10 Reviews

I loved this recipe. I looked at a whole bunch of them, before I decided that this was the one I wanted to try. I loved the fact that it didn't have a billion ingredients to blend in, and that it was remarkably easy in instructions- since I bake with my kids, this is a HUGE thing for me. I loved the way the cake came out, and when I made cupcakes, they were great too. One of my favourite tricks is to add "Rum" extract, and have a butter - rum cake. My husband LOVES it with my caramel icing- it's delish.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GondolaQueen July 03, 2010

I'm sorry, I hate giving a bad review, but I needed a good white cake in a pinch and I made this one, made a TON of frosting, then assembled the cake...as soon as I put on the frosting the whole thing went into pieces. It was so greasy. I thought that I'd just keep it at home then for the family because they don't care what it looks like, but when I went to cut off a piece for my mom I couldn't even get a piece to stay together! Terrible, wasted a lot of time on this and now I don't have anything to give my friend. I will give it two stars however because the taste was excellent, but you need a bowl and spoon to eat this mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katykakes July 02, 2012

This cake was horrible. I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was incredibly greasy, I've never see a cake with this consistency before. It was so sweet it made my teeth hurt. Needless to say, I had to pitch the whole thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela9298 April 14, 2012

the flavor of this cake recipe is great, when topped with buttercream icing WOW amazing!
It is very solid not empty and fluffy but moist and solid just perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristieabell February 26, 2012

I have been looking for a long time (unsuccessfully) for a from-scratch recipe that tastes like the Duncan Hines Classic White box mix and I thought this might be it, based on the reviews. Especially making the change that one reviewer suggested - of beating the egg whites separately and folding them in for a fluffier softer crumb. Yuck. This cake literally tastes like eggs. I tried making it into cupcakes and they spill up and over the cupcake tin, totally flat. They looked awful and tasted worse!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonlooby February 02, 2012

This was an excellent cake. I have to admit I usually make cakes from a box, but my daughter wanted to make a birthday cake for me. We found this and I was so impressed. It was moist and dense. I used a chocolate frosting and they went so nicely together. For once, my cake rose without any high or low spots, it came out of the pan easily and it was wonderful! The best part was that it was really hardly any more work than the boxed variety! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F January 24, 2012

I absolutely love this recipe. It has the best taste out of all the cake recipes I have tried. What I like to do to add a fluff and softer crumb is I seperate the eggs and the sugar. I then whip the egg whites and add 3/4 cup of sugar gradually. When I get stiff peaks I fold the egg whites into the cake batter. Makes the cake very airy and wonderful. I then top it with a cooked chocolate frosting recipe I have--tastes like fudge. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mklly04 December 03, 2011

This is a wonderfull recipe. It is soft, moist and tasty. Not overly sweet and very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
almali March 26, 2011

This cake was GREAT! it was HEAVY and MOIST...just how i like it...I frosted it with buttercream frosting (Chocolate Buttercream Frosting) Yum it was so good and sooo easy to make! Thank you a thousand times... I have been craving white cake with chocolate frosting and now i have a whole pan of it to eat!woohoo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtrudeau June 09, 2010
The Best White Cake