141 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these December 23rd. It made large cookies and everyone who tried them loved them. They kept asking for more and they were gone in no time. I will definately make again and this time I will double or triple the batch.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead December 26, 2002

I've made these twice...THIS WEEK, and double the batch each time! I'm didn't think I was a snickerdoodles lover, but now I am- and so is everyone else who tasted these cookies! I even stored a dozen in the cookie jar yesterday- and I ate about 7 of them today- I'm bad, but the cookies were still wonderful! OH! I did put the temp at 375 as suggested by others, for 10min. (1+ year later) I also wanted to add that I have yet to 'chill' the dough- I usually just make it & put it in the oven, with stellar results! love this recipe!***ONE MORE UPDATE! I actually chilled the dough this time bc I had some left over after baking, and when I baked them, they came out so puffy! amazing! LOVE the cookies, both ways!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx January 31, 2010

I read reviews and cut cookie size in half. Made 32 small cookies from one batch. Baked at 350 for 8 - 10 min. Perfection! My 4 yr old LOVED them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazziebeecooks September 11, 2010

I am not really sure how this recipe has an almost 5 star rating. The ingredients are normal, but the directions are all wrong!! I just made my very first batch and I can tell you after having just searched the internet for other snickerdoodle recipes, this one is WAY off! First of all the temperature of the oven should not be set at 300, it should be set at 350. Also it says to roll 2 1/2 tablespoons of the dough into a ball. That is FAR too much. I actually measured out the first ball to make the rest the same size and my cookies were huge and cake-like. The correction is to use a heaping TEASPOON and drop it into the sugar cinnamon mixture. Roll it around to cover in the topping as it forms into a ball and just place it on the cookie sheet. I won't be using this recipe again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
therayche September 05, 2009

This was a really good cookie!! My roommates and I ate all of them in less than 24 hours, and they insisted I post a review. I made mine too big, so I had to cook them a little longer. The only promblem was they turned out flat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Gillette April 07, 2004

These cookies were horrible. I even changed the temperature to 350, 300 seemed odd for cookies. They had to cook almost 15 minutes. And even that the center was still undercooked. The cookie itself was not good. I have had way better snickerdoodles than this. Will not ever use this recipe ever again. How did this get a 5 star rating??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruzndiva March 05, 2015

I made these this week, and will make again soon! I had an idea that i thought i would make them even yummier, and they turned out fantastic! I thought i would give them a carmel-like taste by browning the butter first-- and my husband said they were his favorite! I melted the butter on the stovetop letting it become amber in color (there will be brown bits in the bottom of the pan). I let the butter cool, and then strained it into the sugars before blending leaving most of the brown bits in the pan (a few escaping into the cookie batter is okay :) ). I used a wire whisk to blend the sugars and wet ingredients, and stirred the dry ingredients in with a wooden spoon-- no beaters needed-- yay! i didn't need to refrigerate my dough either, and they turned out awesome! I set my oven on 375 degrees and baked for 10-12 minutes (as my original Snickerdoodle recipe calls for.) Hope this is useful! Kelle Eigsti (aka. BeachGirlBakes)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelle Eigsti February 03, 2015

I made these for a pre-thanksgiving celebration dinner with friends, and they were raved over. These cookies are perfect & delicious. I cooked them for about 10 minutes and they were melt-in-your-mouth good. The second my roommate bit into one, all i heard was "mmmm". This is definitely in my top recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellybeans November 24, 2014

Incredible, easy, crispy, and chewy. I will make these again, and again. I make these for my church newcomers, and get many requests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tybooty April 09, 2014

I doubled this recipe and baked at 350 for 9 mins. Turned out excellent. Both husband and kids agree

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
courtneydeanne February 26, 2014
The Best Snickerdoodles I Have Ever Eaten