Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Ever

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Excellent recipe, but I find it hard to believe this thing has 900+ calories per cup, and 40 grams of protien per cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Holy cow-free! A slam-dunk. Fast, easy and delicious. I'm hooked and so is my boyfriend, and we're not even vegans (he's a Wheresthebeef-kinda guy). Tweaked the recipe a little by cutting back on the tamari (by half), salt (by half) and oil (by 1/3), adding cayenne (1/4 tsp might have been too much) and using all the mustard and whole wheat noodles. I also used half corn oil, which has a nice, buttery flavor and covered part of it with whole wheat bread crumbs - added good texture. Sauce seemed runny but firmed up pretty good. It could use some non-pasta substance 'tween the noodles. Next time I'll use water-packed tofu instead of the silken I tried (and maybe blend that in by hand) and I'll start with less water, adding more as necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      I was a little skeptical after blending up and tasting the "cheese" sauce but was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this actually turned out. I made the following changes: increased the nutritional yeast to 2 cups, 1 tsp fresh chopped garlic instead of 1 Tbsp garlic powder, omitted the additional 1 Tbsp salt (completely unnecessary), 1 tsp Colman's mustard powder instead of the 2 tsp mustard. The final thing that I think really made the dish for me was adding 1 pkg (10 oz) Follow Your Heart Cheddar cheese alternative, shredded. This will definitely suffice for when I have those mac and cheese cravings in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I was hesitant to blend everything together, rather than cooking the sauce in a sauce pan. I followed the recipe regardless, and it turned out magnificent! The taste is delicious, the texture is smooth, I could barely tell it was vegan! <3 this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Wow oh wow. I hesitated to tell my family this was supposed to be a macaroni and cheese like dish because I was worried it would disappoint them but it tasted surprisingly cheesy. Accolades from all including the picky eater of the family. I used Raditori pasta instead of macaroni because it's what I had on hand, coconut oil instead of canola (I'll either use canola or a different oil next time because the coconut did leave a distinctive taste picky eater complained about and other family members noticed). A teaspoon of minced garlic instead of powder and I opted for the mustard. Oh and I don't know if this affects the taste but I did use tamari. I hand mixed the sauce with a wisk and it looked fine. Only one member of our family is vegan and she liked it just fine except she asked I use less yeast next time. Hopefully this will be a meal we can share on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. I was craving some vegan mac and cheese from a vegan spot soul vegetarian but they closed it here in DC. I made this recipe tonight and it was the best! It tasted like it was from a restaurant! I made it with barbecue tofu and collard greens. This recipe is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      This is a fantastic dish! So easy to prepare and very yummy (even if you're not vegan). We added french fried onions as a topper that made things even more delicious, especially if you're partial to garlic/onion flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I'm really sorry to say I thought this was awful. I've been vegan for quite a while, and I'm no stranger to nutritional yeast. I love the stuff. I have had great success with some other cheesy style recipes and was really looking forward to some good old mac and cheese. This just didn't fly for me. It was TO nutritional yeasty. It tasted bitter and bland at the same time. I actually had to toss it (and I NEVER do that) The only modification I made after reading all the reviews was to leave out the extra salt. And I thought it desperately needed the salt! I would never suggest leaving it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I was AMAZED at how good the "cheese" sauce tasted! After putting it in the oven, I scraped the extra sauce out of the blender and licked it! I am a vegetarian-transitioning-vegan and I will never miss normal mac and cheese!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      The first time I had Vegan Mac was at our local Co-op. From that day on I was hooked; I wanted to learn how to make my own since it's pretty pricey. Well I turned to the internet, I tried this recipe and guess what, it's almost identical. I didn't add extra salt since as it has enough with the soy sauce and also I added diced bell-pepper just like the one at the Co-op. All in all, it satisfied my Vegan Mac craving.

      *I added a picture, as I took some for lunch. Also, in this batch I made 12 servings so I used 1 and 1/2 blocks of firm tofu. I mixed the 1/2 block in the blender with the ingredents as adviced. Then added the other full block crumbled, mixed with the macaroni.

      *Do not use Brewer's yeast for this recipe*

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Deliciouso! Adding veggies and/or breadcrumbs gives it that extra bonus. Super yummy though :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I signed up for this website to review simply because of the one review of this vegan mac and cheese. BREWER'S YEAST?!?! How on earth can that replace that with Cheesy Nutritional Yeast. That is NOT a comparable replacement!! No wonder why you hated it so much, you made it Completely WRONG. Sorry, but this is delicious and that review really annoyed me! Have a good day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This recipe is a very noble attempt at replicating mac n cheese and I was surprised by the flavor qualities of nutritional yeast. However, the product wasn't all that pleasing to my palate. I didn't include the salt as suggested which was probably a good idea and I also added double the tofu. I have no regrets making it but I won't be making it again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      VERY easy to make and TASTY! Agree that it's a little salty; next time I'd back off with both the soy sauce & omit the extra salt altogether, but I'm not a "salty" fan to begin with! This is a must try for vegans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I just made this recipe. Fantastic! I will admit it is salty, and I even felt I skimped on the added salt. (Next time, I'll just skip the salt, altogether.) I also halved the recipe, and I 'm glad I did! Half is plenty! I also skipped the water. Next time, I may add about a third to a half the amount of water in the recipe. 'None' left it just a tad too dry for my liking. Oh, and I also set it for 25 minutes. So that may have added to the overall dryness. But still...It's pretty tasty and quite "mac & cheese"-like. I'm pretty impressed! So...just to be clear, I used: - 2/3 cup soy milk - less than 1/4 cup of soy sauce - 2/3 cup of nutritional yeast - 1/2 tbsp paprika - 1/2 tbsp garlic powder - less than 1/2 tbsp salt - way more than 1.5 oz of extra firm tofu (I used more like 100g = 3.5oz.) - 1/2 cup of vegan margerine (instead of canola oil) - a box of elbow macaroni (300g?) - 1 tsp of dried mustard Try it, especially with less salt, and I think you'll like it. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This recipe is excellent with a few small changes. I've made it before as is, but I strongly advise NOT adding the water. It's unnecessary and makes it too soupy. Also, adding a tablespoon or so of corn starch really makes it creamier. I also added roasted veggies and bread crumbs to give it some texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe. My dad even enjoys it and he's a cheese and meat lover through and through. My only gripe is that his recipe calls for waay too much oil and soy sauce. I use only 1/4 cup of canola oil and 1/4 cup of soy sauce and it's delicious. Also, I use whole wheat fusilli and saute some onions, garlic and mushrooms to mix into it before it bakes. Sprinkling some breadcrumbs on the top before you bake it works well too. Some people can't stand the taste of nutritional yeast. Me, I'm almost addicted to it. I think maybe as a vegetarian, my body craves the B vitamins in there. I can understand why some would find it disgusting though. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Obviously this won't be like a box of Kraft! Nor will it be like the homemade stuff you got as a kid from your granny. Why? There is no cheese! I don't see why Chef #1202350 was expecting that. Its still a tasty recipe all the same! I don't recommend this dish, for someone who's just getting off dairy. Or for someone who lives off of prepackaged garbage. They will notice and most likely turn their nose up at this. For everyone else, go for it! This faux mac and cheese knocked my socks off! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Wanted to find a macaroni recipe that my son could eat (he's allergic to eggs, wheat, and dairy). Made this to specs, with the exception of using rice macaroni and not adding the garlic, because my son is allergic to that, also. Substituted 1/2 TBSP onion powder instead. This was an expensive disappointment. Upon tasting it, my little boy rigored, gagged, then cried, asking me to, "wash it off." My wife and I then tried to eat it and could barely choke it down, either. We then tried to eat it again, adding garlic, lots of cheese and hot sauce. Still a revolting waste of ingredients. I give this one star (instead of none) because the texture did resemble that of mac and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      A friend made this for a pot luck once, and every last drop got scarfed down! I'm giving the recipe five stars for her version which followed the recipe exactly. This is my first time to try making it myself. For lack of ingredients I substituted the following: Whole milk for soy milk chili powder for paprika 2 small cloves garlic for garlic pwdr I also used slightly less tamari and salt after reading the reviews on here, as well as leaving out the *optional* mustard. I don't have a blender so I had to use my handheld batter mixer to try to get the tofu in. I recommend a blender, as I'm sure this helps with the creamier consistency. It was very good- but nowhere near as good as the batch my friend made. Mine tasted more yeasty. I recommend following the recipe on the spices, too. Garlic powder and paprika would have been a major improvement. I added salt and mustard to my leftovers and that made it taste *way* cheesier. I don't think the salt needed to be cut, nor do I think the mustard should be optional. If you need to cut salt, try cutting the salt before the mustard. After 15 minutes in the oven, I stirred the macaroni and it was still very liquidy. I left it in for another ten minutes and stirred again. Stirring and letting stand for at least ten minutes is part of the key to the creamy consistency. It may not need extra time in the oven. Just stir and let stand and stir again. I can't wait to try it again with a blender and the right ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 960.9
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    40%
    Total Fat 43.5 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2122.5 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.6 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    70%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 39.5 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites