147 Reviews

I made these December 23rd. It made large cookies and everyone who tried them loved them. They kept asking for more and they were gone in no time. I will definately make again and this time I will double or triple the batch.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead December 26, 2002

I've made these twice...THIS WEEK, and double the batch each time! I'm didn't think I was a snickerdoodles lover, but now I am- and so is everyone else who tasted these cookies! I even stored a dozen in the cookie jar yesterday- and I ate about 7 of them today- I'm bad, but the cookies were still wonderful! OH! I did put the temp at 375 as suggested by others, for 10min. (1+ year later) I also wanted to add that I have yet to 'chill' the dough- I usually just make it & put it in the oven, with stellar results! love this recipe!***ONE MORE UPDATE! I actually chilled the dough this time bc I had some left over after baking, and when I baked them, they came out so puffy! amazing! LOVE the cookies, both ways!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx January 31, 2010

I am not really sure how this recipe has an almost 5 star rating. The ingredients are normal, but the directions are all wrong!! I just made my very first batch and I can tell you after having just searched the internet for other snickerdoodle recipes, this one is WAY off! First of all the temperature of the oven should not be set at 300, it should be set at 350. Also it says to roll 2 1/2 tablespoons of the dough into a ball. That is FAR too much. I actually measured out the first ball to make the rest the same size and my cookies were huge and cake-like. The correction is to use a heaping TEASPOON and drop it into the sugar cinnamon mixture. Roll it around to cover in the topping as it forms into a ball and just place it on the cookie sheet. I won't be using this recipe again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
therayche September 05, 2009

I read reviews and cut cookie size in half. Made 32 small cookies from one batch. Baked at 350 for 8 - 10 min. Perfection! My 4 yr old LOVED them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazziebeecooks September 11, 2010

I made these this week, and will make again soon! I had an idea that i thought i would make them even yummier, and they turned out fantastic! I thought i would give them a carmel-like taste by browning the butter first-- and my husband said they were his favorite! I melted the butter on the stovetop letting it become amber in color (there will be brown bits in the bottom of the pan). I let the butter cool, and then strained it into the sugars before blending leaving most of the brown bits in the pan (a few escaping into the cookie batter is okay :) ). I used a wire whisk to blend the sugars and wet ingredients, and stirred the dry ingredients in with a wooden spoon-- no beaters needed-- yay! i didn't need to refrigerate my dough either, and they turned out awesome! I set my oven on 375 degrees and baked for 10-12 minutes (as my original Snickerdoodle recipe calls for.) Hope this is useful! Kelle Eigsti (aka. BeachGirlBakes)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelle Eigsti February 03, 2015

Not a fan, it has a good taste but the timing and temp is off and cookies didnt turn out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol C. January 16, 2016

I have not made these yet. But will do so soon! The only thing that caught my eye was the temp. 300. That really seems too low. I liked the review of the person that cooked them at 350. A regular recipe for snickerdoodles uses a temp. of 400 and cooking time is 10 minutes. They come out crisp on the edges and soft in the middle. YUM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blake7654 July 20, 2015

This was a really good cookie!! My roommates and I ate all of them in less than 24 hours, and they insisted I post a review. I made mine too big, so I had to cook them a little longer. The only promblem was they turned out flat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Gillette April 07, 2004

A cookie does not get any better than this one. Most snickerdoodle recipes use shortening instead of butter and they don't have half of the flavor. For the people that like a higher fluffier cookie, that is what the shortening offers- if you use it instead of butter. I am not a fan, but to each his own. The temperature was ideal if you follow the directions for cookie size and refrigerate the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee L. June 19, 2016

These cookies have all of the expected ingredients but the oven temperature is wrong. I baked mine at 400 degrees for 10 minutes using a rounded teaspoon of dough that I did not press down and they were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathi_farrell April 01, 2016
The Best Snickerdoodles I Have Ever Eaten