Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Southern Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Southern Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2002

      I was so excited to see this posted. This is how my grandmother used to make green beans. I made this for my family and boy oh boy, what a delight. I left off the red pepper flakes because my kids can't take the heat. But I am sure that would be good to try. Thanks. This really made me so happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      EXACTLY how my grandma made hers too! I love these I am glad someone posted this also because I had forgotten them and I always loved these! thank you:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

    • on January 04, 2014

      Wonderful flavor! I cooked my bacon and onion together and used frozen beans. I'll do this again with fresh beans since this was a bit too mushy for my husband to enjoy. I'd agree the texture could be improved but I loved the flavor of this. Thanks for sharing a great comfort food recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I make it over and over again! I don't really want to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Great southern beans. Simple and tasty. Thanks greyghost for a nice keeper. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      OMG these are the BEST green beans ever. I loved the bacon slow cooked with the beans. So good and your right, they do melt in your mouth. So good. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

    • on April 22, 2010

      I make my beans with a T of bacon fat... (always have jar handy!) and S&P to taste. These are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Really a nice recipe. I hate how the frozen green beans taste when I serve them, but doing it this way makes them taste great. I had more than a dash of red pepper flakes, but they were not that noticeable. Thank you for a nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Terrific! I made this using frozen green beans. It was part of my Thanksgiving meal and everyone raved about them! Thanks for sharing. I'll be using this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I will not be making these any other way from now on. They were gobbled up. I did them on the stove top and was in a hurry so used OM pre-cooked bacon. Will make the full length version next time as I am certain the flavor will be even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Tasted just like Mama made them! Thanks for posting. Made for Think Pink!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      very good and easy!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      My parents made the best green beans in the world, but they are not longer here, and I can't duplicate them. I picked beans out of my garden and followed the recipe. I can smell them cooking, and so far, they are bringing back memories. I can't wait for my Southern dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

    • on February 15, 2009

      I loved these... I am a huge fan of green beans and love southern food, perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I'm a southern girl (now living in the midwest) and I give this recipe the southern stamp of approval. We made this for Christmas and it brought back lots of great memories. This is very easy to make. The longer it stews the more flavor it has.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Very good! Big hit at Thanksgiving. Making again for Christmas. I added a package of Onion Soup Mix instead of a fresh onion for extra flavor. The easiness of this recipe makes up for any slight lack of flavor overall. Will use Chicken Stock instead of water tomorrow. May be able to increase stars to 5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Very good! I added a little bit of Apple cider vinegar to it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Southern Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    41%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 69.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites