Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2012

      Not quite the right color, but the taste is great if you increase the brown sugar a bit. Desperately needed this recipe when I found a recipe that called for sweet and sour sauce. This recipe saved the day. May decrease the cornstarch a bit...but it was a lifesaver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Perfect! the only thing I did different was after it was thick, I tasted it and I added a touch more white wine vinager maybe a tsp or so. LOVED it and will make again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Far more delicious than the ingredients make it seem like it will be. This is very very close to the sweet/sour sauce of a local restaurant. Love it! I made pan-fried tofu, recipe 271647, some seared pineapple chunks, and steamed broccoli. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      Oh YUM!...Suzy,this is a great and very easy to put together, sweet and sour sauce, I used it for my brisket, and it turned out fantastic...I added some fresh minced garlic to the sauce, cause my DH and myself love garlic, and I doubled the recipe...I will be making this again...thanks for a super recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Just what I was looking for! Easy and quick and delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Great! Made this to go with some egg rolls. Delicious, and no HFCS or red food coloring. Tanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      I would agree that this is the bestsweet and sour sauce. In fact those were the exact words when I recently used this recipe while entertaining. one of my guest said "this is the bestsweet and sour chicken I have ever had." I would highly recommend the bestsweet and sour sauce recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This sauce is super easy to make and very delicious! - Kids gave it a big thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I have never tried to make homemade sweet and sour sauce, so I wasn't sure what to expect - but this was great! It was SUPER quick and easy, which I love, and tastes great too! I used on top of Crab Rangoon Dip #95823.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Very good...we liked this better than any storebought brand! I too will cut back a little on the cornstarch next time. but this was easy and oh so good. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This sauce couldn't be easier or quicker to make, or any closer to take-out sauce. Thanks Suzy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This was so good! I was craving sweet and sour chicken but wasn't sure if I could make sauce that tasted right. This was perfect! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This was so good. I used about 2.5 tablespoons of corn starch. I think next time I will use about 2. I didn't stir it all the time so I had a little clumping at the bottom. I am thinking about making another batch of egg rolls just so I can have more of this sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This was a wonderful sauce! I added 1 tsp. of chili sauce and 3 cloves of minced garlic, cut the cornstarch down to 2 1/2 Tbsp. and it was perfect! I took chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces, browned them, combined all the sauce ingredients, poured it over the chicken and let it thicken. Served over rice, it was GREAT! Thank you for a Keeper that goes into my Recipe Book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I used this on my egg rolls last night and got rave reviews. They couldn't get enough. Thank you so much. But I do agree with other reviewer - a little less cornstarch. It really gelled up. But the taste was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Outstanding! I prepared according to the instructions and thought when I put it in the pan it was too runny - however - a minute later it thickened right up and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Great tasting sauce. Next time I'll use less cornstarch as my was like gelatin once it cooled. I used the sauce in a sweet and sour chicken rice recipe and it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I chose to add this recipe to Sweet and Sour Mango Chicken S-C-J. A great compliment to this recipe. Will be trying this recipe to other recipes I make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Good tasting and easy to make. As per another review, I too added some red food coloring at the end, just for appearance. I only used 3 drops though. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I needed it for my homemade egg rolls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Great taste & texture & simple. I added 7 drops of red food coloring just for looks. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 440.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    49%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 697.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 108.6 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 88.0 g
    352%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes