Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Tres Leches Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Tres Leches Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2011

      This is good, but I think I'd like one with a homemade cake base better and real whip cream on top better. This one tasted kind of chemically.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This recipe was perfect - a quick, easy way to make tres leches cake! Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      This cake was fantastic. I made it for my co workers and the reviews were all 5 star. Prepared as directed, using Cool Whip for the top. I also had sliced fresh strawberries for those who liked fruit on theirs. The strawberries were a great addition. Will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I really wanted to make this cake as a "trial run" for a bachelorette party cake i'm making. I actually ended up making this recipe as cupcakes because we aren't big cake eaters and I didn't want my efforts to go to waste. I figured I could at least give out cupcakes to friends and family. They turned out great! Just as moist and delicious as regular tres leches cake! I used yellow cake mix and topped each cupcake with whipped cream and fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      So easy and so yummy! I used a white cake mix instead of yellow since the tres leche cake I had in Mexico was white but I think this would be good with almost any flavor of cake. I also added a layer of strawberries between the cake and the whipped cream. I didn't follow the measurements for the milk exactly I just dumped the cans of condensed and evaporated milk in and used the smaller one as a measurement for the normal milk and it turned out just fine. Such an easy way to make a wonderful desert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      My family rates all my new recipes on a scale of 1-10. This one got a 25 (a previously unheard of score)! My daughter had Tres Leche Cake for her wedding (in Mexico) and this was at least as good as that one. Definitely top with sweetened whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I made this for a work potluck (Mexican Fiesta theme) and it went over great! The pan was empty and I had a lot of people tell me it was very good! I had never tasted or made one of these cakes before so I was a little nervous about it, but it turned out great! I used Cool Whip Lite on top and used fat free sweetened condensed milk. It was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Yum! We made this , but followed the directions on the cake mix to bake the cake...then followed the rest of your directions. I would suggest to anyone making this to prepare it at least a day in advance as the cake soaks up more of the milk as it chills overnight in the fridge. We refrigerated it overnight, then spread a layer of Cool Whip Lite on top, and served. It was delicious! My brother loves to order Tres Leche cake at a local cafe and he deemed this one BETTER than the restaurant version! So thanks a lot Leenie! We can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      this is the first time making this and i took it to a party (without tasting first) and got raves about it from everyone! I inadvertantly used the cake mix directions, which called for oil instead of the water, but it came out okay anyway. Also, since i was taking it in the car and it was warm outside, i didn't want to use whipped topping, so i substituted a very light layer of BC Whipped Whipped Cream Frosting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      great cake...easy, easy, easy and so moist and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Delicious - so moist! Not overly sweet. I like topping it with whipped cream and a drizzle of dulce de leche.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Wonderful FAST recipe!! I made it for a PWOC dinner and the ladies LOVED it!! So simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      It's not the best tres leche recipe i've tried, I thought this recipe would cut my time and ingredients down so I tried it exactly, don't get me wrong, it's a great recipe if your in a rush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      This is the cake I keep trying to order at a Mexican restaurant that we go to and it is always sold out. The texture wasn't the same as regular cake like I thougt it would be but it tasted pretty good. Some of my family topped their's with sweetened stawberries and they loved it. It was pretty easy to make . The only thing is it doesn't keep well after the first day. Thanks Leanie Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Tres Leches Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    29%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 290.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes