hate giving a bad review, but I needed a good white cake in a pinch and I made this one, made a TON of frosting, then assembled the cake...as soon as I put on the frosting the whole thing went into pieces. It was so greasy. I thought that I'd just keep it at home then for the family because they don't care what it looks like, but when I went to cut off a piece for my mom I couldn't even get a piece to stay together! Terrible, wasted a lot of time on this and now I don't have anything to give my friend. I will give it two stars however because the taste was excellent, but you need a bowl and spoon to eat this mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      This cake was horrible. I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was incredibly greasy, I've never see a cake with this consistency before. It was so sweet it made my teeth hurt. Needless to say, I had to pitch the whole thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      the flavor of this cake recipe is great, when topped with buttercream icing WOW amazing!
      It is very solid not empty and fluffy but moist and solid just perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I have been looking for a long time (unsuccessfully) for a from-scratch recipe that tastes like the Duncan Hines Classic White box mix and I thought this might be it, based on the reviews. Especially making the change that one reviewer suggested - of beating the egg whites separately and folding them in for a fluffier softer crumb. Yuck. This cake literally tastes like eggs. I tried making it into cupcakes and they spill up and over the cupcake tin, totally flat. They looked awful and tasted worse!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was an excellent cake. I have to admit I usually make cakes from a box, but my daughter wanted to make a birthday cake for me. We found this and I was so impressed. It was moist and dense. I used a chocolate frosting and they went so nicely together. For once, my cake rose without any high or low spots, it came out of the pan easily and it was wonderful! The best part was that it was really hardly any more work than the boxed variety! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      I absolutely love this recipe. It has the best taste out of all the cake recipes I have tried. What I like to do to add a fluff and softer crumb is I seperate the eggs and the sugar. I then whip the egg whites and add 3/4 cup of sugar gradually. When I get stiff peaks I fold the egg whites into the cake batter. Makes the cake very airy and wonderful. I then top it with a cooked chocolate frosting recipe I have--tastes like fudge. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This is a wonderfull recipe. It is soft, moist and tasty. Not overly sweet and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This cake was GREAT! it was HEAVY and MOIST...just how i like it...I frosted it with buttercream frosting (Chocolate Buttercream Frosting) Yum it was so good and sooo easy to make! Thank you a thousand times... I have been craving white cake with chocolate frosting and now i have a whole pan of it to eat!woohoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best White Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.4
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    39%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 71.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 307.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites