Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Toad in the Hole. Comfort at Its Best Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Toad in the Hole. Comfort at Its Best

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2008

      Okay Marra, I concede that this is indeed a magnificent Toad in the Hole.........it is excellent, but NOT as good as mine!! LOL! LOL! I am ONLY joking! It is slightly different to mine, but we LOVED it for lunch today served with mashed potatoes and gravy! I usually put my onions IN the gravy, but this was LOVELY with the onions being baked with the toad! A BEAUTIFUL British classic and I was pleased to tag this in PRMR - The Toad wars may be over Marra - this was a great recipe, we both really enjoyed it! No photo, as mine did not look as nice as yours in your photo - I used an old baking tray which was not very photogenic - tasted SUPERB however! Thanks Marra! FT:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      W thoroughly enjoyed this version of Toad in the Hole or as my Canadian husband calls it..."Pig In A Poke." Thank you very much for posting! Made on Behalf of the Looney Spoon Phoodies - ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Savory custard, pork sausages, gravy? How could you go wrong with this British comfort delight? You won't go wrong on this one, just make sure you have the rest of the day to take it easy and enjoy in a leisurely manner. I didn't change one thing, except add fresh herbs at the last minute. Made for ZWT #6 Zee Zesties - 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Made for breakfast today and we all really liked it. Strange-looking but tasty - the custardy-crust was really good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      We loved this truly delicious Toad in the Hole. And if it took being heathen to achieve the fabulously light and flavoursome custard bed in which the toads resided, then long live the heathens! I cut this back for two and made it with pork sausages that I know to always be excellent. I never use lard, so I pan-fried the sausages in probably a teaspoon of butter (they never need much) in a non-stick pan until they had browned then put them in the oven. The only changes I made - probably thereby further heathenising the recipe - was to add two cloves of garlic and some cumin (I love both of these) to the onions in step five. Thank you, Marramamba, for this superb recipe, which I'll certainly be making again. We SO enjoyed every mouthful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      We have never had Toad In The Hole before and we now know what we have been missing all this time! Cannot wait to make it again and share it with my grown kids. Thanks! Made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this! Mine took a bit longer to set up, but I was guessing on the oven settings. Next time I will crank it up a bit higher and use a different pan. Made for 2008 alphabet tag. Thanks Marra for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I made half the recipe and it was very tasty, indeed. I did not have confidence in my pans on top of the stove, so I used a deep oven-safe saucepan. Creamy-custardy and crusty all around. Really good - I look forward to making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Toad in the Hole. Comfort at Its Best

    Serving Size: 1 (589 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 564.3
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    48%
    Total Fat 30.1 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 281.7 mg
    93%
    Sodium 696.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    drippings

    dried herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes