29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe, but I find it hard to believe this thing has 900+ calories per cup, and 40 grams of protien per cup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
james_in_utah May 11, 2010

Holy cow-free! A slam-dunk. Fast, easy and delicious. I'm hooked and so is my boyfriend, and we're not even vegans (he's a Wheresthebeef-kinda guy). Tweaked the recipe a little by cutting back on the tamari (by half), salt (by half) and oil (by 1/3), adding cayenne (1/4 tsp might have been too much) and using all the mustard and whole wheat noodles. I also used half corn oil, which has a nice, buttery flavor and covered part of it with whole wheat bread crumbs - added good texture. Sauce seemed runny but firmed up pretty good. It could use some non-pasta substance 'tween the noodles. Next time I'll use water-packed tofu instead of the silken I tried (and maybe blend that in by hand) and I'll start with less water, adding more as necessary.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnheisel October 03, 2006

I was a little skeptical after blending up and tasting the "cheese" sauce but was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this actually turned out. I made the following changes: increased the nutritional yeast to 2 cups, 1 tsp fresh chopped garlic instead of 1 Tbsp garlic powder, omitted the additional 1 Tbsp salt (completely unnecessary), 1 tsp Colman's mustard powder instead of the 2 tsp mustard. The final thing that I think really made the dish for me was adding 1 pkg (10 oz) Follow Your Heart Cheddar cheese alternative, shredded. This will definitely suffice for when I have those mac and cheese cravings in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggiefreak July 16, 2012

I have played around with vegan food for my non-dairy child. Needing a hit of mac-n-cheese, I tried this recipe. All we have to say is ewwww! The sauce is brown and way too salty (even after reducing the salt). Too bad- we were looking forward to a new family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colonial homeschool ma July 08, 2008

Brown sauce that was way too salty and yeasty. Had to throw out the entire batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antoinette Fellowes April 11, 2015

I was hesitant to blend everything together, rather than cooking the sauce in a sauce pan. I followed the recipe regardless, and it turned out magnificent! The taste is delicious, the texture is smooth, I could barely tell it was vegan! <3 this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowsandarrows97 March 02, 2014

Wow oh wow. I hesitated to tell my family this was supposed to be a macaroni and cheese like dish because I was worried it would disappoint them but it tasted surprisingly cheesy. Accolades from all including the picky eater of the family. I used Raditori pasta instead of macaroni because it's what I had on hand, coconut oil instead of canola (I'll either use canola or a different oil next time because the coconut did leave a distinctive taste picky eater complained about and other family members noticed). A teaspoon of minced garlic instead of powder and I opted for the mustard. Oh and I don't know if this affects the taste but I did use tamari. I hand mixed the sauce with a wisk and it looked fine. Only one member of our family is vegan and she liked it just fine except she asked I use less yeast next time. Hopefully this will be a meal we can share on a regular basis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis February 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing this recipe. I was craving some vegan mac and cheese from a vegan spot soul vegetarian but they closed it here in DC. I made this recipe tonight and it was the best! It tasted like it was from a restaurant! I made it with barbecue tofu and collard greens. This recipe is the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley K. February 17, 2014

This is a fantastic dish! So easy to prepare and very yummy (even if you're not vegan). We added french fried onions as a topper that made things even more delicious, especially if you're partial to garlic/onion flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zillanis July 27, 2013

I'm really sorry to say I thought this was awful. I've been vegan for quite a while, and I'm no stranger to nutritional yeast. I love the stuff. I have had great success with some other cheesy style recipes and was really looking forward to some good old mac and cheese. This just didn't fly for me. It was TO nutritional yeasty. It tasted bitter and bland at the same time. I actually had to toss it (and I NEVER do that) The only modification I made after reading all the reviews was to leave out the extra salt. And I thought it desperately needed the salt! I would never suggest leaving it out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma September 07, 2011
The Best Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Ever